We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Fantastic views, rooms and nice to be out of town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Ranked #7 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Fairlight, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic views, rooms and nice to be out of town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

As you pull up at t.he amazing entry and reception area the view will blow you away. You just want to look left, right, up, down, every direction is spectacular. One bedroom apartment was plush and well fitted out. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,186
    361
    104
    33
    17
See reviews for
405
905
41
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a beautiful room, with a great view. It's a little way out of town but you can either take the hotel shuttle bus, or if you have time it's a wonderful 30 minute walk along Lake Wakatipu. We hired a car to see the area, but also used the shuttle bus as it was nice to be able to have a drink in town in the evening. All the staff we encountered were helpful. I needed a hairdresser while I was in Queenstown as we had been travelling for a while, so the concierge recommended and booked one for me, and I was very happy with their choice. It is a pricy hotel, but as a treat it was well worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Rooms are really luxury. All completely modern, big, with all the facilities you need. Bed was so confortable. Bathroom was beautiful. We had a one bedroom flat with a big kitchen and terrasse;: perfect to take the breakfast in front of the lake.
The concierge was so helpful to book the restaurant we wanted while it was supposed to be full.
Location is not the best point of this hotel. A bit outside the center city (you need a car to go). The view is nice for not sure but not the best one you could have along the lake.
I would say a bit overpriced in term of price value but it is probably just the general trend of Queenstown as everything there is a bit more expensive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We could not have been happier with our experience at The Rees. I've reviewed tons of pricey hotels on TA, and The Rees is definitely on par with places twice as expensive. Our romantic lakeview room had a separate seating area in addition to the bedroom, huge bath, and large balcony, with all the accessories you'd expect at a "luxury" hotel like heated floor and towel rack in the bathroom, tons of toiletries, JBL iPod speaker, large LCD TV, free fast wifi, etc. The decor of the entire hotel is perfect "lodge chic," classic heavy woods, large windows, cozy furnishings on the basic side. The view, of course, was priceless.

We found the front desk staff to be very friendly. Upon arrival we were cordially greeted, assisted in unloading, and shown around; we received prompt service and full attention of the international staff every time we had reason to go to reception. The concierges were extremely helpful, patient, and knowledgable, on par with any we have found. However, as others have noted, the housekeeping services were minimal--they only made beds and brought towels, so if you are the type who expects a little (or even a lot) of straightening, you will be underwhelmed. If you annoyed when your stuff is messed with, you'll be pleased!

Although The Rees has a great restaurant and offers a periodic free shuttle downtown, if you don't have a car and would rather soak up the boutiques and flavor of downtown Queenstown, The Rees might not be the best choice. But if you'd like to wake up to sunrise over mountains and lake, are used to a little luxury, and appreciate a little advice in planning daily outings and adventures, The Rees is a perfect home base!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Exec room was truly a great room - spacious , well laid out and lots of windows which is what you want when the view is so spectacular. The bathroom itself is also generously but the lovely bath with windows on three. Sides overlooks the driveway and the automated curtains only came down on the main window so bath were in the dark - fun once ???
The cleaning , as per someone else's post was lacking , we also arrived back after a long day trip and the room had not been touched ??? We let them know and left for an hour to give them time / space but really this is NOT 5* service.
Food - breakfast was really really good , presentation was a. Little lacking but taste was very high and the fruit toast - yum. Room service was also a total hit and this is normally an area I find fails heavily but well done the Rees.
The parking was fine but I would not like to be tacking the 4 story steep ramp in winter.
As a hotel it lacked an overall atmosphere and was really more like what it is .....a bunch of apartments that share a reception and a few key services ( good as they are ) - over our stay no one used the bar area any night at all but the restaurant ( didn't try exc room service ) has a great rep.
Location is difficult , it's good but it's not 'in' town so the only issue is drink driving considerations and althought there is a free shuttle it ends to early at night ...
Overall though it's really good indeed and the room / view is a winning combo

To wrap up 5 star but the cleaning 'issue' drags it down ....

Room Tip: Top floor exec rooms are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingRainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

One of the nicest places we stayed at in New Zealand. The service was friendly and helpful. The views of the lake from our balcony were amazing especially at sunrise. The suites are new and very well maintained - there was even floor heating in the bathroom! The only drawback is the distance to town. It's too far to walk but they provide a shuttle service every hour. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Guy_333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed as a couple for 3 nights in an executive lakeview room.for our first trip to NZ, had high expectations of this luxury apartment - everything that Queenstown had promised. When we arrived, the lady at the frontdesk was rude and just wanted to finish her welcome intro as quickly as she could. We decided to change another room for a better view and thankfully after dialing the front desk, this time fortunately another more patient lady came over to change rooms for us, and we were happy for two days. The big disappointment came on our last night after we had returned from a long day trip to Doubtful Sound, the housekeeping didn't take place! Upon inquiry, the frontdesk insisted that we had displayed the privacy sign on our door, which I clearly removed in the morning, Upon a second call, we found out that it was due to a unconspious privacy lock accidentally switched on our door. However, with that, the turn down service staff could still come into our room just before we were back! The staff wasn't helpful at all and that really did it for us. We loved our room, the complimentary city shuttle and WIFI but sorry would not return simply because of one single rude and inpatient staff. (No offence to the other well-deserving staff though)

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.4 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#8 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 stars 1,194 reviews
3.1 mi away
Azur
Azur
#11 of 57 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments

Property: The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Address: 377 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#9 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rees Hotel and Luxury Apartments Queenstown is the new gateway to the True South. We welcome you to enjoy the ultimate Queenstown accommodation experience and savor the rich heritage, vibrant culture and diverse attractions of New Zealand’s glorious Queenstown and Southern Lakes District. The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments Queenstown offers luxury accommodation on the edge of Lake Wakatipu, looking out to The Remarkable Mountains. The Rees Hotel is conveniently located to Queenstown Airport and a short drive away from the centre of Queenstown, and central to the wide range of high quality, year-round attractions and activities offered by Queenstown and the broader Southern Lakes District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rees Hotel And Luxury Apartments
Rees Hotel Queenstown
The Rees Hotel Luxury Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing