We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,289)
Filter reviews
2,289 results
Traveler rating
1,576
487
144
51
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,576
487
144
51
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrue southexecutive lake viewevery hourhourly shuttlenew zealandshuttle servicein townspa bathtwo bedroom apartmentheated floorsamazing viewslake wakatipuour honeymoonunderfloor heatinglarge balconygas fireplacecar park
Filter
Updating list...
1,752 - 1,757 of 2,289 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2012

My husband brought me here for our tenth wedding anniversary. We were booked into a lake view apartment . From the moment we arrived we had service ! We were met by Ben who was on concierge typical Kiwi so friendly and helpful! Our apartment had ceiling to floor windows overlooking the lake and mountains, jawdropping scenery! The gas effect log fire was immediately switched on and the underfloor heating turned on ! The kitchen was fully eqquiped made cooking breakfast a pleasure! Washing machine and dryer so our wet clothes from the snow never a problem. We enjoyed the walk along the lake to Queenstown every day and after eating and drinking we would get the courtesy bus back! We also enjoyed our anniversary dinner in the restaurant at the Rees and it really was exceptional!
The staff were all fabulous but Ben was particularly helpful .
Highly recommend !

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jenjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Just returned from a two night stay with the family which consists of 6 adults. Checking in was a bit nervy as the girl said she did not have our booking, but discovered it was entered incorrectly for the following month, I could have done without this info, but she gave us our 3 bedroom apartment and allowed us to check in early. The room was fabulous, spacious and comfortable. They offer a shuttle service into town and return which we did use once without a hitch, the driver was friendly and gave us tips on where to visit for a good coffee which we appreciated. The apartment had a full kitchen including dishwasher and microwave and the unit had a washing machine & drier which we made full use off, oh and the main bedroom had a spa bath with views out over the lake.................perfect. We sat a lot on the deck enjoying coffees and watching boats etc and looking up at the majestic snow capped mountains. We never ate here on this occasion so no comment on the restaurant. Would love to stay again and would in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Aucks67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

This hotel is unique, from the first moment you walk into the reception, with its gorgeous and unrivalled view across the lake and its friendly service, to the layout and architecture, and to the simple luxury of the apartments. The apartments are spacious and airy, with a large and open kitchen for easy cooking; comfy sofas and a nice television in the living room; big, light bathrooms (showers and baths separate); washer / dryer / washing machine all located in the apartment. The beds are at once firm and soft (best sleeping experience, even beating home for comfort and bliss). There is an easy walk along the lake to Queenstown (or around the Frankton Arm to the golf course), and lots of activities, friendly and helpful people, and an all-around great atmosphere. I highly recommend this place, including the restaurant, True South, located in the hotel itself, which is truly excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank hollyeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I went with three friends - one of whom travels regularly for work. We loved the gas fire, the room, the service, the view was as good as it gets anywhere in the world. We all said that if we hadn't had such excellent weather, we could happily have stayed indoors for several days as it was so comfy and the view was always there.

Lovely staff (thanks Chris for carrying my friend's skis) and Roman (very polite and helpful - booked a trip by water taxi and gave some good recommendations of things to do) Just wish we had had another night to eat in the restaurant as so many people recommended it. A friend's son had recommended this hotel and I will also tell people heading to Queenstown that we all rated The Rees very highly.

Room Tip: Lake view!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank winnerwellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel. We've stayed here 3 times and always loved it. The rooms are luxurious, with beautiful views across Lake Whakatipu to the Remarkables. Every detail is thought of, and the service is great. You will be spoiled if you stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DebbieNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews