We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Esplanade Queenstown
Ranked #42 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed here for 10 nights in July 2011 as a group of 6 (3 couples) & absolutely loved it. The apartment was beautifully fitted out & spacious, the view over the lake was stunning & it was only a short walk into the town. We had no problems being on the main road (it's on the least busy side of town for traffic anyway). All in all we couldn't fault it, we were all very impressed & would definitely stay there again. It felt like our very own little home away from home!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank van_kent911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    14
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
50
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South of Sydney
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed here for 8 days and there is no doubt the accomodation is fantastic An easy flat walk out of QT, it is very well placed and you can leave the car in the garage for any QT activity. There is a fair bit of traffic noise, especially in the morning as the coach turnaround for the area is just up the road, so many coaches going back and forth.
However staying for the 8 days showed up some of the weaknesses. There was only one garbage bag, diswasher powder for only 4 days, not enough toilet paper for the week, only one tea towel, and even though a great bath, no bath foam provided in the supplied toiletries.
As I said, these are only small issues, and wouldn't stop me from staying here again, but these apartments aim at a higher price point market and are not a cheap option. If you are going to aim for this market, make sure you fulfill the requirements.
As some other reviews have siad, the manager's contact number is never answered straight away. It is always leave a voice mail and at some stage the manager gets back to you.
Good points are good internet, good kitchen, nice bathrooms (and bath), awesome view, convenient to town good beds and lounge room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Moei-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Stayed here for a week in March 2012. Was a great choice and our two young children (ages 3 and 4) had a blast. The quality of the Esplanade is high, the fixtures and fittings are good and the beds are really really comfy. Yes it is on the main road but we honestly never woke with the traffic, nor were the kids. Its probably a 10 minute walk into the centre with toddlers but it is an easy one as its along side the lake, there is also a small playground a few minutes walk from the Esplanade.

A lightbulb needed replaced in the lounge, I contacted them and they were super speedy at replacing, was quite impressed as they could just have left it as it was just for a lamp.

My daughter also left some soft teddies in her bed at the property and these were posted onto Wanaka, where we were staying next. She was delighted that her friends appeared so quickly, I was really happy with the speedy postage, it was great customer service.

The only gripe I had about the Esplanade was that the knives needed sharpening (but this is a common gripe if I am honest). It irks me when places of this quality have blunt knives. If you are a serious cook you may want to think about taking your own.

The above is a really small gripe and I would not hesitate to stay there again. Great stay, fab choice and would definately recommend.

Room Tip: We were in number 14. Good view of the lake, but think they all will have very similar views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snagMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

lovely roomy apartments with high quality fittings, and a short walk to town. I am a light sleeper so was woken occasionally by traffic, but the comfy bed and pillows made up for it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueC43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

A beautiful place to stay in a beautiful town!! We had a 3 bedroom 2 bathroom house over the road from a playground which was great since we had 2 children. The portable crib & highchair were in the room when we arrived and the front courtyard was very secure and kept our 2yr old in!! A very well stocked kitchen, spacious lounge/dining area. A beautiful view of the lake and a very short stroll to all the shops, restaurants etc! Not that it was cold during our stay, but I LOVED the heated tiles in the bathrooms! The only downside was that we couldnt stay longer! We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrschim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We rented Esplanade Residence as a family of 4 couples and it worked really well with the three double bedrooms. The property itself is located a really short walk into the town centre (it's right next to Rydges Hotel) with the lounge and master suite overlooking the lake, it really couldn't be more perfect. The property is obviously very new, beautifully decorated, really clean and kitted out with everything you need - Smeg kitchen appliances, a flat screen tv with surround sound, dvd player, dvd's, washer/dryer, hairdryer. It really is as beautiful as the photographs! The beds are super comfy too! Great Value for money and highly recommended!

Room Tip: The master suite is amazing but the other two rooms are great too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

This is a fantastic apartment close to the city centure - beautifully furnished, great fireplace and the most comfortable beds. Luxury and comfort with a lovely view of the lake. Will definately stay there again. They even accommodated our luggage before we could check in and the day we needed to check out which gave us another day in Queenstown with no luggage. The service was brilliant.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 57 in Queenstown
1,401 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.6 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
3,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pacific Jemm
Pacific Jemm
#50 of 90 in Queenstown
4 reviews
0.1 mi away
LakeRidge Queenstown
LakeRidge Queenstown
#14 of 90 in Queenstown
144 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lodges
The Lodges
#45 of 90 in Queenstown
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Queenstown

Property: Esplanade Queenstown
Address: 58 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Esplanade Residence)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Esplanade Queenstown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across the Esplanade from Lake Wakatipu, these luxury 3-bedroom villas are perfect for any season. Downtown Queenstown, with all its restaurants and shops is only a short five-minute stroll along the lake shore. Fabulous for those with young children as there is a playground in the park directly in front of the complex and each villa has its own private courtyard – which allows children to play outside yet be off the road and safe from traffic and if travelling by car, a private garage at the back of the villa it very easy to drop groceries (and the children) at the back door before putting the car away for the night! Inside; enjoy a bottle of local Pinot Noir in front of the large gas fire in the sitting room, dine alfresco in the courtyard or relax and soak up the holiday feel in Queenstown in the large bath in the master en-suite bathroom overlooking the lake...Each villa's ground floor comprises a fully equipped kitchen, dining and sitting room with a large flat screen TV, DVD/CD player and radio. TV coverage is digital Sky with all channels available for viewing. Upstairs, the three bedrooms: - master bedroom with its own en-suite bathroom and other two bedrooms with shared second bathroom. A maximum of 6 guests can be accommodated with a bed configuration to suit 4 singles OR 3 couples OR 2 couples and 2 singles. Also available, upon request are portacots, high chairs and stair safety-gates if travelling with infants (POA). Each villa also has a laundry with washing machine and dryer, iron and ironing board.No keys are required for the villas - access is by digital key-pad, making access easy, simple and convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Esplanade Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing