We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Esplanade Queenstown
Ranked #41 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Couldn't be happier with the location, the views, and the fabulous villa!
Woke up each morning to the sight of Central Otago's stunning autumn colours, deep blue lake and mountain vistas. The car stayed in the garage for most of the trip as it was a short, flat walk to town - 5 min max - and a lovely way to start and finish the day. The villa was as smart as the photographs on the website suggested it might be. It was immaculate in presentation and cleanliness. A little road noise - but that's to be expected, and it certainly quietened down overnight. Loved the keyless entry and secure parking. Perfect base for adventures around the region. Would highly recommend the Esplanade Queenstown to anyone looking for a home away from home.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosie06_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya A, Manager at Esplanade Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Esplanade Queenstown. It was certainly great to know that the fabulous views, proximity to town and villa presentation more than met your expectations. It is our constant aim to make our processes as simple as possible and of course to ensure all round comfort and enjoyment for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for Esplanade Queenstown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 99 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in late March. Excellent family accommodation. Kids could have a room each. 2 bathrooms, so no queues ! 5 minute flat walk into the town centre and all the Queenstown amenities. Lovely view of the lake and mountains. Kids loved the playground just across the road. Would recommend as a family base for trips around Queenstown.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank MrsJaniceCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya A, Manager at Esplanade Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for your valued feedback. Queenstown is a most stunning place, so its hard to go wrong with the convenience of the villas downtown position. Happy that we were able to help make your family trip special and hope to welcome you back to stay in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

These apartments are beyond beautiful. They look exactly as they do in he photos, if not better, which is a rare feat! The location is an easy flat walk to town along the gorgeous lake. It is far enough from the town to enjoy peace and quiet and avoid the party noise. I read a few reviews that complained of road noise but, I am not sure where in QT you could stay for the same price/value and not be on the main road? All of the major hotels are on the road or right in the thick of the party zone. The linens and beds were great, the showers perfect, the bath large, the heated tile floors were a treat. The only complaint I have is no servicing of the rooms, but as it turned out that was not a huge deal, I just like the pampering while I am on holiday. If you need housekeeping they charge $150. I also felt like the management was really rude in all of the paperwork and instructions and directives they leave in the apartment for you. In person they we more than accommodating but the tone of the written material was pretty stern. Overall: For the money you will not find a better place to stay in QT. You will also come home wishing your house was a bit more like the Esplanade.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sammo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya A, Manager at Esplanade Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Wonderful to hear that you left wishing your home was more like The Esplanade!
We are in the process of overhauling our correspondence processes ie written instructions to guests and thank you for your comments. Our dilemma is that some of our guests do not have English as their 1st language - so trying to be concise and with clarity can often be construed as terse. We do apologise for seeming this way as our aim is to give a seamlessly hassle free, comfortable and pleasing experience at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed 6 days and occupied 2 units - Apt 1 and Apt 4. It's true there were insufficient supply of shampoo, dishwashing detergent, etc. but those were minor issues to us. Overall, we found the apartments to be well-equipped from the kitchen (enough crockery and cutlery for 8 of us in Apt 1) to the living room (good AV system, gas fire to warm us up on some of the colder evenings) to the bathrooms (underfloor heating - what a welcome feature esp during cold mornings!) and the washer and dryer. Checking in was a breeze using the clear instructions given via e-mail, the key codes without the need for keys was great since our total group of 12 at times would break up and go for different activities, which meant some of us coming and others going in and out at different times. It would have been a hassle passing the keys amongst each other....

The location was great as well - easy walk to town (when we didn't feel like driving or paying for parking), the children loved the park and playground across the road. Did someone say it was noisy? Not that we noticed! The road in front was flat, so no revving engines ... We imagined the noise would've been worse for those accommodations nearer town which had a lot of steep roads - imagine the sound of the vehicles climbing the slopes all the time!

Only 1 minor setback - somehow the wifi in Apt 1 was spotty - we could only get good reception at a particular spot near the living room. My poor sister would be crouching there everyday whenever she made Viber calls overseas...

Overall, these apartments were great, good value for money and we would love to return to Queenstown and stay there for a couple of weeks!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya A, Manager at Esplanade Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us and great that your impressions mean you would love to return.
Your experience with the wi fi has been referred to our technician for attention - thank you.
We do regularly analyse our guests comments and wherever possible we fine tune our procedures and aim to give everyone an amazing stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

As a group of four (two couples) we had an amazing time in these luxurious apartments! This was our second visit to Queenstown and from our previous trip we knew exactly what we wanted on our second, and the Esplanade ticked all the boxes! After a long day snowboarding the location was great, no walking up big hills with heavy boards/boots! The bus we booked to take us boarding each day collected us from a hotel only one minutes walk down the road - so very convenient.

The location on the lake made for an easy five minute walk into town for eating, shopping and visiting the occasional night spot! We also hired a car for a couple of days and highly recommend taking a day trip to Wanaka as we did - amazing scenery and good to give the legs a break from the mountains! The apartment had a garage which made storing the car no problems and we could also store our boards outside the house but not out in the open which was handy.

The two story apartment was fully self contained and beautifully appointed. The kitchen was great, we stayed in several nights and cooked up a feast, everything we needed was there in a well organised very tasteful setup. The gas fire was cosy and although we didn't go outside much the patio was a nice touch that I imagine would be well utilised on warmer nights.

Bedrooms included the most amazing, comfy beds and bathrooms had underfloor heating, something we were not used to coming from much warmer Australia!

The four of us had an unforgettable time and would not hesitate to return to the Esplanade Queenstown!

Room Tip: All apartments are equally beautiful!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya A, Manager at Esplanade Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

As our ultimate aim is for guests to have a very positive experience, thank you for your generous and comprehensive comments.
I trust your next stay is also amazing and of course we would love to have you stay at Esplanade Queenstown again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This was perfect as we were an extended family, 2 grandparents, 2 parents and children of 2 1/2 & 1year old. Little park just over the road. Able to walk into town, or use the car which ever suited. Nicely appointed, with high quality furniture and linen. Extras (cot & high chair) provided for small children. A safe envitonment, with contained courtyard at the front. Would recommend.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely. Main bedroom faces road, but double glazed.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bees27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaysouthManager, Manager at Esplanade Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

At Esplanade Queenstown we appreciate you pointing out the pros and cons of your stay with us, and great to hear you found the apartments well presented, roomy and clean with a great kitchen for a larger groups. As the Villas are located lakefront central Queenstown and are situated on the Esplanade, with this positive you do however have the main road aspect . In regards to our payment policy that is in place, we manage apartments on behalf of owners this is to secure maximum villa occupancy over the calendar year. Kind Regards the Team at Staysouth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Fabulous place, sufficiently away from the noise but close enough to walk to the town. Cleanest apartments I've stayed in, and has all the things you need. Would stay here again. Having the garage for car a bonus, and right on the lake. Underfloor heating keeps the place toasty, but if you want more there is a great gas fire. You'll want to return - we do!

Stayed: October 2012
1  Thank Trimlatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 57 in Queenstown
1,466 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eichardt's Private Hotel
Eichardt's Private Hotel
#21 of 57 in Queenstown
271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pacific Jemm
Pacific Jemm
#57 of 93 in Queenstown
4 reviews
0.1 mi away
LakeRidge Queenstown
LakeRidge Queenstown
#13 of 93 in Queenstown
156 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lodges
The Lodges
#40 of 93 in Queenstown
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Queenstown

Address: 58 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Esplanade Residence)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Price Range: $434 - $725 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Esplanade Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across the Esplanade from Lake Wakatipu, these luxury 3-bedroom villas are perfect for any season. Downtown Queenstown, with all its restaurants and shops is only a short five-minute stroll along the lake shore. Fabulous for those with young children as there is a playground in the park directly in front of the complex and each villa has its own private courtyard – which allows children to play outside yet be off the road and safe from traffic and if travelling by car, a private garage at the back of the villa it very easy to drop groceries (and the children) at the back door before putting the car away for the night! Inside; enjoy a bottle of local Pinot Noir in front of the large gas fire in the sitting room, dine alfresco in the courtyard or relax and soak up the holiday feel in Queenstown in the large bath in the master en-suite bathroom overlooking the lake...Each villa's ground floor comprises a fully equipped kitchen, dining and sitting room with a large flat screen TV, DVD/CD player and radio. TV coverage is digital Sky with all channels available for viewing. Upstairs, the three bedrooms: - master bedroom with its own en-suite bathroom and other two bedrooms with shared second bathroom. A maximum of 6 guests can be accommodated with a bed configuration to suit 4 singles OR 3 couples OR 2 couples and 2 singles. Also available, upon request are portacots, high chairs and stair safety-gates if travelling with infants (POA). Each villa also has a laundry with washing machine and dryer, iron and ironing board.No keys are required for the villas - access is by digital key-pad, making access easy, simple and convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Esplanade Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing