We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“4th trip to the Rees” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   377 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“4th trip to the Rees”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

It just gets better and better glad we came the staff are fantastic nothing is a problem rooms clean very well maintained thanks again staff

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davem152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,168
    358
    103
    33
    16
See reviews for
395
897
39
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Some of my friends and I stayed here for a birthday and it was perfect. We took a three bedroom, lake view, apartment. They have everything you could possibly need. Beautiful big bathrooms, a great living area, enormous balcony with outdoor seating, great, quite spacious, kitchen. Check in was seemless and Romain in particular was totally professional, friendly and helpful.

My partner and I returned to the Rees to dine at True South a month later and again, we were not dissapointed. Ben Batterbury has an exquisite menu and the wine list was fabulous. In amongst our three courses ordered we were spoilt with complimentary palate cleansers and amuse bouche. The view is beautiful. On arrival at the hotel Romain recognised us and welcomed us back! The service in the restaurant was efficient, friendly and not at all over bearing. The only thing I would comment on is that the restaurant seemed to lack a little bit of atmosphere - but this may have been due to it being a quieter night.

A great property, we will definitely be returning for another special occasion!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QtownGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

My wife and I spent 3 nights in Queenstown and decided we would splurge on our accomodation during this time. Well we were certainly not disappointed with our choice of the Rees. From the start, when we were escorted to our room with a valet carrying our bags to the end when the concierge checked our flight details for our trip home, we were thoroughly delighted. The one bedroom apprtment was amazing...so much space and every luxury you could want.... Fireplace, heated rooms, warm bathroom floors, massaging shower jet, Ipod speakers, full range of TV channels, superb plunger coffee and a well appointed kitchen among many others. Just be careful (if you want your room cleaned) when you close your door to leave during the day that you ensure that it's not left in Privacy Mode as the cleaners will respect your wishes. Free unlimited wireless Internet in your room or easy accessibility to a computer in the lobby give you lots of opportunities to communicate home! We also made use of the small gym as well as the walking track along the lake which is easily accessed from Level 5. But finally, the view...an awesome sight to wake up to each morning as you gaze out of your bedrom windows to the snow-capped mountains and the huge beautiful lake. So while it's a bit of an indulgence money-wise, it was very worthwhile for more than a night's stay and we certainly didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: Book Level 4 or higher for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trap_KJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

This beautiful modern Hotel is tucked into the shore of Lake Wakatipu. The view of the Remarkables from our balcony as well as the lobby was incredible.
The only down side of this hotel was a shower that leaked and the grounds were unfinished on the lakeside. The complex is large seems a bit stalled.

We started our "stay" very early in the morning. The shuttle from our previous accomodation dropped us of to await our transporation for our over-night Doubtful Sound cruise (not to be missed). Morgan at the front desk offered us a seat in the lobby lounge and brought us coffee and biscuts (on the house). As we watched the sun rise over the Remarkables the early morning rushed feelings melted away.

Upon our return late the next afternoon, Morgan again greeted us and showed us to our room. Our luggage was there, it was large and comfortable with a large blacony looking over the lake and mountains.

The proximity to the airport was one reason we chose the Rees. I guess we were just too relaxed the next day. After a nice breakfast at the Rees (awesome view again) we headed to the airport nice and early. After checking in and having lunch my husband realised he'd left his phone at the Rees. A phone call confirmed it was there and Antony said he'd get it to my husband ASAP. We were watching for a taxi when Antony drove up with the phone.

We left New Zealand feeling very special and cared fro thanks to the staff at the Rees.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Windsoront
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

A true 5 star luxury apartment. Absolutely loved it. Nice and queit, convienient to everything and fantastic apartments, facilities and staff.

The beds and pillows are amazing. Absolutely first class with its Super King beds and quality bedding. We hired the 3br in apartment 410, which is in Building C on the top floor and its just the perfect location. Its quieter then the main building, no one on top of you and convienient to carpark and lifts.

We have stayed in queenstown many times, at the Oaks, the Novotel, St Moritz, The Sofitel and Peppers Beacon and none of them come close to the quality and tranquility of the Rees.

In a few words - we loved it, and will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Building C on the top floor between 409 and 411
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt1972SnowLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

From the moment we arrived at The Rees we were made welcome and things only got better from there. Our apartment was beautifully presented, with incredible views of the lake and The Remarkables from both our bedroom and lounge area. We spent many an hour sitting in front of our fireplace reading a book and taking in the view. Even though the hotel is three kilometres from Queenstown the walk in was breathetaking and put you in the mood to enjoy the food and coffee that is so abundantly on offer in Queenstown. We cannot speak highly enough of this hotel and its staff and would not hesitate to return if the opportunity arises again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denisCoolumBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

This hotel was simply unbelievable! We could see the lake mountains and all! The service though was quite poor as it was impossible to find anyone around and phones would go unanswered. But overall the experience was great as the hotel location is super, the walk to the city center is lovely if you take the back road near the lake which is highly recommended. The rooms are spacious and make you feel very special!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bhavika81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
1.4 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
3.1 mi away
Azur
Azur
#4 of 57 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 stars 262 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#9 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 stars 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments

Property: The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Address: 377 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#7 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#9 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rees Hotel and Luxury Apartments Queenstown is the new gateway to the True South. We welcome you to enjoy the ultimate Queenstown accommodation experience and savor the rich heritage, vibrant culture and diverse attractions of New Zealand’s glorious Queenstown and Southern Lakes District. The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments Queenstown offers luxury accommodation on the edge of Lake Wakatipu, looking out to The Remarkable Mountains. The Rees Hotel is conveniently located to Queenstown Airport and a short drive away from the centre of Queenstown, and central to the wide range of high quality, year-round attractions and activities offered by Queenstown and the broader Southern Lakes District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rees Hotel And Luxury Apartments
Rees Hotel Queenstown
The Rees Hotel Luxury Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing