We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Appellation Wine Tours
from $128.79
More Info
from $174.10
More Info
from $109.38
More Info
from $236.23
More Info
Reviews (591)
Filter reviews
591 results
Traveler rating
525
54
8
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
525
54
8
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews visited wineries carrick winery platter lunch boutique tour central otago domain road wild earth half day wine tour gibbston valley different wineries scott base guide paul mt rosa pinot noir new zealand wine lovers wine expert
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 591 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We completed this tour on the 20th of January. Our guide was Gary. He was a fantastic guide. We were in a small group, Gary made us all feel comfortable and did a great job at getting us the know each other a bit better. The four wineries were all very different but very interesting in their own ways. The lunch was excellent. Thanks to Gary for sharing his excellent knowledge of the local area and the wines that are produced there.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank 720greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Had a great tour with Gary who was only on his second tour! He did a great job and said we were the best group he had so far! only 5 on our tour so was easy to move from winery to winery and we all got on well! Well done Gary!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, General Manager at Appellation Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi John, thank you so much for reviewing Appellation Wine Tours and our guide Gary! Gary's passion for wine and his enthusiasm for the region makes him pretty special to tour with, and he will be thrilled to read these kind words. Thanks again, and we hope to see you back one day! Kind regards, Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020 via mobile

The activity took all day as we travelled to Gibson and Cromwell, the centre of the Pinot Noir production in New Zealand. The lunch served at lunch with wine pairing was outstanding and the section of cheeses in the afternoon. Of course, the ne tasting was great, we visited three distinct vineyards with plenty of wines to taste at each stop. Some great Pinot Noir but also some Sauvignon Blanc and Pinot Gris.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank patrices648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020

We had an absolutely wonderful experience. Juliana was very friendly and informative during the tour. The wines were excellent and we had a delicious lunch with a beautiful view. It was a great idea for us to celebrate our anniversary.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank AlexR7534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, General Manager at Appellation Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Alex, thank you so much for your review and we are very glad you enjoyed your tour with Juliana. It was a pleasure to share such a special occasion with you, and we hope you keep up the tradition so that we see you more in the future! ;-) Cheers and all the best! Kind regards, Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020

This tour was amazing. Our tour guide was a breath of fresh air - hey Vicky! She gave the perfect amount of comedic commentary without going overboard and also had many fun facts about the area to share. If you are a Pinot Noir fan, this is a must do! The wines are fabulous and the wineries are really proud of their work and happy to have you onsite. I can't wait to go back!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank amandao269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
appellationvino, Operations at Appellation Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2020

Thank you so much for your kind words, Amanda. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us—and we agree, Vicky is truly a gem to have on our team! We count ourselves lucky for customers like you. We look forward to working with you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews