We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Awesome place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2010

This is beautiful accomodation just outside Queenstown town centre. The apartments are of a 5 star quality and the views from the balcony of the lake are truely fantastic!
All the apartments have a fully equiped kitchen and the sofas are particularly comfortable! Would highly recommend anyone to stay here!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gonch77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,322
    412
    119
    41
    23
See reviews for
467
1,022
43
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
104 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2010

We stayed at the Rees for 5 nights and enjoyed every bit of it. We had a lake facing room, and the view from the balcony was awesome. The rooms wer nice and spacious, and the beds were very comfortable.

The location was ideal - it is not in the center of the town and so is away from the madness and the bustle, but still is by the lakeside and within 5 minutes of the city center. Makes perfect sense to live there if you have your own vehicle.

We spend Christmas eve at the hotel, and had the celebratory dinner at the in-house restaurant. The chef took special care to ask for our preferences, and also catered to it. I am a vegetarian, and was surprised to find that he had cooked 2 dishes especially for me. The staff and service was great.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nirvaana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2010

We have stayed in Queenstown many times, in many different hotels. The Rees is by far the best. The resort is fresh, vibrant and sophisticated offering everything you would expect from a top five star hotel.

We have stayed at The Rees in both winter and summer, finding it ideally located near to the airport, ski fields and not too far from town either! It might look a little far away from the centre, but don't let this stop you (your closer to the activities and ski fields!)

The view from our room was stunning both times, with great little touches that really finish off the five star experience. My partner loved the idea of being able to look at to the lake whilst laying in the bath, but my favourite but was sitting out on the balcony with a glass of wine.

The staff were really friendly and attentive without being too overbearing. The head concierge - Steve was great and gave us some great tips and advice.

Overall: Don't consider staying anywhere else!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesHacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2010

This beautiful 2 bedrooms serviced apartment is so perfect for relaxing with your partner or friends. Me and hubby along with our friends (couple) booked 2 bedrooms apt and stayed here for 3 nites. We booked a Lake View Apt and the place was so beautiful. The place is 5 minutes to city area and the staff were very friendly. This 2 bedrooms apt has a fireplace and wifi connection (you have to pay extra) It has only have 1 bathroom, but we don't mind. Only The main bedroom has lake view. Will definitely recommend this apt for people when they visit beautiful Queenstown.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaTuCiNTa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2010

Stayed with my husband and baby. We had the best experierence, a fantastic apartment with ourstanding view of Lake Wakatipu. Great staff including Roman who was so friendly and attentive. Excellent restaurant with world class cuisine. We also booked a baby sitter through the hotel who was delightful. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 74joannej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2010

We regularly holiday in Queenstown and this was our first stay at the The Rees and it is definitely the best place we have stayed at to date. What we loved is that you receive true 'hotel' service which is extremely rare in apartment style accommodation. (The hotel also offers hotel rooms.)
Every time we left our room we would see a staff member who would always provide a friendly greeting. The Concierge (Steve) was great, very knowledgable about everything Queenstown and the hotel has to offer. You are escorted to your room on arrival and shown how to operate the fire etc. Nothing was too much trouble.
What was also a pleasant surprise is that the apartment kitchen was well equipped and everything was there that you needed, nothing missing and sparkling clean.
Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelly3004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
104 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

If you are looking for something downtown this is not it but if you want luxury and a fabulous view of Lake Wakatipu do not let this gem slip by. I was so happy here. The lobby is just beautiful and warm and inviting. I actually sat there on a couch reading a book for a while. The room was very modern and classy. Our balcony was fabulous and HUGE. I could've thrown a party out there! And the view...wow...stunning vistas of the lake and the mountains. We upgraded to a room that included internet access and a Jacuzzi bathtub (you could open a giant wall area by the tub and overlook the room and the view off your balcony). Our rate also included breakfast. The breakfasts here were amazing and also offered great views over the Lake. Morgan at the front desk was so sweet and helpful. It had rained quite a bit since we arrived and we missed all our excursions due to rain and flooding but I really feel like there was a lot to see and do here so you won’t be disappointed in Queenstown.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HollyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.4 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#13 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments

Property: The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Address: 377 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#7 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#9 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rees Hotel and Luxury Apartments Queenstown is the new gateway to the True South. We welcome you to enjoy the ultimate Queenstown accommodation experience and savor the rich heritage, vibrant culture and diverse attractions of New Zealand’s glorious Queenstown and Southern Lakes District. The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments Queenstown offers luxury accommodation on the edge of Lake Wakatipu, looking out to The Remarkable Mountains. The Rees Hotel is conveniently located to Queenstown Airport and a short drive away from the centre of Queenstown, and central to the wide range of high quality, year-round attractions and activities offered by Queenstown and the broader Southern Lakes District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rees Hotel And Luxury Apartments
Rees Hotel Queenstown
The Rees Hotel Luxury Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing