We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bumbles Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good location...”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

The staff was friendly and nice.. Nice room and clean bathroom. But, a bit hard to get car park if drive there. Affordable and reasonable price for double room..

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mc-Janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    61
    30
    8
    5
See reviews for
7
53
71
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
650 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We chose this hostel because the offered price for a private room was one of the cheapest in central Queenstown. However, it was more expensive than in other places, where we stayed in New Zealand. Location of the hostel was perfect, just across the road from the lake, about 10 minutes walk from the city center and bus station. A good choice for young people and budget travelers. We booked a twin room. Some inconvenience was due to the fact that the entrance to this room was through large dormitory. Shower and toilet were shared. For those wishing to stay should also be borne in mind that the hours of the reception - are not round the clock. As well as communal kitchen, that is also closed at night. We didn`t paid attention on that fact at first and have been left without breakfast which we had left in fridge in the previous night and planned to consume early in the morning before a long trip to Milford Sound. There are on offer a great selection of excursions and other types of activities, which can be booked through reception. However, we did not use their services, since had planned all our activities in advance.
In general, stay in the hostel made a good impression, however, the price, in my opinion, was somewhat overpriced.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azad690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlonega, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2012

The staff was friendly and pointed me in the right direction to a dentist a couple doors down. I loved the location!! The bed was comfortable. And for my first night in NZ, it was awesome. Parking was tight, but most backpackers don't have cars. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bastherself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Stayed here twice when visiting Queenstown for 4 nights and then 3 nights. It's a great little place, loads of character and friendly staff. The view from some of the rooms is amazing. The place has a friendly feel and it's smaller than many of the hostels in Queenstown. The kitchen is always really clean and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. It's close enough to party (less than 5 mins walk to Base where many of my friends were staying) but quiet enough to sleep when you want to! Would recommend.

Room Tip: Room 7 had great views and fewer people per bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icedgems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London/Essex
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed in Bumbles for five nights over new year. We had the double room with shared bathroom, which was pretty basic and it didn't have adequate wardrobe space. However, the kitchen facilities were clean and fully stocked and the reception staff - in particular Mila, i think that was her name - she was swedish - she was great! Really helpful, happy, informative and just generally pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollieLovesHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peresvet
Level Contributor
792 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

It was the cheapest accommodation with private room we could find in the central part of Queenstown. Location was really good - on the shore of lake Wakatipu , in the town centre, walking distance to bus terminal. This guesthouse is suitable for backpackers, provides mostly dormitory accommodation. We had a twin room with bunk bed and shared bathrooms. Room wasn`t large but it was ok for us. Entrance to our room was through a big dorm room. Toilet and shower was shared with that room as well. Although it was not a nuisance for us, still I think it might be not convenient for people staying in dorm, because when we left our room in the morning or came back at night somebody was still or already sleeping in a dorm room. Kitchen and communal dining area looked new and light and was open for guests from 7.30 AM till midnight. Linen was free, towels for hire. Guesthouse offered a lot of activities in town and vicinity, however we didn`t book any with the hostel because had already booked long before our arrival cruise to Milford Sound and the other day would like just relax.
I would recommend this guesthouse for backpackers and young people wishing to stay in conveniently located place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleksandr550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margherita di Savoia, Italy
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Clean, cheap, friendly staff, close to the center of the town, dorms and double comfortable, clean and cheap!! The kitchen is comfortable too and the common area is soooo nice, with lakefront view. This hostel is the right choise to relax and meet 'travelers'!!! Not an ordinary backpackers place!! Enjoy your stay!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zaccaroang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
3,025 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 57 in Queenstown
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 57 in Queenstown
1,328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#7 of 90 in Queenstown
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bumbles Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bumbles Backpackers

Property: Bumbles Backpackers
Address: Cnr of Lake Esplanade & Brunswick Street, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a small, relaxed & friendly place to stay in Queenstown with spectacular views, a waterfront location and free Wi-Fi, this is it! Just a 2 minute stroll to downtown, we are a small laid back place to stay where you'll some meet great people and get some sleep! "This popular hostel is colourfully decorated. Its prime lakefront location near the heart of town ensures excellent views and easy access to the best of Queenstown. It's an easy going spot, with a quieter more laid back vibe compared to other larger hostels around town." Lonely Planet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Bumbles Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing