We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic experience for the whole family”

Ultimate Hikes Guided Walks
Book In Advance
More Info
$287.29*
and up
Ultimate Nature Experience from Queenstown: Dart River Jet Boat Ride and Lake...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The only operators of multiday guided walks on the famous Milford & Routeburn Tracks: operating in New Zealand's stunning World Heritage Area, providing range of all-inclusive guided walks from 1-8 days. Trek through rainforests, past mountain peaks and over remote alpine passes on a unique experience without sacrificing comfort or convenience. Accommodation on overnight walks is in luxury lodges, with meals, hot showers and snug beds. All walks include transport, food, equipment and expert guides. Single day excursions must be booked 24 hours in advance.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience for the whole family”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We did this as a family, and it was one of the best experiences of some twenty years of vacationing as a family. The walk is quite difficult in parts (especially for us, who are in our late fifties and not in the best of shape) - but you can do things at your own pace, and the atmosphere is tremendously supportive. Our twenty something kids had lots of people their own age to hang out with, particularly in the evenings when their exhausted parents were in bed. The guides were awesome, and it was terrific to arrive to warm quarters, have hot showers, clean rooms and gourmet meals with excellent wine. It was absolutely terrific. I highly recommend it

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    649
    35
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Milford Track - great experience - must do!”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

The guided (by Ultimate Hikes) Milford Track is an experience that will go on my personal list of splendid outdoor activities. It was an honor to be able to go through this track, as it was an honor to be treated so well by guides, staff and peer walkers alike. The weather was with us, exactly the right rainy morning for the first forest miles, after that blue skies... Views, views, views.
The attention in the lodges was good, the place is clean, all is very well organized.
Guides were good fun, had the right authority and flexibility and were very knowledgeable on the track.
Great job - will go anytime again with these guys. Keep going!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Drkluitjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
311 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Simply the best but also breathtaking”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

What an amazing day that was kicked off by an amazing trek. But what made this trek so good was our guide Vernon. When just rocked us with his nature and knowledge and letting us get absorbed in nature. The companies lunch was great too. I will def try a multi day walk with these guys.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shaun T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent experience - a must for everyone once in their lives!”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We walked the track with 50 others 5-9 January 2014 - a great start to the New Year. The organization and the guides, Annabel, Masako, Kelly and Amelia were brilliant with everyone from start to finish. Age is no barrier - my husband, 71 years old, was always near the front and finished the walk with a young fit 17 year old - 54 years age difference was irrelevant - it's attitude of mind that matters! The hot showers, drying rooms and great food made this an excellent alternative to independently hiking the trail and for me the only option! Highlights were seeing the kea, the wonderful scenery, and sharing the experience with 50 other people from all over the world- the track never felt crowded and we were often on our own but the evenings were vibrant with a lot of talking and laughter......albeit most of us were in bed close to 9pm. The day that will live with me forever was the climb to McKinnon pass in the pouring rain - not a square inch was dry when I reached the top and we all steamed as we warmed up in the hut over lunch! Well done Ultimate Hikes it was a brilliant experience......everyone should do it once in their lives.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank jspence964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Brilliant experience”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Just completed the Routeburn Track on Sunday. It was a fantastic experience. Can't recommend it highly enough for people who like tramping & hiking.
Everything was so well organised by Ultimate Hikes. Every member of the staff had a smile and were so friendly and welcoming. Our guides (Johannah, Liane, Mike & Sadao) were brilliant and made the hard part of walking so much more enjoyable. (Conical Hill was a challenge but it is optional). The lodges were of such a high standard. I would do another tramp with Ultimate Hikes in a heartbeat! Thanks everyone.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank blackcap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ultimate Hikes Guided Walks also viewed

 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Ultimate Hikes Guided Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing