We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alta "excellent"”
Review of Alta Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alta Apartments
Mackay
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Alta "excellent"”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Couldn't believe my eyes when we saw the apartment. Modern, stylish, and lots of room to move around, Even the car had a garage. The view from the apartment was spectacular. Self catering saved us lots of money. I would recommend this apartment to anyone. I definately would be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GraceV_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    34
    13
    6
    1
See reviews for
58
18
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Yet again another great stay at Alta apartments. Part of the reason my family and I keep coming back is the size and standard of the apartments. I'm never disappointed and the kids love the fact that they can spread out and have room to move. So much better than a hotel room. Of course, self catering also helps us save a bit of cash.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roadwarrior40_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a new apartment with modern interior. Nice view from the living room. The location is not easy to find in the dark but overall its still ok. Like the design with dining and living room at 3rd floor. It won't disturb others member who rest in the room at 2nd floor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corynntan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I read all the reviews about Alta Apartments with interest. I went into other travel sites and read more reviews prior to making my decision to stay at Alta Apartments and am amazed at how wrong some prior visitors have been.
I wanted to stay in a nice place but one that wasnt too expensive so read with interest about the large studios that are available. In the advertising the blurb actually states that the studios do not have views of Lake Wakatipu or the Remarkables, it also states that there are no kitchen facilities or laundry facilities, so why do people make this an issue when they write a review?
When I arrived I was pleasantly surprised by the size of the studio - it had a King bed, leather lounge suite, small frig but fully stocked with crockery and cutlery, tv with freeview and a large oversized ensuite bathroom.
Be nice people, if you feel you have the right to write a review of any place you have stayed be honest about what was advertised and what you received. If you were given something other than what was advertised then I can accept your criticism but if you - like me - needed cheaper accommodation but got more than what was expected then be nice and critique it fairly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The photos look great on the website but the next minute after we checked into the studio room, it was very disappointing. The room was at the far end, entrance at the back of the building with a very small downhill sloping walking track, no light at 11pm when we came back after dinner. We had to use our cellphone to light up the road. The studio ($130) was basically in the basement, no lake view, different from the photo online. Overall the room was clean, but still too far from the name 'luxury'. It was very far from town centre, recommend to hire a car or get a taxi.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cherie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at the Alta apartments for four nights in October. We had a three bedroom apartment which was spread over three levels. Generally the apartment was spacious, clean, well appointed and and in good condition. Views of the Remarkables from the balcony were excellent.

We felt that some TLC and basic maintenance items really let Alta down eg blown light globes, faded and perished painting on balcony outdoor table & chairs etc . All in all these would not stop us staying there again just that Alta promoting the apartments on their website as luxury created unrealistic expectations of what we were to expect.

The walk into town is considerable and steep in parts. Not a big deal for active people howevere a vehicle (or taxi) would be a must for those where such walking conditions would represent a challenge.

Staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 783SS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Lovely two bedroom apartment for our family. Clean, comfortable, with everything we needed.
The kids loved the game of Monopoly! It was 10 minute walk for the centre of town, but this was no problem with a view of the lake and the snow capped mountains.

Room Tip: Apartment 5 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Queenstown
Esplanade Queenstown
#42 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Highview Apartments
Highview Apartments
#10 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.1 mi away
LakeRidge Queenstown
LakeRidge Queenstown
#16 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Spinnaker Bay Apartments
Spinnaker Bay Apartments
#22 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Platinum Queenstown Villas
Platinum Queenstown Villas
#2 of 90 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#15 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alta Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alta Apartments

Property: Alta Apartments
Address: 89 Thompson Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Alta Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alta Apartments is nestled in the foothills of Queenstown in a quiet location on the town’s edge (approximately 10-15 mins walk downhill) and offers 11 self-contained 2- and 3-bedroom apartments, including two oversized studio suites. A great alternative to hotels, the apartments have everything you’d expect for a home away from home. The top level of our 2- and 3-bedroom apartments maximise stunning views of The Remarkables and Lake Wakatipu. Our apartments are specifically designed for those guests preferring a ‘self-catering’ experience with minimal disruption. Similar to booking a ‘holiday-home’, we don’t provide daily servicing but if pre-arranged, bedding can be changed for a daily fee and our 2- and 3-bedroom apartments feature laundries. Our manager is available in the office between 9am-midday daily to answer any queries or assist with anything regarding the apartments. There is also an after-hours mobile number to call when the office is unattended or in case of an emergency. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Alta Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alta Apartments Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing