We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous start to the weekend”

The Helicopter Line Queenstown
Book In Advance
More Info
$231.75*
and up
Grand Circle Helicopter Flight from Queenstown
More Info
$179.42*
and up
Remarkables Mountain Range Helicopter Flight from Queenstown
More Info
$437.34*
and up
Southern Glacier Experience Helicopter Flight from Queenstown
Ranked #52 of 160 Tours in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Set against a backdrop of The Remarkables Mountain Range and nestled on the shores of Lake Wakatipu, Queenstown is a picture perfect alpine paradise, recognised internationally. The many exciting activities available in this natural playground have earned Queenstown the reputation as the “Adventure Capital of the World.” In conjunction with Queenstown Combos, The Helicopter Line offers several activity Combos packages.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We flew in at lunch time and decided to book a helicopter flight when we passed the counter at the airport. One of the those really good impulse decisions. The pilot was great, the office team likewise were very friendly and personable, and the trip itself was spectacular. We didn't have time to do the cruise at Milford sound but the snow stop and glacier flyover was enough with getting that close to to the mountain tops and lakes. A wonderful way to begin our visit in Queenstown.

Thank RacquiC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Thanks for the feedback Racqui.
Flying into Queenstown on an airplane boasts pretty good views in itself then exploring the area in a helicopter is in even better, what a way to start your holiday !
We appreciate the positive comments about our whole team here in Queenstown and we are happy you made that impulse decision !

From The team at The Helicopter Line, Queenstown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
There are newer reviews for The Helicopter Line Queenstown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 160 of 186 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

Blessed with fabulous weather we took the three hour helicopter cruise trip to Milford Sound. The copter ride is simply amazing. Our pilot, Bernie, cruised over mountains, down into valleys and right along sheer rock faces on the way to the Sound. The first view of the Sound and the Tasman sea is breathtaking. The two hour cruise was wonderful. Google pictures of it and you will get my point. The copter ride back was a blast. At one point we slowly climbed up along the face of a snow capped mountain, so close you could almost touch it. And we did when he landed in the snow. We got out and felt we were standing on top of the world. We then flew towards Queenstown and again landed on a hillside with great views of the lake and the town. This is an expensive trip, about $700NZ pp, but if you are going to spring for one big deall in NZ, this may be it. The alternative is a 12 hour bus trip. And great weather really helps.

Thank TimeTraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

We have had such great hot weather in Queenstown lately and you are right it makes all the difference. Milford can have very different weather to Queenstown in the sense that it can be sunny and really clear in Queenstown and cloudy in Milford even though the distance isn’t great. So when we do have beautiful weather in both places we go for it !
You did such a great job of describing our Milford flight, we couldn’t have said it better ourselves, Bernie certainly knows how to show of the beauty that is New Zealand.
Thanks and all the best.

The crew at The Helicopter Line.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is a great way to see Queenstown, and get an idea of the bigger picture! The staff were really helpful. We had booked a flight with the helicopter line in Franz Joseph, though were unable to fly due to bad weather. It was no problem for them to pick up the flight when we were in Queenstown, and we're glad we did. Our pilot seemed very experienced and pointed out all the local features as we flew. Great view from the top of the remarkables, where we landed for a few photos!

Thank TrentsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

We are just so glad you eventually got to fly with us, even if it wasn’t your first choice of location within New Zealand. Fortunately we tend to have less rain than our fellow team members based in Franz Josef so our Queenstown base is always a great back up plan for those people traveling south from the West Coast if they miss out there. Thanks for pointing out your positive
experiences with The Helicopter Line, we appreciate your time !
The Team at The Helicopter Line

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is a Must Do in queenstown, worth every penny!!
My partner and i took a flight to the Jure Glacier our was pilot was Callum who was very informative and a true professional. The scenery was Mind blowing on the way to and from the Glacier and the snow landing on the of the glacier was amazing!! While in Queenstown we did all the other activitys jetboat,bungy,luge ect.. this blows them all out of the water!! Thank you to Helicopter Line and Callum for an awesome experience!

Thank Anton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Anton, we can not thank you enough for letting us know how you felt about our 50 minute Southern Glacier Flight, I know for a fact that your pilot Callum still feels the same way each time he does that flight too, mind blowing is a perfect way to explain it !
We are so pleased you and your partner got to experience some of Queenstown' most magical scenery on your flight and we hope to see you back again one day in Aotearoa.
From the team at The Helicopter Line

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

What an experience. Have just got home after a helicopter ride leaving Queenstown, landing on the snow, landing at Milford and then on the way back we landed on the snow again. Dave our pilot was fantastic and provided us with lots of information around the area. Our 2 year old loved it and will be talking about the helicopter for the next week. Wonderful trip, thanks again Dave!

Thank BrookeJones1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Do you think you might have a future pilot on your hands now Brooke ? We certainly hope so,
It’s not a bad job to have, Dave your pilot will agree with that too, I’m sure !
We think it shows in all the feedback that we get that all our pilots and ground crew are happy in their work here at The Helicopter Line, as it should be.
Thanks so much for your feedback, I will pass it on to Dave & tell him to keep up the great work !

The team at The Helicopter Line.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Helicopter Line Queenstown also viewed

 

Been to The Helicopter Line Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing