We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent day out”

Appellation Central Wine Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$147.68*
and up
Central Otago Wine Tours from Queenstown
Ranked #2 of 24 Food & Drink in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Join this award winning New Zealand Wine Tour Company and discover the wines, history and sights of Central Otago, New Zealand's premier cool climate wine region. Appellation Central's small group wine tours depart daily from Queenstown. An absolute maximum of 12 adults per tour and experienced guides ensure a fun day out in wine country. You will learn about wine appreciation, taste some of the region's great wines, enjoy a delightful gourmet platter lunch and visit the historic town of Old Cromwell. In 2011, 2012 and 2013 Appellation Central Wine Tours have won the Great Wine Capitals national award for Wine Tourism Services and in 2012 won the International Best of Wine Tourism award for Wine Tourism Services.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
newcastle on tyne UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent day out”
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

We had a great day out on this small wine tour. The vineyards were all excellent and we were given lots of information. The lunch was very enjoyable and in spectacular scenery. We thought that this tour was good value for money and would recommend it if you like wine

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank henmch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    32
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
217 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A wonderful way to sample wines in central Otago”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We booked this tour on Viato ahead of our visit to Queenstown. The tour is operated by this company. They picked us up at the hotel in a minivan that holds 11 passengers (this is the maximum people on this tour) and off we went to explore local wines. We visited 4 wineries in two different areas of this region. In each of the wineris we sampled a number of their wines (both white and red). In one of the places we also had lunch which included a variety of locally produced items. The tour was very well organized and our guide was very friendly and knowledgeable. A great experience for wine lovers.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Aviad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good wine and tour guide!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

My partner and myself went on one of Appellation's basic day wine tours, overall I would say it was an enjoyable experience.

The wine was good, and lunch (accommodating in terms of dietary requirements).

Also, Richard our wine tour guide was very knowledgeable and good humored!

Definitely would recommend.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jack c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
332 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Good Way to Sample”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Steph operated a door-to-door service for five couples, including ourselves. She was a great guide and took us to four wineries (it was the half-daytour) which included lunch. Our group got to chatting and we all joked and sampled through the very pleasant tour.

Steph was knowledgable not only about the wineries but also Queenstown and its environs in general. The wineries were excellent and their tastings and products worth the tour.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank SueKot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent NZ Wine Tour!”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We had an absolutely fantastic experience on our Appellation Central Wine Tour! Even prior to the tour the staff was helpful. We had to make a very last minute change to our tour date and they were extremely accommodating. Our tour guide was knowledgable, super nice, and helpful beyond the tour (he made some great recs for places to go in Queenstown). The wines were fantastic and we had a good variety. Lunch was also delicious and they were very accommodating for dietary restrictions. Overall, great experience and worth the money!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marlena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Appellation Central Wine Tours also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Appellation Central Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing