We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bumbles Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2011

a truely beautiful place to stay. looking over the lake only a short walk to the centre. its clean, tidy and the communal areas are quite small but very nice! highly recommended place to take in the beauty of queenstown.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
Thank hparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 217 of 248 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2011

The room was clean, cozy and was walking distance to town. My room have a great view of the lake. All staff was very friendly and we enjoying staying here.

Bad things was, the bunk to do have leader and it was very noisy in the next room during the night time. The young boys staying next door down stairs was drunk. They are shouting and climbing up to the scaffolding in the midnight. They had dismiss later in 12.15 a.m. after we spoken to them that we are in bed time. After a while, another gang of Canadian was back from bar, and they was sitting out door seating for chatting. I guess the partition wall was too thin till I can hear every single words. So all 6 of us can't sleep well for this night although it was a great environment.

Beside this, bumbles was great.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ngcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

We chose this backpackers because of the lakeside location so were disappointed to discover a busy road between us and the lake. The place is old and dumpy with poor amenities. The communal eating area is a narrow room with limited kitchenware and we had to approach staff to rustle up some coffee cups. (They gave us new ones.) We did appreciate the provision of green tea bags though. The laundry is only open to guests in the afternoon and generally our stay here was disappointing.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tourist014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

Nice lounge with lake views although it was packed to the rafters in the evening and we couldn't find a place to sit. Kitchen smallish. In the double room, we had to walk thru the dorm to get to the bathroom. Kitchen did not officially open until 7:30 a.m. and we had to rustle up someone on staff, who arrived late, to let us in so we could grab breakfast quickly so as not to miss our flight. I recommend despite this not-very-glowing review.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zialucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Situated right in front of the waterfront. For $29 a night, I'm paying for a million dollar view! The exterior of Bumbles really humble. It doesn't really attract you in. They can do more to look lot nicer.

Meanwhile on the inside it's an okay small sized hostel. The room pretty average but every morning I woke looking at the stunning from my bed. Choose Room #1 if you can and get a top bunk!

The kitchen and living area were medium sized. Could be really pack during dinner time. So better be early or cook later.

Location wise, not really in the central but close enough to walk to shops and other attractions. So Bumbles far from the noise. Good for those who wants avoid "bar noise".

Staff were just so accommodating. Had problem with my bed but they resolve it in flash. They were very informative too as I've booked several activities through them.

Suggestion to the management, why not have a hot spa pool. I'm sure it'll be a hit.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Ultimately this is the best value campsite I have ever stayed in. The hostel was good, but the camping option is probably the cheapest in Queenstown - AND right in the middle of town.

Also stayed in the hostel for a night. Nothing to complain about; clean, tidy and fairly good communal facilities. My only problem is that these weren't open between midnight and 730am, which meant we left without some of our food which we had left in the fridge - thinking we'd pick it up at 7am.

The desk was also closed over the lunch break, which was a pain when we came to check out as well.

I'd definately stay there again, and the location is pretty much 10/10.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsmithnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Stayed at Bumbles for 8 nights for a bit of a ski trip.

The good: the location is fantastic being a 5 minute walk to pretty much anywhere you'd want to be in Queenstown. The room had a nice lake view. The staff were very helpful with booking activities etc.

The not as good: WiFi did not work in private room, had to go to common room to use. The room was quite run down, beds were pretty lacking in support and the heater struggled to get the room to a decent temperature. The place that you see in the photos on the website looks a fair bit nicer than when you get there, that's because the commons area has been spruced up a bit. But the room was pretty cruddy.

But price was cheap, location is good, and good folks. Not many problems with getting a shower when needed as some other reviewers have said. Would recommend but only just.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seb0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Nomads Queenstown Hostel
Nomads Queenstown Hostel
#12 of 93 in Queenstown
978 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tahuna Pod Hostel
Tahuna Pod Hostel
#3 of 93 in Queenstown
399 reviews
0.3 mi away
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
#9 of 93 in Queenstown
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Haka Lodge Queenstown
Haka Lodge Queenstown
#4 of 93 in Queenstown
488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#6 of 93 in Queenstown
394 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Black Sheep Backpackers
The Black Sheep Backpackers
#27 of 93 in Queenstown
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bumbles Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bumbles Backpackers

Address: Cnr of Lake Esplanade & Brunswick Street, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: $30 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a small, relaxed & friendly place to stay in Queenstown with spectacular views, a waterfront location and free Wi-Fi, this is it! Just a 2 minute stroll to downtown, we are a small laid back place to stay where you'll some meet great people and get some sleep! "This popular hostel is colourfully decorated. Its prime lakefront location near the heart of town ensures excellent views and easy access to the best of Queenstown. It's an easy going spot, with a quieter more laid back vibe compared to other larger hostels around town." Lonely Planet ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing