We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shaky start but good finish”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Ranked #9 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2013

After booking a 3 bedroom apartment for a family holiday in October 2012 we were surprised to say the least when we arrived and there was a problem when we tried to check in. Despite the deposit being paid, the booking being made through the hotel website and a confirmation email from the hotel in October 2012-they claimed not to have a booking for my family when we arrived.The desk clerk disappeared after we tried to check in and we were left standing for 30 minutes with no information (we had already worked out there was a problem) until we asked if we could get some food while we waited. After 45 minutes the manager came out to inform us of the problem and let us know that lunch was "on the hotel as it was entirely their fault". Eventually we were put into a 2 bedroom apartment and had an extra hotel room-hotel was full due to Chinese new year so we were lucky to get anything. Lucky our 16 year old son was very happy to have his own room. Everything after that was fantastic. great hotel, the restaurant is excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful. the shuttle service into and out of Queenstown did seem to bring out the worst in people as everyone was pushing and shoving to get on-forward booking resolved most of the problems. great views from the room sand would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I would suggest if you use the website to book then telephone to confirm
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieMichaelAelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,051)
There are newer reviews for The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,397 - 1,403 of 2,053 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

The rooms here are excellent. High quality finish and fantastic views. The water taxi is handy. However the service is not great. Although the staff are friendly and try hard, they are let done by poor process and systems. The little things add up to an inconsistent experience. They are not quite there and when it comes to meeting expectations the experience does not match .

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthewvernonryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed two days here. There are some things about the hotel that are a 5 (rooms nice) lakeview rooms amazing (but then any lake view in queenstown will be amazing, food is beyond belief (both quality and price!.

But several things were a bit bothersome. Our experience in New Zealand is that the people are amazingly nice and friendly and helpful - but not here. We arrived early and knew they had a 3pm checkin. I was prepared to wait but was not prepared for the lack of effort to get a room ready (ours was ready at 2:30pm even though they have check out at 11 - which i later discovered is inflexible). This means the folks in our room before us checked out at 11 but we were not allowed in for 3.5 hours. I suspect they just don't attend to this. I checked a couple of times and felt like i was a vagrant asking for a free room or something. In every other hotel where I arrived before check in time they made an effort to clean up the room we were waiting for and kept us posted. Unbelievable.

Their restaurant is worth the cost. Although very expensive, their waiter (Tamer) was great. The food was fabulous, the prices were high. But a meal we'll remember - definitely worth it.

If you don't have to come early or leave later and can get a lakeside room, this is a good place to stay. But otherwise, their lack of going the extra mile may be aggravating.

Possibly in another country I would give this a 5 but in New Zealand, a level of friendliness and hospitality are expected and here, the Rees fell short.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tourist8787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Reason for Stay:
Had heard a lot about Queenstown and we decided to book somewhere with the aim of having a relaxing break and an opportunity to visit local sites and using the town as a base. It transpired t to be an ideal choice for our 4 day stay.

Location:
About 5 minutes drive from the centre of Queenstown. There is a free shuttle bus service available so this is not a problem if you don’t have you own transport.

Reception:
Very friendly and efficient department. Having checked in we were accompanied to our apartment where a full explanation of all the extensive facilities was provided.
There is also a tour desk where the lady was extremely knowledgeable and helpful in making bookings for local attractions. I noticed that whilst the trips were added to our hotel account there was no price differential when compared with direct booking with the operator.

Parking:
Is available in the same block as the apartment which is very convenient to your apartment.

Food:
Had a celebration meal in The True South Dining Room which was a little disappointing. See separate TA restaurant review.

Accomodation:
1st class - 5* hotel quality living/bedroom/bathroom with large balcony and kitchen area. Kitchen was superbly equipped and ideal for either making anything from snack to catering for a dinner party. Fabulous views from both inside the apartment and the balcony.

WiFi:
Our trip throughout New Zealand was a minefield of various free / not so free and charged internet options - as opposed to Europe where it tends to be included. (MacDonalds -interestingly enough -offers free WiFi .)
The Reese provided a very adequate data download allowance which was only used up you were online meaning that and did not have to log out each time and then log in again.

Value:
The room rates compare with international 4 and 5* international hotels but if you use all the facilities to their fullest, it was very good value for money.

Summary:
Wanted a restful time to use as a base for visiting the local natural beauty spots.
This objective was achieved and would definitely book and stay again.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a lake view - it is worth paying extra if you are staying for a few da...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HighburyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in a room with great lake view and a bathroom with a spa with heated tiles!! free laundry, wifi , excellent lake walks,are some of the amazing amenities that impressed me. Most commendable was the service though as the standin concierge Mo was more than willing to aid us with our never ending queries.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mervsng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This hotel felt very luxurious and modern. Our apartment room overlooked the lake and a beautiful view of the mountains. The staff (particularly Daniel) were friendly, efficient and welcoming. It is a little way out of town, but we made full use of the free shuttle bus. It is also located adjacent to a lovely lakeside trail leading into Queenstown. In addition to free parking and laundry facilities, this hotel proved to be well worth the outlay.

Room Tip: Ask for a Lake view room
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GBMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week in Dec 2012 on our visit from Canada. We were very impressed with the whole facility. It is located between the airport and downtown Queenstown with a nice view over the lake.

We stayed on the top floor in Room 713-3 which has a nice balcony and an amazing view of the lake. It is a fairly spacious room with a modern, large bathroom and a nice comfortable bed. There are motorized window blinds on the windows which was a nice touch. The suite is very tastefully done. There is a mini-fridge and a small bar area as well as a nice large computer desk area with the TV, and we also had free WIFI in the room which is always appreciated.

The bathroom in particular seemed very modern and spacious with separate shower and spa tub. Also, heated towel rack and floor tiles was very nice.

The bed is very comfortable and the staff are very professional and helpful. The driveway is quite steep and narrow when there are various cars/vans/taxis parked on it, and you have to be careful driving down into the parkade as it is tight and has a very sharp turn. Nothing to worry about, you just need to take the appropriate caution.

To get from the entrance to our suite to the living area, there is a flight of stairs which makes getting heavy suitcases up and down a bit of a chore. Not a complaint, this is just to advise those who might appreciate knowing that.

We appreciated the fact that there was free laundry facilities (which we utilized) and a concierge whom we booked a few excursions through which were billed to our room - nice touch to make things easy.

All in all we were very impressed with the Rees and will definitely stay here again. It is not cheap, but in this case, you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Book upper floors for a great lake view.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gtinckler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.9 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 57 in Queenstown
1,407 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 57 in Queenstown
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments

Address: 377 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#9 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $203 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rees Hotel and Luxury Apartments Queenstown is the new gateway to the True South. We welcome you to enjoy the ultimate Queenstown accommodation experience and savor the rich heritage, vibrant culture and diverse attractions of New Zealand’s glorious Queenstown and Southern Lakes District. The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments Queenstown offers luxury accommodation on the edge of Lake Wakatipu, looking out to The Remarkable Mountains. The Rees Hotel is conveniently located to Queenstown Airport and a short drive away from the centre of Queenstown, and central to the wide range of high quality, year-round attractions and activities offered by Queenstown and the broader Southern Lakes District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rees Hotel And Luxury Apartments
Rees Hotel Queenstown
The Rees Hotel Luxury Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing