We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Speechless!!”

The Helicopter Line Queenstown
Book In Advance
More Info
$232.79*
and up
Grand Circle Helicopter Flight from Queenstown
More Info
$180.22*
and up
Remarkables Mountain Range Helicopter Flight from Queenstown
More Info
$439.29*
and up
Southern Glacier Experience Helicopter Flight from Queenstown
Ranked #52 of 160 Tours in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Set against a backdrop of The Remarkables Mountain Range and nestled on the shores of Lake Wakatipu, Queenstown is a picture perfect alpine paradise, recognised internationally. The many exciting activities available in this natural playground have earned Queenstown the reputation as the “Adventure Capital of the World.” In conjunction with Queenstown Combos, The Helicopter Line offers several activity Combos packages.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is a Must Do in queenstown, worth every penny!!
My partner and i took a flight to the Jure Glacier our was pilot was Callum who was very informative and a true professional. The scenery was Mind blowing on the way to and from the Glacier and the snow landing on the of the glacier was amazing!! While in Queenstown we did all the other activitys jetboat,bungy,luge ect.. this blows them all out of the water!! Thank you to Helicopter Line and Callum for an awesome experience!

Thank Anton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Anton, we can not thank you enough for letting us know how you felt about our 50 minute Southern Glacier Flight, I know for a fact that your pilot Callum still feels the same way each time he does that flight too, mind blowing is a perfect way to explain it !
We are so pleased you and your partner got to experience some of Queenstown' most magical scenery on your flight and we hope to see you back again one day in Aotearoa.
From the team at The Helicopter Line

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
There are newer reviews for The Helicopter Line Queenstown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

158 - 162 of 185 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

What an experience. Have just got home after a helicopter ride leaving Queenstown, landing on the snow, landing at Milford and then on the way back we landed on the snow again. Dave our pilot was fantastic and provided us with lots of information around the area. Our 2 year old loved it and will be talking about the helicopter for the next week. Wonderful trip, thanks again Dave!

Thank BrookeJones1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Do you think you might have a future pilot on your hands now Brooke ? We certainly hope so,
It’s not a bad job to have, Dave your pilot will agree with that too, I’m sure !
We think it shows in all the feedback that we get that all our pilots and ground crew are happy in their work here at The Helicopter Line, as it should be.
Thanks so much for your feedback, I will pass it on to Dave & tell him to keep up the great work !

The team at The Helicopter Line.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We'd previously been on a helicopter over the Franz Josef glacier but this time we thought we'd try one of the Queenstown flights - we opted for the 50min ride. Dave our pilot was very friendly and informative. It was our son's first ride in a helicopter and he got to sit in front with his grandmother and had a fantastic time.

Sitting in the front is definitely worth it, the views are amazing and the swoops over the mountains and glacier is fantastic. We had about 10 min on the snow and it was a really great experience. We preferred this over the Franz Josef experience mainly because you got to see lakes, mountains and glaciers.

We got picked up and dropped off from our Queenstown hotel too. We had inadvertently left our son's jacket on the helicopter and didnt realise till we got back to the hotel. We called the Helicopter line up and they arranged for the jacket to be returned to us later in the afternoon. That is what i call customer service!!!

Thank ABagOfJourneys L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Liza and Trevor thanks so much for your feedback, we love success stories like yours, means we are all doing our jobs right !
Isn’t it amazing how small New Zealand is but how diverse the scenery is place to place !
Perhaps next time we could meet all your expectations from our Mt Cook base, flying around Aoraki is something else again, just stunning.
Thanks again for taking the time to let us know how your flying experiences with us have been, we greatly appreciate it.
The team at The Helicopter Line.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Me and my friend partook in this experience today with high expectations, only to have them blown out the water! Through the friendly ground staff to the highly skilled informative pilot. The scenery we were able to see was just simply out of this world. We were absolutely blown away ! Awesome trip thanks again guys! :D

Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Well reviews don’t get much better than this, Thank you Nick !
Its our pleasure to take you on a trip of a lifetime around our beautiful country that we are lucky enough to call home,we are happy you got to appreciate it as much as we do.
Come back any time !
The team at The Helicopter Line.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Been on lots of travels and usually charter a private copter to get the lay of the land. This trip was unbelievable!!! The scenery was simply amazing on the way down to the Sound and we landed 5 times in the most incredible spots! We were gobsmacked! Our pilot Dave Matthews was brilliant. It simply was one of the most memorable trips ever! Thanks Dave!

Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Matthew, we are really fond of Dave ourselves here at The Helicopter Line family in Queenstown, so we really appreciate hearing good things about him & what a great job he does !
Milford sound is such a stunning place, we agree, & getting there is half the fun, all that incredible
scenery !
Feel free to come again and charter a helicopter with The Helicopter Line anytime, we would
love to see you in New Zealand again !
The Team at The Helicopter Line

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Helicopter Line Queenstown also viewed

 

Been to The Helicopter Line Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing