We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Ranked #9 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2013

If you are visiting Queenstown this is a great place to stay. With views over the lake, it is. 20 min walk into town or there is a regular free shuttle service going to and from the centre of town.

Staff are all fantastic and very helpful. The restaurant there is amazing and a must do. We also found the concierge extremely helpful and they assisted us with all our needs and it was easier than booking directly with the various organisation at no extra cost.

Well done The Rees, see you next time!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barts101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,477 - 1,483 of 2,117 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

The Rees is well positioned just outside of Queenstown's centre with fantastic vis of the Remarkables.
Rooms are modern and well appointed, though some layouts are better than others. The Executive Suite in which we stayed (Room 6142) had a great layout - you could bath/shower with a view out over the lake/mountains.
Restaurant food was top notch, though room service was standard.
Service was exemplary.

Room Tip: There are two buildings. The rear building looks over the front, blocking the view to some degree in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Taffy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We are a family of 4 with 2 teenagers and had a night here before walking the Milford Track and 3 nights afterwards. For the first night we were in a 2 bed lakeview apartment. Rm 408 from memory. It was simply very cramped and we hadn't understood from the description that there was only one bathroom, a small one at that. Also poor storage space and poor privacy with other apartments looking in. It didn't matter so much as we were only in it for one night and we were able to be moved up to an Executive 2 bed lakeview apartment for the second part of our stay. Rm 711. It was a much better size with a second bathroom, more living space and much more suitable for a family of 4. So, we'd strongly recommend the "executive" if you don't want to be all on top of each other. The restaurant is excellent. As with a lot of hotel restaurants the space it is in is not quite right but the food was delicious and sophisticated in its presentation and the service was of a high standard. Front desk and concierge service was also very good. This is a well run and managed hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blah1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My family of four (2 teens) stayed in a two-bedroom apartment. The apartment was comfortable, with a nice fireplace in the living room and heated flooring in the bathroom. There is only one bathroom however. The dining and kitchen were large but the bedrooms were quite basic - just a bed and closet.
The apartment is not in town but is situated right on the side of the lake with beautiful view of the lake and mountains. It is worth spending extra to get the view as that is one of the highlights of the hotel. The back of the hotel abuts the main highway into town.
Check-in
We arrived by car from Queenstown airport, only a few minutes away. Check in was smooth but no one was around to help with luggage. Access to our apartment was via a car park and then stairs or a lift in an open air area. Initially I found this very strange as it seems most other reviewers do. But it is really only a means to get in and out, so it didn't bother me after awhile. However, it means that you have to face the cold weather as soon as you step out of the apartment.
Stay
We had dinner at the restaurant which was a bit of a hit and miss affair. Quite small but the service was patchy and slow. Food was good but not great and a bit pricey. We ate there for convenience but I think there are better options.
The apartment is quite modern, well-heated and was quiet. We had to supermarket to stock up on groceries but only had breakfast there.
Overall, I think it is a nice place to stay but you need a car to get anywhere. I would have given it a 5 star if the hotel itself had a wow factor but for its price, I think it is a good deal and a safe choice for a comfortable stay

Room Tip: Get a room with a lake view. It is worth the extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

After staying two nights in another "luxury" queenstown hotel we were very happy to arrive at The Rees. This hotel would be very hard to beat. The views alone are magnificent and the rooms are beautifully fitted out. We spent two nights at the hotel It was heaven! An enormous room, large private balcony, huge bathroom with a view over the lake to the Remarkables mountain range from the bath! Like I said, this hotel is hard to beat.
In addition to all this, the staff were friendly, helpful and professional. We will definitely return when we come back to new zealand in 2014

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcbrideau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Excellent hotel, located just 4 minutes ride from Queenstown (the hotel offers complimentary shuttle back and forth every hour). Top standard equipment in the apartements and a wonderful view if you chose the lake side of the hotel. Top notch service and a great restaurant as well.

Room Tip: Lake side view is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claes L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Booked The Rees for Christmas Eve & Christmas Day before touring the south island. Loved it so much that we decided to go back for New Year. Had a 2 bedroom lake view apartment and it was fantastic, stunning views, good facilities, really helpful staff, amazing setting and everything that we needed. Will definitely return and can highly recommend it. Thanks to everyone there.

Room Tip: Lake view apartments are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mimi C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
1.4 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,498 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments

Address: 377 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#9 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $196 - $1,832 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rees Hotel and Luxury Apartments Queenstown is the new gateway to the True South. We welcome you to enjoy the ultimate Queenstown accommodation experience and savor the rich heritage, vibrant culture and diverse attractions of New Zealand’s glorious Queenstown and Southern Lakes District. The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments Queenstown offers luxury accommodation on the edge of Lake Wakatipu, looking out to The Remarkable Mountains. The Rees Hotel is conveniently located to Queenstown Airport and a short drive away from the centre of Queenstown, and central to the wide range of high quality, year-round attractions and activities offered by Queenstown and the broader Southern Lakes District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rees Hotel And Luxury Apartments
Rees Hotel Queenstown
The Rees Hotel Luxury Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing