We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favourite Hotel of our entire tour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Favourite Hotel of our entire tour”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Our two night stay in Rees hotel was finest of all the accommodations which we had in our entire New Zealand tour. It is not just the beautiful views from the room, or the highly equipped room, or the free shuttles but also the sincere staffs with their pleasant smiles made our stay wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,361
    430
    121
    41
    24
See reviews for
477
1,063
44
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (655)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

This is a top-notch place and you know it as soon as you step through the doors. One of the best things about Rees is the service. From the front office desk who answered all our queries efficiently and politely, to the staff we met along the way, we were made to feel special and valued. We were able to park in their car park and decided to take the free shuttle service into Queenstown as we realised parking in town would be a nightmare. I need to make special mention of the two shuttle bus drivers we met there, Ben, who drove the evening shuttle, and Benny, the morning shuttle. These two young gentleman had the unenviable task of ferrying passengers to and from Queenstown every hour. But they went above and beyond their mundane job and took pains to make conversation to find out about us, made us feel welcome, answered all our questions and gave us lots of nuggets of information about Queenstown. Benny even took us to a lookout point where we got to take fantastic photos of Queenstown and Lake Wakatipu while telling us about the history of Queenstown and Rees hotel. When we wanted to take the 6:15 pm shuttle back to Rees and the shuttle was packed, Ben sent the first busload back first, and came speeding back to get the rest of us. We were bowled over.

The room itself is beautiful with a fantastic view of the Lake and the Remarkables, although the twin beds are really narrow (the smallest beds we encountered in our 2 weeks in South Island). Nevertheless, the enormous bathroom, large sofa in the living area, large balcony (great for star gazing) and free wifi (the only place that had this) made our two nights there totally heavenly. And the heated floor of the bathroom really really helped.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whisker11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
211 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The Rees is a beautiful hotel (and apartments) located about a 5-7 minute drive outside of Queenstown. It is on the shore of the Frankton Arm of Lake Wakatipu, on the road from Queenstown to the airport. You cannot see Queenstown from the hotel, but you do get great views of the Remarkables mountain range. We walked into QT from the hotel one nice morning - it took around 40 mins to get to the town center.
We had a modern, third floor, lake view room with a balcony. The room was quiet, roomy and nicely decorated. It had a comfortable sofa/sitting area. The bathroom was very modern and spacious. There was convenient parking close to the rooms, for no additional fee. There was no kitchenette, but there was a minibar.
The staff were very professional and accommodating. This a very nice hotel. We stayed there 3 nights and enjoyed our stay. The hotel runs a shuttle to and from QT, which is an important amenity, since parking in QT is limited and expensive. It is a short drive and runs approximately every hour. However, there is no shuttle back from town from early morning to mid-afternoon. We found this out when we went into town for a morning excursion and wanted to come back to the hotel to get our car to go to Arrowtown. After waiting for the shuttle, we called the hotel to find that there would be no shuttle and they would not come and pick us up. So we forked out $15 for a taxi. Just keep this in mind if you want to go back to the room during the day. (I believe the last shuttle returns at 10:15, which is early for QT dining and nightlife,) There is a good restaurant located at the hotel, but we preferred to eat in QT to better enjoy the town.
If you want a quiet place, with a nice view, do not want to go back to the room during the day and go to bed early, this would be a very good choice. It is not inexpensive, but reasonably good value (try hotels.com, otel.com or TripAdvisor to get better rates).

Room Tip: Definitely get a lakefront view. Parking is on floors 3 & 4, if you want to be close to your ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Noo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in a 2 bedroom lake front apartment on the 1st level, and were very satisfied with our stay. From check-in to check-out, staff were attentive and responsive, we requested a 1pm late checkout and the reception was very obliging and there was no charge imposed. Facilities are new and modern, with fully equipped kitchen and laundry/dryer. The gas fireplace kept us warm and cozy at night and added a lovely atmosphere to our apartment. Our favorite spot for breakfast was the patio which had a marvelous view of Lake Wakatipu. Enjoyed stargazing from the patio on our last pre-dawn morning there, was indeed a memorable experience. Would highly recommend this apartment.

Room Tip: Choose the lake view option
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gohlili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We used several social media sites to book our trip to NZ and stayed at the top rated places at each stop. For the money (not inexpensive) The Rees was the best value overall for all its qualities. We rented a one bedroom apartment with amazing views overlooking the lake and mountains, a huge balcony (had a dining table outside for 6 people)and great appliances. So great was the kitchen that we decided to cook in 3 of the 4 nights and hang by the fireplace and listen to bad 80's music.While out of town by a 40 min walk , we liked that aspect as it gave us a reason to walk around the beautiful lake and take in the sights. There is a regularly scheduled van but I'm not good at waiting for things. Large, modern and clean bathroom with a great shower. Really cant say anything wrong about this place, only that it was a treat and a perfect present for my husband's 50th bday.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CatChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

cant fail with these apartments, fantastic view of the lake & Mountains, luxury all the way, Town is a 40 min walk away along the coast or they run a shuttle bus there & back which takes 5 mins, this is a very nice place to stay when visiting Queenstown

Room Tip: room 210/1
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wolfie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We were lucky to stay 4 nights at The Rees during our 4 week tour of New Zealand. It was the best hotel of our entire trip.
The only niggles we had were the attempts to sell us the Dart River Wilderness safari (is the concierge on a commission?) and the failure to book an evening meal at a restaurant in town when a message was left on the concierge's answerphone.
We had a two bedroom apartment on the third floor with fantastic views over the lake. The apartment was modern and clean and well appointed. We particularly welcomed the dishwasher, washing machine and tumble drier with washing powder provided free of charge.
The heated floors in the kitchen and bathroom were an added bonus. There was plenty of room in the bathroom for toiletries and the shower was good but we did not have a bath.
Car parking was provided at no extra cost in the car park block between the two residential buildings. The driveway into the car park is very steep so may be a problem in bad weather.
The reception staff were friendly and the concierge gave us a thorough run through of how to operate things in the apartment on our arrival, including the free internet.
We did not eat in the restaurant but had breakfast delivered to our apartment one morning. It was delivered on time although there was no milk for our cereal. This was soon rectified.
The hotel is about a five minute drive out of town. We were able to park for free along the lakeside several times during our stay and only had to pay to park on one occasion.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwyndolen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.5 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#3 of 58 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments

Property: The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Address: 377 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#9 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rees Hotel and Luxury Apartments Queenstown is the new gateway to the True South. We welcome you to enjoy the ultimate Queenstown accommodation experience and savor the rich heritage, vibrant culture and diverse attractions of New Zealand’s glorious Queenstown and Southern Lakes District. The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments Queenstown offers luxury accommodation on the edge of Lake Wakatipu, looking out to The Remarkable Mountains. The Rees Hotel is conveniently located to Queenstown Airport and a short drive away from the centre of Queenstown, and central to the wide range of high quality, year-round attractions and activities offered by Queenstown and the broader Southern Lakes District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rees Hotel And Luxury Apartments
Rees Hotel Queenstown
The Rees Hotel Luxury Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing