We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Rees Hotel, Luxury Apartments & Lakeside Residences
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$165
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Dairy Private Hotel(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$316
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$108
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$162
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Heartland Hotel Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$83
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$137
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$110
$107
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Azur(Queenstown)
$1,078
$805
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$118
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Villa del Lago(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$229
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,252)
Filter reviews
2,252 results
Traveler rating
1,543
484
142
51
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,543
484
142
51
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrue southexecutive lake viewevery hourhourly shuttleshuttle servicenew zealandin townspa bathour honeymoonbedroom apartmentamazing viewsheated floorslake wakatipuunderfloor heatingthe hotel offersgas fireplacelarge balcony
Filter
Updating list...
1,973 - 1,978 of 2,252 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2011

We booked a 1 bedroom lake view apartment. We got a 2 bedroom lake view apartment. To say that the view is spectacular is to understate it. The apartment is designed to take full advantage of the view and we spent hours just staring at the ever changing vista. We loved this place. The staff are terrific - helpful and welcoming. The apartment was stylish and comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped and the supermarket near the Queenstown airport at Frankton was just the place to pick up everything you need having picked up a hire car at the airport. Having said that - do not miss the restaurant True South - it was excellent and the staff were attentive and knowledgeable about the food and wine on offer. We were concerned about the distance from Queenstown but this did not prove to be a problem. We had a car but we also walked into town one night for dinner with friends - about half an hour. Taxis are good, reasonably priced and plentiful. If you like to walk or run the track on the Lake is a spectacular place to do this.
We are very keen to return to the Rees again!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandJAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Just returned from a five day stay in a 2 bedroom lakeview apartment. The apartment had stunning views from the lounge room (complete with gas fireplace). The kitchen was a good size and complete with most utensils needed for a cook up. The main bedroom off the lounge had a good sized ensuite although the bedroom itself is a little small for a king size bed (the bedding and linen are to die for - so comfy and warm). The second bedroom is on the small size and has no view but the 2nd bathroom has a good sized shower complete with heated flooring. The staff were friendly and helpful. There was plenty of parking including for our larger sized vehicle. The gym, while small, had modern equipment including a rower, bike, cross trainer and walker plus weights. What I really like about the Rees is the restaurant which is definitely worth a visit to taste some fine dining including lots of local produce. Don't expect big meals. THe only thing I can fault is that the Bordeaux wine lounge does not stock any Burgundy (French Pinot Noir). Central Otago is renowned for its Pinot and I would have liked, after four very purposeful days of exploring pinot noir and gris across the area, I would have liked to do a comparative tasting with the home of the grape. That said, they have a very good range of local wines, including some exceptional wines by the glass.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babyaisiebarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

My girlfriend and I shared an Exec Hotel Room and were greeted each morning by the spectacular view. Even on a cold wet day, it was beautiful.

Concierge staff were very friendly and helpful, especially when we missed the tour bus.

Our first night we decided to try the 8 course degustation at The Rees hotel which I would highly recommend to anyone.

Our room was very clean featuring a massive bathroom with spa bath and shower. Beds were comfortable. And the automatic blinds were great because you really couldn't tell what time it was outside.

You have to pay for internet usage but I found the charge reasonable.

All in all, I am hoping to go again sometime soon.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GIMICO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We finished our 23 day golfing holiday of New Zealand with four wonderful days in Queenstown at the Rees Hotel. The property is perched on a cliff with stunning views of the lake and surrounding mountains, espcially the Remarkables. Our suite was well apporinted and modern in every way. In addition to two bedrooms and two baths we had a spacious living room, dining area and full kitchen. The deck was also ample with a table and chairs for relaxing and enjoying the view.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hineconsult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Decided to treat ourselves whilst in Queenstown and stay somewhere a bit more elegant than usual. The Rees is in a stunning peacefull location, however due to the flightpath there are quite a few planes that fly over.
We walked into town along the shore once (4km walk) after that we used taxis and the local bus which conveniently stopped every 15minutes right out front, and the hotal had a deal with them that it cost $5 per person return into town - great bargain!
Highly recommend staying here simply to enjoy Queenstown hussle and then be able to retreat a little bit away from it all in absolute comfort.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jusses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews