We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING! One of the best in NZ!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Ranked #9 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING! One of the best in NZ!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

This is such a great hotel. The service is top notch, the rooms are stunning (as are the views) and the food is delicious. Great value for money. A home away from home.

Highly recommended for all types of travellers. Business (including conferences), romantic getaways and families.

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing - but the lake view rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,347
    425
    120
    41
    24
See reviews for
473
1,049
44
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Usually one expects great service only in Countries where tipping is almost a requirement, if not the expectation. But here, in Queenstown, you have a hotel that delivers a superior service and tipping is definitely not part of the culture - if you are visiting Queenstown and like views, walking tracks and tranquility, then this is your hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussiekiwi_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

This is one of the coolest hotels I've ever stayed in. You are immediately struck by the beauty of the area when entering the lobby as straight through is a floor to ceiling window overlooking the gorgeous Frankton Arm of Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables beyond. The hotel is sleek and modern. All rooms have a view of the lake and mountains. We stayed in a three bedroom, three bathroom flat. One bedroom, while still connected to the main flat, was on the second floor and had its own kitchenette and view of the lake. In the main flat, the master and living room open to a deck overlooking the lake. All the amenities expected in a flat are included including laundry. It rarely gets overly warm on the south island, so few places have air conditioning, including The Rees. If it does, they will bring you fans. The hotel has a van and boat shuttle into Queenstown which is no more than 5 minutes away. The concierge is excellent and can set up any of the dozens of outdoor activities in the area. My only two knocks would be the poor internet quality which I have been assured is being addressed along with the small, average and overpriced restaurant. However, with so many quality restaurants just a few minutes away, there is no need to eat at the hotel. I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TR2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Wow! We wanted to splurge a little on our last 2 nights in Queenstown, before heading home. We had booked online previously, but our check-in was delayed as the Hotel was busy and had a number of wedding guests staying. Our wait was rewarded with a wonderful upgrade to a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom apartment with a large balcony overlooking the lake. The apartment was spacious, clean and comfortable with nice furnishings and a fireplace. A washing machine and dryer were available and simple to use. Parking and wifi were free.
We had breakfast in the dining room, (which is a wee bit small for the size of the hotel - therefore dinner reservations would be recommended.)
The concierge was helpful and booked Shotover Jet, as well as Gondola and dinner for us. (Both activities highly recommended.)
Thank you Rees for a memorable stay - we loved it!

Room Tip: All rooms have views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DreaminAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We were checked by the friendly staff who were happy to help me with my request to travel early in the morning on the complimentary shuttle in order to arrive in time for skydiving.

The hotel room we stayed in was brilliant. The view from the hotel room over the lake was stunning and the hotel room was of fantastic quality complete with heated floors in the bathroom!

The guy who did the shuttle runs whilst we were there was great in recommending things to do in Queenstown. He was an avid bungee jumper and having said I would try the 50m bungee jump he pursuaded me to do the 134m one instead which he had done 4 times already!

New hotel with great facilities, stunning views and great staff. If I ever go back to Queenstown I would definitely stay at the Rees again, we thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mbarnett2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed at the Rees in a 3 bedroom apartment on the 7th floor during Feb 2014. The apartments are laid out very nicely and have all the amenities required for a self catering holiday. The view from the balcony across the lake with the Remarkables in the background is enough to take your breath away. The regular bus service to and from the city centre is a huge plus as parking can be an issue in the evening.

Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms have pretty much the same view but the higher the floor the better your outlook. 7 is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArvindCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
218 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

This was our choice for the second part of our stay in Queenstown. What a great place! The location if right on lake Wakatipu, so you wake up every morning with the great view of the surroundings. The room was beautifully appointed and had all the necessary facilities. The restaurant (True South Dining - reviewed seprately) is outstanding. Service is courteous. Altogether, a wonderful choice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aviad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.5 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#1 of 57 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#13 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments

Property: The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Address: 377 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#9 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rees Hotel and Luxury Apartments Queenstown is the new gateway to the True South. We welcome you to enjoy the ultimate Queenstown accommodation experience and savor the rich heritage, vibrant culture and diverse attractions of New Zealand’s glorious Queenstown and Southern Lakes District. The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments Queenstown offers luxury accommodation on the edge of Lake Wakatipu, looking out to The Remarkable Mountains. The Rees Hotel is conveniently located to Queenstown Airport and a short drive away from the centre of Queenstown, and central to the wide range of high quality, year-round attractions and activities offered by Queenstown and the broader Southern Lakes District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rees Hotel And Luxury Apartments
Rees Hotel Queenstown
The Rees Hotel Luxury Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing