We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Queenstown
Post
Inbox
Search

“Superb croissants and Lovely ice cream”

Patagonia Ice Creamery & Chocolaterie
Ranked #10 of 41 Quick Bites in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $13
Description: Patagonia's Ice Creamery & Chocolaterie offers artisan ice cream handcrafted chocolates, house-roasted coffee, breakfast and fresh hot churros. You can create your own ice cream sticks or enjoy a decadent treat from our chef's cabinet. Our upstairs lounge offers spectacular lake views and as you relax you can watch our chocolatiers at work with our open to view chocolate room.
Restaurant details
Description: Patagonia's Ice Creamery & Chocolaterie offers artisan ice cream handcrafted chocolates, house-roasted coffee, breakfast and fresh hot churros. You can create your own ice cream sticks or enjoy a decadent treat from our chef's cabinet. Our upstairs lounge offers spectacular lake views and as you relax you can watch our chocolatiers at work with our open to view chocolate room.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had croissants for breakfast on our first morning in Queenstown and then went back every day for more. They are so light and crunchy. The coffee is also really good. You can sit inside or out in the sun as we did. The food comes very quickly, so perfect if you are off on a tour.
We also visited for ice cream and were talked into having 2 flavours not 2 scoops of the same flavour, by a laughing sever. She was so right, they were a match made in heaven. The ice cream is so creamy. Well worth a visit and VERY affordable.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alisondD4999QT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (554)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The ice cream is great and there is a good variety of flavours. However the three times I visited whilst holidaying in Queenstown there was not an ordered line up and the staff were rushing. My son ordered a vanilla ice cream and they had not cleaned the ice cream scoop and it tasted like my husband's banana split, he could not eat it, had the line up not been so long we wpuld hav ed gone in and asked for a replacement.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 580angelar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nice ice cream, but pretty awful communication from staff.

Mumbling instructions and questions, using a wave as a come here gesture instead of using a come here gesture. Had to ask again after taking other orders what my order was, and got my friend's order wrong anyway.

Cramped inside with two or three places to order different things and no clear good place to stand to wait for your order without getting in everyone else's way.

Friend's cone leaked everywhere, especially annoying given when they asked he'd asked for a cup and got a cone anyway.

Overall, disappointing experience and wished we'd gone somewhere else.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RichardAbeyNesbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Name one place you can enjoy a delicious cup of coffee or tea, devour an exquisitely-adorned cake or tart, lick a premium ice cream cone, or stuff one's face with chocolate concoctions, all with a side of lake view. Give up? Look no further than Patagonia Ice Creamery & Chocolaterie, located right on the lakefront (Lake Wakatipu) and across from the overpriced Eichardt's Private Hotel. Quick tip: If the queues are long, head to their second location on Beach Street, which is literally a skip and a hop away.

At first glance, you would think that this was a standard cafe with impressive views of the lake, in what appears to be a lively and picturesque part of Queenstown. Then, you would be wrong. You walk inside this stone-walled building and step into a bright and airy space with busy bodies dressed in black T-shirts and chef's hats, dishing out decadent ice cream creations, pouring out perfect caffeinated beverages, and enticing people's taste buds with their truffle and fudge selection.

Ice cream flavors abound on the left side of the store on the ground level, with ice cream stick soldiers and handmade gourmet desserts in the middle of the glass display, and chocolate layers and truffles rounding out the other side in an open oval surround.

There is some seating on the ground level, but why sit there when there is far more seating upstairs, as you pass the ledges displaying their chocolate prowess and the tree wallpaper, and all of the seats accord you awe-inspiring views of Lake Wakatipu, the TSS Earnslaw, the Botanic Gardens, as well as everything else that makes Queenstown stunning. Oh, you can even gaze in wonderment at the chocolatiers working diligently in their laboratory! They are so friendly and adorable with their headphones jamming away as they stir and package the chocolate.

We visited this premier flagship location on two different occasions, one for ice cream and one for some coffee and treats. The ice cream was definitely premium, with flavors like dark Patagonian chocolate and dulce de leche, all served in a cup or cone. Get the gourmet cones donned with nuts or sprinkles and chocolate sauce for a nominal fee, and you will be in a state of bliss. Two scoops would set you back about NZD$8, so it won't break the bank! If you can't choose from the excellent selection of flavors, just ask for samples.

They serve the full range of espresso beverages and loose leaf teas, as well as milkshakes and juices, so if you are parched after a busy day of sightseeing, come in and relax with a cold one (or hot one).

On our second visit, we ordered the iced coffee (it comes with a luscious scoop of vanilla bean iced cream - YUM!), the iced chocolate with loads of whipped cream, as well as the churros with chocolate and dulce de leche sauces. Having been to Spain, the churros were a bit on the hard side, but the dips made up for that texture.

On both visits, we felt we were treating ourselves to a slice of heaven, since the service was very good, selection almost limitless, and views top-notch. No visit to Queenstown would be as sweet if you decided to skip this first-rate cafe and chocolate factory!! Go to Fergburger and then come here for a sweet ending...

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank littlepiggydc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited at least once a day - mainly in the summer heat for one or two scoops of their delicious ice cream. In the cool of the evening for a drink of hot chocolate. Every visit you can pick up a hour long Wi-fi code to use while you eating/drinking inside or out

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank dkgillett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patagonia Ice Creamery & Chocolaterie also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Patagonia Ice Creamery & Chocolaterie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing