We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Milford Track - BRILLIANT!!!”

Ultimate Hikes Guided Walks
Book In Advance
More Info
$281.99*
and up
Ultimate Nature Experience from Queenstown: Dart River Jet Boat Ride and Lake...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The only operators of multiday guided walks on the famous Milford & Routeburn Tracks: operating in New Zealand's stunning World Heritage Area, providing range of all-inclusive guided walks from 1-8 days. Trek through rainforests, past mountain peaks and over remote alpine passes on a unique experience without sacrificing comfort or convenience. Accommodation on overnight walks is in luxury lodges, with meals, hot showers and snug beds. All walks include transport, food, equipment and expert guides. Single day excursions must be booked 24 hours in advance.
Bondi
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Milford Track - BRILLIANT!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Our family did the 5-day Milford Track hike on January 21-25, 2013 with 4 fantastic guides - Alex, Turner, Ryan & Ant. Everything was perfect - weather, food, accommodation, guides, first aide service, company, landscape, nature, waterfalls, blue ducks and KEAs! Group 82 had 44 participants and all these 44 people quickly formed into one big, happy and relaxed family. My husband celebrated his birthday on the third day of our walk and our fantastic guides made it so special. I will never forget this experience - one of the best! From the the pre-track briefing until the end of our journey we had fun. Extra bonus - creme brulee for dessert, I did not expect that at all!

Ultimate Hikes - you're a champ! The service exceeded my expectations. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BondiBland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    652
    35
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ultimate Hikes - Routeburn Guided Walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

The Routeburn Track with Ultimate Hikes (Vernon, Karen, Tony and Yukiko) was the experience of a lifetime. The track was varied, taking you through stunning beech forest, to alpine gardens (recommend you go to optional Key Summit), above the tree line along the Hollyford Face (day 2 - my favourite bit), around lakes and along rivers. We had a warm clear day, a rainy misty day with lots of water on the track, and a clear colder day, and each just added to the experience. The lodges were magnificent; the one at Lake Mackenzie has a particularly fabulous view. The guides were brilliant. They loved the track, were very well informed, charming, cheerful and helpful, and very effective at building a team spirit in our large and diverse group (people from NZ, Japan, Australia and the US). They were also excellent at looking after the diverse needs of people with different levels of confidence and ability. We were very sorry when the trip came to an end; it was fabulous.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank simonlmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Ultimate Hikes, ultimate pleasure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I did their Encounter Day walk along the Routeburn Track in late January and thoroughly enjoyed it. Booking the trip was easy on their user-friendly website. The hotel pick-up was very convenient and the walk itself, with Vernon as our guide, was great. We had perfect weather and Vernon was very knowledgeable about the history of the track and Queenstown, flora and fauna. There was just myself and one other walker - and Vernon. He said groups could be as small as one walker or up to 14 (per guide. Groups bigger than 14 will have two guides). The trek was about 18kms all up - 9kms to the Routeburn Flats Lodge and back again. Lunch was taken next to a crystal clear stream (with cold drinkable water) that looked like a set of a movie. The scenery? Picture postcard perfect! I plan to use Ultimate Hikes for the longer Milford Track walk next year.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alvin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“First Class Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Our family of 4 including two teenage boys hiked the Milford Track with Ultimate Hikes in early January 2013 just after a spell of heavy rain cancelled a previous day hike. We lucked out with the weather and got 4 beautiful days with no rain (highly unusual we were told). Masako, Andy, Turner, and Moon were our guides. Friendly, adventurous, and willing to jump into cold pools and rivers with us! They were very attentive, always prepared with hot tea, cold drinks and a smile for the weary hikers. The entire experience was first class, down to the coach drivers, the store staff, and the lodge staff. The accommodations were bunk-style, so nothing to write home about, but given how remote they were, we were happy to have a bed and hot showers at the end of each day. Food was very well done with three course meals at dinner, self made sandwiches for lunch, and a hot breakfast with eggs for energy every morning. The track is beautiful and different each day of the walk. Be prepared with shorts, pants, gloves, beanies, insect repellent, and sun block. Overall, a memorable trip and met many fellow travellers which made the whole experience more social, interactive, and fun. One of my teenage sons even made NZ$50 on the last day by carrying the backpack of a fellow traveller who was too weary to carry it himself. Fun challenge for him!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pavan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

There is a reason why Ultimate Hikes has a five star rating here on TripAdvisor. Hands down this was one of the best guided experiences of my life.

I did the Milford Trek which was a four day hike. We were very fortunate to have beautiful weather during our entire time.

The food is really good for "camping" food. You may actually gain weight on the trip because of how well they feed you!

The scenery is spectacular. Like most of New Zealand, every picture looks like it could be a postcard. And then you see another amazing view just moments later.

But what really makes this trip so good are the guides. We had Masako, Turner, Moon, and Andy. They were the best. There to welcome you at each stop and serve your meals at the lodges. I'm not sure I've actually encountered anything in my life where it's so clear that these people love what they do.

The hardest part of the trip probably isn't the hike itself, but the infamous sand flies you may have already heard about. This is probably the most violent thing I encountered in all of my stay during New Zealand as the environment is so pure and inviting.

There are no snakes or weeds. You will hopefully get to see at least one kea bird during your trek. As they are quite curious and apparently have the intelligence of a three year old dog.

Definitely worth spending the money. You will also make some new friends as you will share many laughs and make some great memories.

Thank you for a wonderful trip!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank calitraveler310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ultimate Hikes Guided Walks also viewed

 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Ultimate Hikes Guided Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing