We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular!”
Review of Commonage Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Commonage Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The Commonage Villas far exceeded our expectations. The views are incredible and the accommodation is amazing. We especially enjoyed the fire places in the lounge room and bedroom and the underfloor heating throughout. Miira could not have been any more accommodating from our first email to our last day in the villa. Perfect for couples or families and I look forward to returning one day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank JARO311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMiira, General Manager at Commonage Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Many thanks for your wonderful review! Best wishes from the Commonage Villas team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 51 of 51 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

This is the 5 star experience ! Luxury warm and a touch of class
The only problem is it is ten mins walk out of town up a huge hill. A taxi from town to the apt is $11nz. Also it is too far from town to be on the shuttle route to the ski lifts and too far to walk with ski equipment. HIRE a CAR it's the only way to get around if staying here and skiing unless you are a mountain goat. Car hire is $75nz a day.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tonyc99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MizMiira, General Manager at Commonage Villas, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Tony,
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it! Yes, we are on Queenstown Hill which is no problem, like you stated, if you have a car. (We don't allow mountain goats to stay in the villas as a rule!) We have taken on board your advice and now offer a daily villa to town return taxi chit. I guess the hill is the price you pay for our incredible views. We look forward to having you stay next time and thanks again. Best wishes, the team at Commonage Villas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

We stayed for a week with 2 other couples in Auguat 2009. It proved to be great value for us as between 6 of us and with the AUD to NZD exchange rate. We were all really imporessed with the accomdation. The villa we were in seemed brand new, the furnishing were so beautiful and no detail was mssed. The views were sensatiotional from every room. We had a hire car so being on the hill was no big deal. The gas fire and under floor heating meant we were all cosy. The lady who took our reservation and checked us in was super nice and friendly and reccomended all the retaurants to go to and not go to. We had such an awsome time and the skking was excellent. All the retsirants we went to were really top notch also, not waht yo;d expect from such a small town. We are looking forward to seeing Queenstown in Summer now as we've been told it is great. I would definitely reccomend the vilas to groups of friends, couples or families.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rose148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MizMiira, General Manager at Commonage Villas, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Rose,
Thank you so much for your amazing review. We are very proud of our beautiful villas and the service we provide, let alone our very special town. Receiving such fantastic reviews makes it all worth while for us, so thank you! Best wishes, the team at Commonage Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2010

Our company is one of the sponsors of the Queenstown Winter Festival and I was lucky enough to be part of the team on the ground during the festival staying at Commonage Villas.

It was a fantastic location (overlooking the town and lake) for us to be based from during the week. It is an easy 5 minute walk to get into the township although a bit if hike back up (the hills around there are steep)!

The rooms and amenities were fantastic. We converted the large dining area into our work space and each had our own massive bedroom / en-suite. Wireless broadband internet meant it was work as usual.

The kitchen is well set up with everything you could ever want, admittedly we ate most of our evening meals out so didn't get to make full use of it.

I took my partner and was lucky enough to have the master bedroom on the top floor. She spent a lot of time enjoying the huge bath! The views were fantastic and would have to be the best place for watching the festival fireworks.

It did seem a little strange parking our SUV in a carpeted heated garage after a day up the ski field.

I hope we are staying there again this year!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PPPops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MizMiira, General Manager at Commonage Villas, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Pppops,
Thank you so much for your very positive review. Yes our villas work well for being used as a 'board room with a view'. We are so glad you all enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back next time! Best wishes, from the team at Commonage Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2008

We stayed at 8 The Commonage for 3 nights in August 2008 ( 3 bed villa with accom for maybe 5/6 people). The views were outstanding and the accomodation to a very high standard indeed. The staff were great. They booked a trip for us, helped us to order a dinner in 1 night as well as giving good restaurant recommendations for the other 2 nights. They were very responsive and always enthusiastic.

Everyone was happy and there were only compliments from my 3 teenage daughters on the amenities/facilities and comfort. The only slight negative would be that although it is potentially walking distance into town, it would be a pretty steep walk back, so you are trading that for the views.

Having never been before, Queenstown lived up to its billing. We went skiing at Cardrona and made it to Milford Sound. The weather was perfect (we were lucky!)

It was undoubtedly an expensive stay, but I thought it ended up being reasonable value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PaulD-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MizMiira, General Manager at Commonage Villas, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Paul,
Many thanks for your excellent review of your stay with us. We are thrilled you all had such a lovely time and we look forward to welcoming you back next time. Best wishes, from the team at Commonage Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
Thank jcrlierru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaysouthManager, Guest Relations Manager at Commonage Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.9 mi away
Esplanade Queenstown
Esplanade Queenstown
#40 of 58 in Queenstown
100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eichardt's Private Hotel
Eichardt's Private Hotel
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
275 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hulbert House
Hulbert House
#45 of 58 in Queenstown
17 reviews
0.9 mi away
LakeRidge Queenstown
LakeRidge Queenstown
#12 of 93 in Queenstown
158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Garden Court Suites & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commonage Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commonage Villas

Address: 15 Kerry Dr | Queenstown Hill, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: $562 - $1,097 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Commonage Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The very essence of style and taste - Commonage Villas is an unbeatable base to explore the cosmopolitan resort town of Queenstown. Completed in mid-2007, these wonderfully luxurious and spacious homes are nestled on Queenstown’s most prestigious address, overlooking the bay. The range of exclusive villas has sweeping panoramas, lake views and mountain vistas. Stunning decor exudes comfort and style and guests can expect uncompromising quality, 24-hour concierge services and an unsurpassed five star experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Commonage Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing