We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent wine tour. Great vineyards. Tour Guide Liz was super knowledgable & friendly.”

Appellation Central Wine Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$147.68*
and up
Central Otago Wine Tours from Queenstown
Ranked #2 of 24 Food & Drink in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Join this award winning New Zealand Wine Tour Company and discover the wines, history and sights of Central Otago, New Zealand's premier cool climate wine region. Appellation Central's small group wine tours depart daily from Queenstown. An absolute maximum of 12 adults per tour and experienced guides ensure a fun day out in wine country. You will learn about wine appreciation, taste some of the region's great wines, enjoy a delightful gourmet platter lunch and visit the historic town of Old Cromwell. In 2011, 2012 and 2013 Appellation Central Wine Tours have won the Great Wine Capitals national award for Wine Tourism Services and in 2012 won the International Best of Wine Tourism award for Wine Tourism Services.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent wine tour. Great vineyards. Tour Guide Liz was super knowledgable & friendly.”
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Excellent wine tour. Great vineyards. Tour Guide Liz was super knowledgable & friendly. Great experience tasting the different wines in the different vineyards. Lunch was also amazing in the vine yard. Would definetly recommend this tour to anyone that wants to do a wine tour in Queenstown. Dermot & Rory (The Irish Boyo's....)

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank dorourke88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    32
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great fun and I learnt a few things too!”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

What a great tour. Really enjoyed visiting the boutique wineries and the fabulous lunch that was included. Each winery was different and we we learnt a lot about the local wines and area. The scenery on the way was breathtaking and our very knowledgable host Liz made it a very enjoyable trip.
I would recommend this trip to anyone that is interested in wines. You don't have to be a wine expert to enjoy it and you will love hearing the passion of the wine makers as they describe their produce. Thanks to all involved.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Gundagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed the wine tour and would highly recommend it. The tour guide was very knowledgeable about the wines and the surrounding region and made the whole experience a really memorable one.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank 63Sue63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
80 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic - must do if you're in the area”
Reviewed June 2, 2011

This was probably the best thing we did on our entire trip to New Zealand. You get to try fantastic wine and see amazingly beautiful countryside. Having a guided tour was a smart move. We would never have learned as much going on our own, and probably would have gotten lost. Not to mention that one of us would have to go easy on the wine. Our guide was Keren, very knowledgeable about the region and great company. The group was a mix of wine experts and novices from around the world and she did a good job of keeping it interesting for those who knew a lot about wine, but also making sure those who were not wine experts still had a good time and learned something new.

Key thing is they take small vans (their site says 11 people max), so it feels small and intimate, not a cattle call like some guided tours are. Our entire group was just a half dozen, so it was practically a private tour. We did the slightly longer gourmet tour and recommend spending a little bit extra for it. We were sad when it ended. When you book or sometime before you do the tour, let them know if there are particular vineyards you want to visit or general wine preferences and they can tailor the tour to your preferences. (They'll also give you recommendations for food and activities for the rest of your trip.) Or you can just let them choose, which is mostly what we did and we were happy with the results. Great food as well. Can't recommend this enough, especially if you pick a day with great weather.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank xeno111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“intimate and informative”
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Great day wine tasting and lots of friendly chat.

Informative guide and great value.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Randomhabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Appellation Central Wine Tours also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Appellation Central Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing