We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine cheeses to taste”

Gibbston Valley Cheese
Ranked #53 of 257 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: European, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Located in Queenstown's Valley of Vines, high in the southern mountains, Gibbston Valley Cheese specialises in sheep, cow and goat milk cheeses hand-crafted in the European style.This unique visitor experience features a café, retail shop, cheese-making presentation and complimentary tastings of the Gibbston Valley Cheese range.For the more adventurous cheese lover we also offer fully stocked picnic hampers and backpacks so that you can drive or walk throughout the Gibbston Valley and beyond, following our recommend Wine and Cheese Trail maps.Our sunny vineyard enclosed picnic garden is perfect to enjoy a tasty platter of assorted cheeses, nuts, meats, breads and fruits and you can complement the flavours with a glass of wine from our neighbours, the Gibbston Valley Winery.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
“Fine cheeses to taste”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Great stop off to taste some excellent cheeses. Really friendly staff who could not do enough to help. Don't miss the sheep's milk cheese, in our opinion this was so different with a great taste all of it's own.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank SpookyTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVCheese, Guest Relations Manager at Gibbston Valley Cheese, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thanks for your review Spooky Tree, we are so happy that you had a great time at the Cheesery & you are right about the Sheep Milk Balfour, it is awesome and that's why we are famous for it! Please stop by next time you visit Quenstown, we look forwards to welcoming you back! Best wishes, Jenny - Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    83
    11
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Great staff, great cheese, great place. We enjoyed a platter of cheeses along with a wine from the winery right next door. Beautiful.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank DustyDog002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVCheese, Guest Relations Manager at Gibbston Valley Cheese, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thanks so much for the great review DustyDog002! It sounds like you had a great afternoon sampling the delights of Gibbston Valley Cheese + Winery. Please stop by again next time you are in the area. Kind regards Jenny, Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whyalla, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Cheese and more cheese”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Everything was clean fresh, beautifully presented and oh so tasty. Will return for third trip next August

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVCheese, Guest Relations Manager at Gibbston Valley Cheese, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Hi Anne, Thanks so much for the photos you sent us, they are wonderful. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the Cheesery and we are looking forwards to welcoming you back next August. Best wishes, Jenny - Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Devine”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The knowledge of the staff & their generosity with their time and samples made this a fun and tasty experience for both adults and children in our group. The best cheese.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank EddiOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVCheese, Guest Relations Manager at Gibbston Valley Cheese, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Hey EddiOz,
Thanks so much for your great review, we are incredibly happy that your group enjoyed tasting the cheeses and spending time at the Cheesery. We look forwards to welcoming you back, next time you visit the area. Best Wishes, Jenny - Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
1,090 reviews
473 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,596 helpful votes
“Lovely cheese”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We called in to taste some cheese after visiting the winery. The cheese was very tasty and we bought some for our platter to have with our wine in front of the fire that evening, delicious.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lindakthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Gibbston Valley Cheese, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Hey Linda,
It sounds like you had a great fireside picnic, thanks for stopping in and visiting us. Have a great rest of your trip! Jenny - Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gibbston Valley Cheese also viewed

 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Gibbston Valley Cheese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing