We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view in a quite mainstream place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Ranked #9 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great view in a quite mainstream place”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Our stay in Queenstown happened during the middle of our honeymoon. The Rees is located in front of the Lake and offer excellent services to help you fully enjoy the town.
The room is really nice and clean, a large modern bathroom and a rather small but good bedroom. The view was fantastic and clean.
The hotel is really large and you have to go through a maze of stone and pillars to get to your room. If you decide to go to the city walking along the coast, you'll realize that there is still works in progress in The Rees.
The breakfast room is rather small and doesn't offer anything special.
We enjoyed staying there but it was not as good as any other lodge we've stayed. It's not perfect for a honeymoon when you might look for more charming and cute places.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,343
    423
    120
    41
    24
See reviews for
473
1,043
44
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Timaru
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Friendly and extremely helpful staff. Fantastic views of the lake. Great furnishings. Award winning chef and wine menu. Free internet access. Very comfortable bed and pillows. I have stayed in Hiltons, Sheratons, Westins, Intercontinentals, Langhams, Four Seasons, and this is best hotel so far. If there is a 7-star rating, this hotel would meet it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, and 90% of them have views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DanielTimaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Very nice all stuffs around this hotel, its location is very good front of the beautiful lake. The room confort is incredible it is safe also. The shuttle service to the town is very good and helpfull. The breakfest is amazing with incredible dishes on morning. We enjoyed too much our honey moon on this hotel. We recomend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dupetrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buonconvento
Level Contributor
115 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The friendly and efficient welcome at reception; the demonstration of the room's facilities; the super, wide, comfortable beds; the well-equipped kitchenette and generous sitting area; the balcony with great views over the lake; the well-designed bathroom; the free Wi-Fi. What more could you want? Possibly a really good in-house restaurant? That too!
The multinational and young staff were a significant asset - always friendly but never familiar and always concerned to deliver what you want.
We have no hesitation in recommending this to anyone - if we come back to Queenstown we will certainly stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuonconventoHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was the final hotel that we stayed in during our holiday in New Zealand and it couldn't have been better. The design of the hotel is excellent, the room was well designed and the views amazing. The hotel offers a complimentary coach to and from town every hour and if it is full it returns to pick up any additional guests. The wifi is complimentary, which is a small thing but something that should be offered in all hotels. The restaurant was small but the food amazing both at breakfast and in the evening which was fine dining. The staff could not do enough for us and arranged all of our excursions, rearranging them for us when the low clouds put them on hold. Definitely the place to stay in Queens-town.

Room Tip: Book a lake view for the amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We arrive early on a Tuesday and our room was ready for us. The room is very modern with 2 bedrooms and 1 bath. The views of the lake are breath taking. The Rees is just a 10-15 min drive from the town center. They also provide a van to taxi you to town with pick up as well. I would highly recommend this hotel. The service was top notch.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 678Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The views from our room were wonderful, across the lake to mountains beyond. The walk along the lake to town was lovely, took around 20-30 minutes and was so super that we didn't use the free shuttle at all. Room was great too, lovely linens and products. Staff were incredibly helpful, with Mel the concierge confirming our previous bookings of activities. We stupidly left some things in a drawer and the staff happily posted these on to one of our later stops for us. This was our first stop in NZ and we arrived at around 10am after an extremely long flight from UK. It would have been nice to have got into our room earlier than the 3pm check in time, but there was no way the policy was going to be changed. This was the only downside to an otherwise exceptionally good stay.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GordonHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.5 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#1 of 57 in Queenstown
533 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#12 of 57 in Queenstown
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments

Property: The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Address: 377 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#9 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rees Hotel and Luxury Apartments Queenstown is the new gateway to the True South. We welcome you to enjoy the ultimate Queenstown accommodation experience and savor the rich heritage, vibrant culture and diverse attractions of New Zealand’s glorious Queenstown and Southern Lakes District. The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments Queenstown offers luxury accommodation on the edge of Lake Wakatipu, looking out to The Remarkable Mountains. The Rees Hotel is conveniently located to Queenstown Airport and a short drive away from the centre of Queenstown, and central to the wide range of high quality, year-round attractions and activities offered by Queenstown and the broader Southern Lakes District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rees Hotel And Luxury Apartments
Rees Hotel Queenstown
The Rees Hotel Luxury Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing