We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheese MMM...”

Gibbston Valley Cheese
Ranked #50 of 262 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: European, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Located in Queenstown's Valley of Vines, high in the southern mountains, Gibbston Valley Cheese specialises in sheep, cow and goat milk cheeses hand-crafted in the European style.This unique visitor experience features a café, retail shop, cheese-making presentation and complimentary tastings of the Gibbston Valley Cheese range.For the more adventurous cheese lover we also offer fully stocked picnic hampers and backpacks so that you can drive or walk throughout the Gibbston Valley and beyond, following our recommend Wine and Cheese Trail maps.Our sunny vineyard enclosed picnic garden is perfect to enjoy a tasty platter of assorted cheeses, nuts, meats, breads and fruits and you can complement the flavours with a glass of wine from our neighbours, the Gibbston Valley Winery.
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

If your a fan of cheese you have to spot here!!! The lady was amazing explaining the difference between the different types of cheese, giving recommendations & generally chatting about the area. The gardens is a beautiful area to enjoy a glass of wine & cheese box/lunch. Heaven!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AoifeBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVCheese, Manager at Gibbston Valley Cheese, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Hi Aoife, Thanks for visiting us and your kind review afterwards! I am happy you enjoyed chatting with our staff and it sounds like you had fun stopping in our vineyard garden - it's my favourite spot in the valley! We hope to see you again next time you are in Queenstown. Best wishes, Jenny - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
There are newer reviews for Gibbston Valley Cheese
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

174 - 178 of 231 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

We were driving and passed on the wines. But the cheese store was a hit, after trying a few, we bought cheese and meat slices and had a nice little snack with crackers outside on the patio.
Very nice service, very clean. There was a lunch being served on the main patio. The pasta looked great. Complete with a musician. It wasn't crowded for us, and we felt quite welcome here.

Thank MarshallGulch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVCheese, Manager at Gibbston Valley Cheese, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Hi Marshall, Thanks for your great comments, we work hard to keep our presentation standards to the highest quality. It sounds like you had a great afternoon and we hope you will think of us again next time you are in Queenstown. Kind regards, Jenny - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Great place to grab a quick lunch and/or some snacks for later. Cheese was amazing. Lots of little goodies to choose from including dips and honey. Fun place to shop.

Thank workinforvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVCheese, Manager at Gibbston Valley Cheese, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Hello! Thanks so much for your kind review, we are all stoked that you had a fun trip to the Cheesery, we try hard to make it a unique visitor experience. See you again on your next visit to Queenstown! Kind wishes, Jenny - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Great cheeseboards to share and to enjoy out on the front terrace, amongst the vines. Even if it is chilly outside they have provided blankets for your legs, so you can enjoy the view.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank philby50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVCheese, Manager at Gibbston Valley Cheese, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Hi Philby50, The vineyard garden is my favourite spot - glad you found our rugs to keep you warm whilst enjoying the cheese. It really is the best seat in the house! See you again, Jenny - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We went for a private function with 45 people for lunch and it was fantastic. We had platters of breads, crackers, cheeses, salmon, pate, olives, fruit, hummis, baby tomatoes, etc, along with a selection of there wines. Was beautifully presented and plenty of food. They also have the most devine icecream, expensive but well worth the treat

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank danjonelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVCheese, Manager at Gibbston Valley Cheese, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Hello Danieljonelson! I'm so happy that you enjoyed your platter here at the Cheesery, we love turning our hand to big group bookings and I hope you will think of us again next time you are in the area. Best wishes, Jenny - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gibbston Valley Cheese also viewed

 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Gibbston Valley Cheese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing