We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service even for " Fuss pots"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Ranked #10 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed here as part of a group. I am always slightly hesitant when some one else makes my bookings as I am a self confessed fuss pot. But this was first class boutique type service in a mid sized property..
Great rooms, fab views and great food. Staff were helpful and generally helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms can be a longish out door walk from lifts, in winter it is chilly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZeraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,074)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,260 - 1,266 of 2,074 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

We treated ourselves to a lake view room at the Rees Hotel for 3 nights during our trip around New Zealand.

Whilst the room was smaller than I'd imagined it was clean, beautifully furnished, with a comfy bed and living area with sofa (which was particularly nice to have when the weather was a bit bad!) The view was outstanding. This will be made all the more stunning when they landscape the lake facing land in front of the hotel (which it seems they were working on when we were there).

I went for an early morning run along the lake and it was incredibly picturesque. The path down/up to the lake is steep though!

The underfloor heating was a real treat, very nice. They also had a selection of magazines in the room which was a very pleasant, unique addition. The staff were also very friendly.

When you go to Queenstown you have to choose whether you want incredible views of the lake or a central location. With The Rees, you are opting for the views. The Rees, therefore, provide a free shuttle to and from town at specific times. These were satisfactory and when it was full for the return ride the driver came back especially to pick us up which was very much appreciated.

The walk to town, which we opted to do a few times, took 40 minutes.

Our only disappointments were that there wasn't free water in the rooms....I'd expect that of a 5* hotel, and also when my husband used the milk it wasn't replaced the next day...although it was replenished once we asked for more. Small faults of an otherwise great hotel.

I will remember our stay at The Rees fondly, thank you for a memorable stay.

Room Tip: We opted for a lake view room which, I believe, is a 'must have' in this hotel - simply stun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The2explorers28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed at The Rees for two nights as a bit of a splurge on our honeymoon trip around New Zealand and we were mostly pleased with our choice but would consider alternatives if we were staying in the area again. The good points - we loved our room, liked the design - great to have a sofa to get comfy on, and although not large the layout was well thought out and spacious enough. Excellent quality materials - the mattress was heavenly. Fabulous lake view from the balcony. Spotlessly clean and warm. We liked the lobby area too and appreciated the shuttle service into town. The negative - it was a bit of a warren to negotiate and we weren't keen on the maze of concrete walkways or having to cut through the carpark to get to the room. The balcony could've been improved with better furniture and the back of the hotel could use some landscaping to enhance that view. It was quite some distance from town and the shuttle bus could run a bit more frequently though I appreciate that it depends on the demand for it. It was a trek to get to the laundry facilities (one washer and one dryer shared between all rooms that weren't apartments) which was a bit offputting. On our final morning, we made a last minute decision to go for breakfast in the restaurant only to find they had stopped serving - we had assumed it finished at the same time as room service breakfast did, but this was not the case. This wasn't strictly their fault but could've been made a lot clearer in the literature in the room. Overall, I think we just found the hotel a bit too large and sterile for our tastes, and we left feeling a bit 'meh' about it all. Still excellent value for the money however, hence the 4 star rating.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheOriginalLiverbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This hotel gets everything right:
- spotlessly clean and modern rooms with stunning views (underfloor heating is great!)
- friendly, efficient and helpful multi-national staff
- free shuttle into town and back, and they even do an extra unscheduled run if the shuttle is full to make sure everyone gets to town and back (although the walk along the lake is well worth doing at least once)
- awesome dinner in the fine-dining restaurant (although a little expensive)
- breakfast buffet lacks a bit in range and variety but you can order a made-to-order hot option as well, and it does go on until 11am so you don't feel rushed in the mornings like at some hotels
- free undercover parking
- free wi-fi which worked well
- reasonable room rate for the quality of the hotel

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying the extra for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed in Queenstown for 5 nights for the first leg of our honeymoon trip and decided on the Rees based on a friend's recommendation. As it was our honeymoon, we wanted were not afraid to splurge as much as possible (and for those new to New Zealand - most places do not really have the more well-known names that you may gravitate so we needed to rely on extensive research and online reviews etc.), and the Rees mostly did not disappoint.

Her are the good points:
- absolutely stunning location - whether it was sunny, foggy, cloudy, rainy, sunset, sunrise or whatever, our lake-view apartment had just an amazing view of the lake and mountains that was just breathtaking.
- extremely comfortable and spacious living area - we had a 1 BR (deluxe?) apt, that actually had 2 BR's and 2 bathrooms, not sure how that worked but it was more than enough space. in-room washer dryer, dish washer, gas fire place, heated floors and towel racks, fully stocked kitchenware, etc. made this a just-like-home experience.
- convenient locale - not in town but a five minute drive and 20-minute walk on the frankton path (we walked it rain or shine and it was very refreshing)
- service generally was excellent. All of the people we met at the reception and concierge - Tobias, Patrick, Mel... they were all so helpful and just willing to stop and help at any time. they even helped us to set up activities before we arrived which made planning easy
- free parking

(a few) Criticisms (the only reason was not a 5-star review)
- the daily cleaning service was a bit inconsistent. there were times when we would come back from a day out and we weren't sure whether or not the room was serviced. For example, we would find crumbs on the table and things astrew yet the bed made....
- service can sometimes be a bit slow - I don't think this is something peculiar to the Rees vs any other business in NZ actually - it's a small town after-all and the pace of life is just a lot slower than probably what we are used to....but for example, we once ordered drinks in the lobby - 2 drinks with not another soul in sight, and it took about 25 minutes? Also, after hours, the concierge also runs the free shuttle to town (which is a plus) but oddly enough many a time we were looking for the concierge he was out running the shuttle...
- TV was a bit small

Anyway, minor criticisms but overall a very high class place and would recommend it strongly to anyone looking for a relaxing and comfortable stay in Queenstown.

Another small tip - ipod dock in room I don't think works with iphone 5's and may not with ios7.

Room Tip: Pick an apartment over a hotel room for sure. and make sure to get lakeview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel was a splurge hotel for us and it was worth every penny. Every other hotel pales in comparison! It is quite close to Queenstown center so its a longish walk or a quick ride in. It is right on the lake and has a beautiful wall of glass doors leading to a great balcony with table and chairs right on the lake with the mountain views. Just magnificent. There were 2 couples and one bedroom had the doors to the lake and the other was near the outter walkway. There is full laundry in the apartment and a gorgeous bathroom. The bath and kitchen have tile floors and the greatest thing is....They are heated! We loved that! The kitchen was luxurious and modern and just all anyone would want. Parking is included and there is a concierge. This was a special wonderful place to stay and we loved it and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We just returned home from a stay at The Rees for 6 nights...it was fabulous. This was our first trip to New Zealand and we absolutely fell in love with Queenstown.

We booked a 2 bedroom apt with a lake view and when we checked in found out we were upgraded to an apt with a spa tub...fabulous!!! The views from the room we're breathtaking! The apartment was very roomy and comfy for our family of 4 with two teenagers. Loved the heated tiles and heated towel racks in both bathrooms. The kitchen and living area were well kept and lots of room. The fireplace in the living area kept the apt nice and cozy! The beds were very nice and comfy! The staff we're all very friendly and helpful, housekeeping was good and we enjoyed a wine dinner at the restaurant one evening that was wonderful! We really liked getting the daily weather card every morning at our door, it really helped plan out the day. We really enjoyed The Rees and hope that we can make a return visit one day. We had a wonderful holiday!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,420 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 58 in Queenstown
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments

Address: 377 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#9 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#9 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $207 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rees Hotel and Luxury Apartments Queenstown is the new gateway to the True South. We welcome you to enjoy the ultimate Queenstown accommodation experience and savor the rich heritage, vibrant culture and diverse attractions of New Zealand’s glorious Queenstown and Southern Lakes District. The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments Queenstown offers luxury accommodation on the edge of Lake Wakatipu, looking out to The Remarkable Mountains. The Rees Hotel is conveniently located to Queenstown Airport and a short drive away from the centre of Queenstown, and central to the wide range of high quality, year-round attractions and activities offered by Queenstown and the broader Southern Lakes District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rees Hotel And Luxury Apartments
Rees Hotel Queenstown
The Rees Hotel Luxury Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing