We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Rees Hotel, Luxury Apartments & Lakeside Residences
Nearby Hotels
$155
$147
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $175/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Heartland Hotel Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$122
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$212
$184
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$120
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$176
$152
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $171/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Dairy Private Hotel(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$304
$201
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$180
$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$247
$168
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $227/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Novotel Queenstown Lakeside(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$187
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Azur(Queenstown)
$850
$827
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,259)
Filter reviews
2,259 results
Traveler rating
1,551
484
142
51
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,551
484
142
51
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrue southexecutive lake viewevery hourhourly shuttlenew zealandshuttle servicein townspa bathbedroom apartmentour honeymoonamazing viewsheated floorslake wakatipuunderfloor heatinggas firethe hotel offerslarge balcony
Filter
Updating list...
1,425 - 1,430 of 2,259 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The apartments as always were in stunning condition, the service we received at the front desk was second to none. A special thanks to Roman for his smile, warm friendly attitude - a real treasure for the team.
We were again recommended to visit Sasso and Eirchardt's for dinner and or lunch and we were not disappointed.
Thanks for the hassle free visit, we will visit again soon

Room Tip: Executive Level 2 and 3 beds - 2 bed has full kitchen. The rooms to the end closest to the airport are larger and quieter, sunny and open offering a very relaxed atmosphere. Great for the family or friends trip - skiing just 20 minutes away at Coronet Peak or 40 minutes to The Remarkables
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Davem152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed at the Rees for three nights from October 12th through the 14th in a one bedroom Apartment on the 3rd level. We still talk about the views of The Remarkable Mountains. Nice features included the gas fireplace and the heated kitchen and bathroom floors. Fireplace was great on a windy rainy night. The one bedroom is a lot of space for a couple. Kitchen is very large and fully equipped. All the staff were fantastic. We used the Concierge to schedule activities and get hair dresser recommendations. The staff helped us with pictures,. The location was perfect and the shuttle service to downtown Queenstown was very useful. Nice to park the car for three days. Food in the "New South" restaurant was great,
You do have to walk outside to get from the lobby/restaurant to the 3rd level overlooking the lake. Drive to the parking area was narrow and steep.

Room Tip: The views from the 3rd level (Room 3111) were fantastic. possible that Level would even be better. I think the extra cost for the one bedroom was well worth it. Two rooms with views and our own washer/drier.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank USATravelers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We regularly stay in Queenstown and The Rees is the best experience we have had! Our recent three night stay ticked every box with what is important to us.... free WIFI, easy access and easy to find, free parking, warm friendly reception and porterage to room, huge suite with lake view (very comfortable), bath and shower, every hotel amenity but boutique hotel feel, great wine bar and restaurant. What more do you need? Oh, how about regular shuttles to town so you don't have to stress about parking or drinking? Yes they do that too and offered with a smile and charming driver. Room service staff lovely and unobtrusive. And prices very reasonable for what is provided - value is subjective but I would rate The Rees as very good value for the quality and service.
And the quiet.... no roaring drunks outside our room or screaming down the street. In fact the only other people we saw were smiling guests and staff who actually looked us in the eye and greeted us. We felt so welcome and comfortable there is no doubt The Rees will be our preferred accommodation in Queenstown forever! Keep up the good work The Rees, you should be proud of what you do. We will be personally recommending you to everyone... thanks! We'll be back....

Room Tip: We had a lakeview room but didn't use the balcony so don't worry if you can only get a room without a view - not essential. Queenstown is so spectacular everywhere it may be OK to turn down the sensory overload in your room!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stephanie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were welcomed by friendly and attentive staff in a cleverly planned and interesting decor.
The apartments are beautifully appointed with great attention to quality and detail. The view of the lake in uncluttered and impressive.
The wine list is legendary and the menus show a passion for food. Each dish has been meticulously thought out with clever use of interesting ingredients.
A little away from the centre of town to walk but a complimentary shuttle each way on the hour compensates. Indoor parking available.
A must.

Room Tip: Looks like every room has a view. Different apartment sizes to meet individual requirement.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Rees Queenstown and thought the accommodation and attention to detail were both excellent. The view across Lake Wakatipu from our balcony was breathtaking and something we will never forget.
All the staff that we encountered at The Rees were helpful and efficient. We had no problems at all with the services provided and made good use of the regular downtown shuttle service.
We enjoyed our dinner in the Hotel dining room – a delicious fine dining experience – as well as a great breakfast each morning.
Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable,

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CathrineC33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews