We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Gibbston Valley Cheese
Ranked #52 of 266 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: European, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Located in Queenstown's Valley of Vines, high in the southern mountains, Gibbston Valley Cheese specialises in sheep, cow and goat milk cheeses hand-crafted in the European style.This unique visitor experience features a café, retail shop, cheese-making presentation and complimentary tastings of the Gibbston Valley Cheese range.For the more adventurous cheese lover we also offer fully stocked picnic hampers and backpacks so that you can drive or walk throughout the Gibbston Valley and beyond, following our recommend Wine and Cheese Trail maps.Our sunny vineyard enclosed picnic garden is perfect to enjoy a tasty platter of assorted cheeses, nuts, meats, breads and fruits and you can complement the flavours with a glass of wine from our neighbours, the Gibbston Valley Winery.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Great place to grab a quick lunch and/or some snacks for later. Cheese was amazing. Lots of little goodies to choose from including dips and honey. Fun place to shop.

Thank workinforvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVCheese, Manager at Gibbston Valley Cheese, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Hello! Thanks so much for your kind review, we are all stoked that you had a fun trip to the Cheesery, we try hard to make it a unique visitor experience. See you again on your next visit to Queenstown! Kind wishes, Jenny - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 195 of 247 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

Great cheeseboards to share and to enjoy out on the front terrace, amongst the vines. Even if it is chilly outside they have provided blankets for your legs, so you can enjoy the view.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank philby50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVCheese, Manager at Gibbston Valley Cheese, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Hi Philby50, The vineyard garden is my favourite spot - glad you found our rugs to keep you warm whilst enjoying the cheese. It really is the best seat in the house! See you again, Jenny - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We went for a private function with 45 people for lunch and it was fantastic. We had platters of breads, crackers, cheeses, salmon, pate, olives, fruit, hummis, baby tomatoes, etc, along with a selection of there wines. Was beautifully presented and plenty of food. They also have the most devine icecream, expensive but well worth the treat

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank danjonelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVCheese, Manager at Gibbston Valley Cheese, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Hello Danieljonelson! I'm so happy that you enjoyed your platter here at the Cheesery, we love turning our hand to big group bookings and I hope you will think of us again next time you are in the area. Best wishes, Jenny - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

On our way to Queenstown we saw this place and decided to have a pit stop here. A relatively small shop but its jam packed full of everything and anything you may need...jams, condiments, spreads, sweets and the cheeses.
They had some cheeses to try. This was enough to our mouth watering and get us a basic
cheese tasting platter. Sat outside and enjoyed the surroundings with beautiful tasting cheese.
Not to stop there, having a sweet tooth I had to try some ice cream. YUM.
Highly recommend this place. I will definitely be back here when I visit the south island again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shazhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVCheese, Manager at Gibbston Valley Cheese, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Hi Shazhi, Thanks so much for visiting the Cheesery and your kind review. We try and source the best accompaniments for our cheeses and I am glad that you were impressed with the selection. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Queenstown. Best Wishes, Jenny - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Take me out for lunch and this is where I would choose to go. Have enjoyed dining inside and outside and both times the service has been great, the food most enjoyable and a great selection of wines. The cheesery is worth visiting and the wine tour very interesting.

Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVCheese, Manager at Gibbston Valley Cheese, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Hi Amanda,

Thanks for thaking the time to review your visit. We are glad that you enjoyed your trip to Gibbston and we look forwards to welcoming you back next time you are in town.
Kind regards
Jenny GVC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gibbston Valley Cheese also viewed

 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Gibbston Valley Cheese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing