We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

My family and I spent 5 nights in a 2 bedroom lake view apartment. We were checked in promptly and the staff were friendly. We were informed on the complimentary shuttle times in and out of the town, however we weren't told that we had to book! When we arrived back at reception to take a shuttle, we were told it was full! This was soon sorted and we were able to go and see Queenstown.The apartment was equipped with everything you could think of - it really felt like a home away from home. However certain aspects of the actual property were a let down. The lack of a spa and pool was disappointing. The biggest let down was housekeeping. Bins would not be emptied and basic things like toilet paper needed to be requested. At one point, I asked for a vacuum so I could clean myself - this finally prompted them to vacuum but the rest of the days - the kitchens or bathrooms were not swept. Overall not a bad stay but attention to detail is required.

Room Tip: Definitely go with a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nata8ha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,367
    435
    122
    41
    24
See reviews for
484
1,067
44
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (660)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
266 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This is a wonderful hotel. The building itself is quite new, maybe 5 years old and is built to a good standard. The rooms are well appointed and have an exceptional view our across the lake. The staff were pleasant. Unfortunately we didn’t eat at the restaurant simply because we wanted to be in the town itself in the evenings for a bit of atmosphere. There is a free shuttle bus in and out of town(1.8km) but it is a nice walk either on the road or by the lake. I would certainly return if I travel to Queenstown again

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Six nights at the Rees Hotel in Queenstown @ $450 per night, with additional charges for unlocking a bathroom, and late checkout! Far from the Kiwi hospitality we know and love, those considering a stay at a high-end hotel like the Rees should read 'the fine print', and read on...

We stayed at the Ree's during April; an executive one bedrooom apartment with lake view.
Our choice of the hotel was primarily driven by its location and many positive reviews. But in my experience, the Rees is the meanest, cheapest, yet expensive, hotel I have ever stayed in. By the time I left, it felt like I had stayed in place with no heart, one that only knew how to ask for more money!

On the positive side, the room and lake views were very nice. Upon arrival, the bell staff told us our room was in fact a two bedroom unit with two bathrooms but that the second bedroom and bathroom were locked since we booked a ''one bedroom unit''. In my experience, however, when staying in a suite or self-contained unit like this (with price of NZD450 dollars per night) there is at least a second powder room or even full bathroom. So after check in we politely asked at reception for the second bathroom to be unlocked. Well, that threw the staff for a loop!

After considerable agitation, some kind of 'manager' emerged from the back office and informed us that the bathroom could only be unlocked for an additional NZD25 per day. He then proceeded to read "the fine print'', telling us in no uncertain terms that our online reservation was for "one bedroom and one bathroom only''. Officious attitude aside, we were astounded at the additional charge to open a toilet in our room! "Isn't NZD450 a night enough?" we thought.

I elevated the case to the hotel's GM for comment and assistance, assuming he/she would be more accommodating of a long-stay, high value guest. This is when the front-desk dance really began! Only after a firm insistence was I given his email address.

So before writing to the GM, a Mr Mark Rose, I checked carefully the Rees website since they were into reading me the fine print. I noticed that in fact our room was advertised with ''bathrooms'' (plural). In my mail to Mr Rose I therefore appealed to him to open the second bathroom. He reluctantly agreed, adding that he would be immediately instructing his web designer to correct the website. Pity that poor guy who got a call on Easter holidays to fix the 'error'.

Next issue is the internet at this hotel. It is very slow and of course the first line of defence from the hotel is ''Queenstown is well below world standard''. This is true to some degree but a download of 0.25-35 Mbs is prehistoric. In addition, they have some limited download/password system in place that meant despite having unlimited wifi during my stay I had to ask three for four times for new passwords.

After complaints, once more having to escalate to Mark Rose, on the day before I checked out, the speed was improved incrementally but still well below what I was able to obtain on wifi in local coffee shops.


For a country of 4 million people to 60 million sheep, the ultimate in customer fleecing came when I went organise check out. I needed one hour more due to an overseas phone call. Well, surprise, surprise. Despite having paid NZD2700 for six nights I was denied one extra hour. Again, after much unnecessary agitation between staff at the front desk and those in the back office, I was informed an extra hour could be granted...for an additional NZD35. I was stunned, and let her know it!

Finally, after further argument, the charge was waived but I was reminded to be out of room, ''no later than 1 o'clock exactly''!

So, all in all, while this place has nice hardware - at a high price - it really stinks when it comes to the software and lack of so-called 'soft people skills' that should be part and parcel of extending a warm, friendly welcome and hospitable stay.

The Rees staff are inexperienced and pre-programmed to collect extra money from guests for anything and everything. One gets the feeling that guests are regarded as ATM machines with staff holding the PIN code. The 'meanness' of this business hugely detracts from the beauty of the hotel itself, the surrounding landscape and all other pleasures and adventures Queenstown has to offer. Sadly, we're in no rush to return.

Room Tip: Best advice is to not stay here !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank HKJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I was on tour of NZ and by far this was the greatest place we stayed. Beautiful room with extraordinary views of the lake and mountains. Nice patio to sit on and just look at the beauty. Staff very helpful and friendly. Room was clean and wonderful bed. The only thing some might not like is the walk to the lake front rooms, but it is worth every step! It is out of town a bit but has a shuttle every half hour.

Room Tip: Take the extra walk for a lake/mountain view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

I stayed recently for 2 nights. After doing some research on Queenstown I picked the Rees due to its views and price. I wasn't aware however that the hotel is not in the town centre of Queenstown and is a 5 minute drive away, this wasn't a big deal as we had our own car (although parking in town is a little hard) but if I had realised this when I booked I may have opted for something that was a closer into the centre! For those who don't have a car there is also a free shuttle into town, (we didn't use it).

On check in we were given instructions on where to park and a map to our room, this was very confusing and after wondering around in the carpark trying to find the 'Frances' building (there is limited signage) we were ran into a lovely member of staff Will who took us to our room.

The lake view room was large and had a really comfortable king size bed. The room was modern and clean with a generous size ensuite, a couch and tv as well as a big balcony overlooking the lake. The room decor is very plain and I think could do with some paintings or something to give it a bit more personality. The view was indeed lovely, we kept the blinds open at night so we could see the the changing lights of the lake and hills in the early morning.

The first night I was looking forward to enjoying a spa bath, however after getting into the bath I couldn't work out how to turn it on (and as I was in the bath I didn't want to get out of the bath to call reception). It turns out the spa bath is turned on and off by a light switch near the bathroom door - the light switch has 4 switches with only 1 turning on lights, I found this very confusing and a some instructions or a sign would have gone along way!

On a rainy afternoon we went up to see the concierge, and were again greeted by Will. He was very helpful and enthusiastic and recommended a quad bike tour which - we were given outter gear and by the end of it we were completely covered head to toe in mud, it was a lot of fun and a great wet weather activity!

All in all this hotel is nice, modern and clean and would rate it 'Good'. Saying that I think I would try somewhere else closer into town and with a little more personality next time I visit Queenstown.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2014

beautiful apartments with wonderful views.well equipped clean good size with all amenities.underground car park.
all at reception very friendly and helpful.
provides frequent shuttle service to centre.
will recommend and have no hesitation to book again.

Room Tip: pick lake side views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n.rao m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Lovely apartment with a stunning view. Unlike other reviewers we found the staff front of house and in the restaurant really helpful and friendly. The room had everything needed although the ironing board was broken and the hair dryer - a small travel version - was hopeless too. Only other gripe was bathroom toiletries were not replaced like another reviewer mentioned even though our room was serviced, overall though we enjoyed our stay, appreciated the shuttle bus and would recommend it.

Room Tip: We had 405 which was on a corner upstairs and had. Great view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.5 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#2 of 58 in Queenstown
540 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments

Property: The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Address: 377 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#9 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rees Hotel and Luxury Apartments Queenstown is the new gateway to the True South. We welcome you to enjoy the ultimate Queenstown accommodation experience and savor the rich heritage, vibrant culture and diverse attractions of New Zealand’s glorious Queenstown and Southern Lakes District. The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments Queenstown offers luxury accommodation on the edge of Lake Wakatipu, looking out to The Remarkable Mountains. The Rees Hotel is conveniently located to Queenstown Airport and a short drive away from the centre of Queenstown, and central to the wide range of high quality, year-round attractions and activities offered by Queenstown and the broader Southern Lakes District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rees Hotel And Luxury Apartments
Rees Hotel Queenstown
The Rees Hotel Luxury Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing