We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious stay, beautiful lake views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Ranked #10 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2014

After a long 8 hour drive down the NZ coast from Greymouth, arriving at the Rees hotel was an amazing feeling. My husband's reaction upon first glance was priceless. The staff was friendly and the service was perfect. We were taken to our room which had a stunning balcony view of the lake. The room was spacious and clean with a comfortable bed. I wish I had that bathroom in my current apartment. The location is a nice 15 minute walk into the center of town. We reserved dinner for one night at their restaurant, True South Dining Room, and it was top notch. The concierge was helpful in booking excursions during our stay. We would love to come back to this hotel in the future. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Valpoost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,147 - 1,153 of 2,178 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed at The Rees for 4 nights in an Executive Lake View hotel room. The check-in was efficient and staff made us feel very welcome.

Room
The room was spacious, clean and comfortable with a spectacular view of the lake and mountain. The floor tiles, bathroom mirror and towel rack were heated. Even though it was -2dg outside i did not feel the cold at all in the room. The design has been well thought through for the guests. The only minor fault is that you could hear the doors slamming from the guests next door.

Food
We had an afternoon meal at the Bar and the food was above standard for hotel bar food. Dinner at the True South restaurant was either a la carte or tasting menu. The restaurant was cosy with a fireplace and the food was good. Room service was a range of selection of food from the Bar menu and True South restaurant. Breakfast was okay with a small continental and pastry selection. The hot breakfast items was quite a wait. Overall, the food is good.

Service
The service is truly remarkable and the hotel staff (shuttle driver, bell boy, concierge, reception, event manager, housekeeping, wait staff) were extremely welcoming and helpful. I felt at home and we really enjoyed my stay. Thank you very much and we will be back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RealSugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We absolutely loved this hotel. It was incredibly clean, great service, and amazing views of the lake. It was so relaxing to just sit on the patio in the evenings and drink some wine. We also loved the fact that it was not in the center of town where you will find all the tourist trappings, but rather, on the outskirts of town. If you don't want to be in the town center, which we did not, then this is the perfect place!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melissa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

The Rees was an unintentional choice as it happened, Initially, we were booked into accommodation nearer the town centre but could only stay the first five days there as they were solidly booked. What a fortunate "second choice" we made to spend the remainder of our holiday at the Rees. The views from our two bedroom apartment were spectacular, the facilities outstanding and the service was without peer. Highly recommend the Rees and will be staying there again if we ever get back to Queenstown.

Room Tip: Ask for a "lake view" apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milford4431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed in a 2 bedroom unit for ten nights in early July for school holidays. Unit 604. Had great views. Floors 6 & 7 are the only ones as below don't have views from the block that I was in. Room service was great food. Overall great place to stay with a family. The only down side is it is a bit far from the town centre. Would recommend the Rees and Queenstown for a great family break.

Room Tip: Floors 6 & 7 in Main Block
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NeedaBreak51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

3 bedroom apartment on the 7th floor is fab. The parents bedroom upstairs a luxury home away from home with amazing views. Apartment and daily service clean and efficient. The service people are like ghosts. Our child's teddy was scooped up in the linen but after reporting it missing they retrieved it from the linen company and left it in the apartment waiting for us upon our return from adventuring. Heating, internet, cleaning, furnishings top notch. We missed not having a DVD player and resented a $20 charge to rent a movie on the TV. Restaurant is very gourmet and delicious but expensive for a family of 5, $260. A bottle of Pinot for the room $68 but $30 cheaper from the bottleshop just down the road. We feel very relaxed and will be back to stay at the Rees again. We feel that the road noise would be much noisier if you stayed above the road. The Rees is set below the road and well sound proofed. We had a rental car and that was fab with a good undercover carpark a necessity when stocking the apartment from the supermarket. Kitchen very user friendly and relaxing dining table.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 5Farfaraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Great location, awesome view, nice apartments. The best beds and pillows money can buy. Staff are amazing. Lovely lake views from almost all apartments.
The best views are fro all floors except level 1 2 and 5. They offer good views but the others are great up to level 7.
Level 4 and 7 are top floors so have no noise from above. The building is built well anyway so other floors are fine for anyone but the noise sensitive.
Level 3 and 4 have the car parking so are the most convenient. We always choose level 4 as its un beatable.
The restaurant is amazing , fine dining . Amazing breakfast...
We have stayed a lot in Queenstown and if you want to be slightly out of town the Rees is best followed by Oaks Club.

In town the Rydges , Novotel and Sheraton are hard to go past. Town can be a bit hectoc and the views are better along frankton road at the Rees.

Room Tip: Level 4 is best as its top floor, on the same level as car park, un interrupted views and quiet. Oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Matt1972SnowLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.9 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,536 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
3,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments

Address: 377 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#3 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#9 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#9 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $208 - $1,405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rees Hotel and Luxury Apartments Queenstown is the new gateway to the True South. We welcome you to enjoy the ultimate Queenstown accommodation experience and savor the rich heritage, vibrant culture and diverse attractions of New Zealand’s glorious Queenstown and Southern Lakes District. The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments Queenstown offers luxury accommodation on the edge of Lake Wakatipu, looking out to The Remarkable Mountains. The Rees Hotel is conveniently located to Queenstown Airport and a short drive away from the centre of Queenstown, and central to the wide range of high quality, year-round attractions and activities offered by Queenstown and the broader Southern Lakes District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rees Hotel And Luxury Apartments
Rees Hotel Queenstown
The Rees Hotel Luxury Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing