We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,289)
Filter reviews
2,289 results
Traveler rating
1,576
487
144
51
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,576
487
144
51
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrue southexecutive lake viewevery hourhourly shuttlenew zealandshuttle servicein townspa bathtwo bedroom apartmentheated floorsamazing viewslake wakatipuour honeymoonunderfloor heatinglarge balconygas fireplacecar park
Filter
Updating list...
225 - 230 of 2,289 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here on the last leg of our honeymoon in one of the lake view rooms. We were blown away by the view as we walked into the room but when we got closer to the balcony we saw the scaffolding for the construction sight which became part of our view!

Would have been nice to know about this prior to booking or at least a conversation when we booked in to let us know. Construction started at 8am too...

Otherwise a nice property and a great place to stay. Plenty of on site parking.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Justin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2017 via mobile

Book executive suite and totally pleased by it. Great view, rooms are very clean, beds are very comfortable.

Love the toilet the most! Spacious toilet, and best part the toilet comes with warmer. I was there during winter so this feature is really helpful.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank pppchou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for four nights in September in a lake view hotel room. Our stay was overall really good and quite comfortable, and the view was great. The standout part was the very friendly staff and the most helpful concierge. They were genuine and really helpful. The hotel is a fair distance from the city centre, which is one of the downsides, but the hotel provides free hourly shuttle bus service that takes you to the city and will pick you up every 15 min past the hour from a designated spot. The drivers are very nice and friendly.
About the hotel room itself, the bed was very average, not the most comfortable, but we were so tired from daily activities that we didn't notice it much. The real down point for me was the heating system. Although the heater was really efficient in warming up the room really quickly, which was nice in a cold snowy day, it didn't have a temperature adjustment feature, so I found myself constantly trying to adjust the temperature, specially waking up in the middle of the night because it got too hot or too cold.
The other downside of the hotel was the quality of food for room service, which was actually really bad, and breakfast was even worse. For breakfast if you chose the continental option ($29 or so), the choices were very minimal and of those the quality was very poor, there wasn't even a toaster that you could use yourself, so had to tell someone to bring bread every time. If you chose the hot option ($34 I think), you had to choose one breakfast from the menu with access to continental options and that was it. The hot breakfast was very average at best. We ordered proper coffee with our breakfast, which was really yuk. With the hotel being a 10-15 drive from the city, breakfast became an issue for us, so we decided to hire a car sooner than planned.
The hotel has amazing views, free and easy car part, free wifi, nice fire place in the lobby. Overall we enjoyed our stay at Rees.

Room Tip: 15 min drive from the city
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Arezo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2017 via mobile

We had planned our Wedding in Queenstown on Friday the 8th of September 2017 and the weather had decided to take a turn for the worse. We had previously taken a walk along the lake from the Queenstown city centre and noticed The Rees and decided that this may be an option. As soon as we walked through the front doors it felt like we were home. The Duty Manager on at the time, Fenna, was so helpful and showed us one of the rooms as an option. We mentioned we were getting married that day and she even said she may be able to organise the ceremony to be held in one of the Lakeview Apartments. We booked and then decided to upgrade.. Fenna kindly organised a further upgrade with a complimentary box of Patagonia Chocolates as a nice surprise when we arrived back from dinner :-)

To say that this whole experience made our Wedding Day is an understatement, I want to thank all the staff at The Rees for exceeding our expectations, this truly made it outstanding and we will hopefully one day get to come back and spend one of our Anniversaries here :-)

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here - such a treat!

The online booking process went without a hitch, the room was lovely as expected. The view from our room made for a relaxing escape - all that we hoped for. The staff were friendly and helpful, and attention to detail impressive!

We'd love to stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank christinet239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews