We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location for Queenstown!”
Review of Pounamu Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pounamu Apartments
Ranked #11 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed at the Pounamu Apartments last year while travelling for skiing in Queenstown.

This place is like a postcard.

Firstly the view from our apartment, the wonder that is Queenstown, snow topped mountains, the view of Lake Wakatipu, all a dream in the morning as you wake.

The nightlife is close by and the village feel of Queenstown is so edgy and unique anybody would be impressed.

The Apartments were modern, and offered every thing you could possible need, all modern and with style.

We were close enough to drive to the mountains to ski without too much effort, walk to the shops and nightlife, all while having a beautiful place to stay.

I would definitely book this place again and suggest it to anyone who is looking at Queenstown to visit.

Room Tip: Most of the apartments from my knowledge have a similar view, so you will be ensured a great view re...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Thank you for your 5 Star review on Pounamu Apartments Anthony A.

Your words sum up the spectacular views - …like a “Postcard”. Great to read that you had a great time in Queenstown.

Don’t forget that as a returning guest, you will want to check out our Special Offers on our website.

Cheers, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,406)
There are newer reviews for Pounamu Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

690 - 696 of 1,406 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2014

Stayed here with my boyfriend on a trip to Queenstown in December. We looked around for 5 star accommodation to end our trip with a bit of luxury and we weren't disappointed! The view from our apartment was incredible and the staff very friendly. The room was very modern and the complimentary chocolates very delicious :) Will definitely be back next time we visit NZ.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RachaelHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Thank you for your glowing review Rachael.

Check out our Special Offers on our website before booking direct with us.

We look forward to your return to our 5 Star Qualmark rated Apartments.
Cheers, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Was exactly what I saw on the trip advisor. Had a lovely warm welcome.. staff was really friendly. stunning views from the top apartment. They have a jacuzzi outside which one can book for half hour with the view of the lake..which is really romantic. Clean and good rooms. its about 10-15mins walk from city centre. We enjoyed the walk as the weather as beautiful and you get to sink in the view as well. If you looking for something in the dead centre of city centre then novotel hotel is there. But i would stay here and definitely come back here again. They have washer and dry near each room which helps a lot. they have free parking which is helpful .

Room Tip: The hotel is about 1km from the city centre and restaurants so plan accordingly.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hm2852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Hi hm2852

I’m so pleased to read that Pounamu was everything you expected after reading reviews on Trip Advisor.

The red sunset tonight set the lake and mountains on fire .. stunning!!

We hope that you get to return and stay with us again sometime soon.

Cheers, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Was exactly what I saw on the website. Had a lovely warm welcome with wow!!! stunning views from the top apartment. One hiccup we had was sorted out with no trouble at all. Ro & staff are very helpful with booking day trips & advising great places to see. Can't wait to save more money to come back & stay at Pounamu again. Thanks for everything Ro we had a wonderful stay :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsxr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Thank you for your 5 star feedback and review mrsxr8. Yes hiccups do happen at times, however the focus is to fix them immediately, which we strive to do.

We look forward to your return in the near future.. and don’t forget you save by booking direct with us at Pounamu. Check out the Special offers on our website.

Cheers, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Fantastic place to stay.
Close to CBD of Queenstown.
Immcaulate apartments and really friendly staff.
Make sure you book some time in the spa overlooking The Remarkable Mountain range... a million dollar experience.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs apartment, it has the best views of the lake and surrounding areas. Just be read...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bentleigh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Hi Bentleigh2014

Hmmm the Outside Spa, overlooking the mountains and lake, and today the peaks are covered in snow.. a million dollar experience – I have to agree with you!

I’m pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Pounamu and got to relax in the outside Spa – it is yummy isn’t it .. and all free 

We look forward to your return.

Cheers, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed with teens through our holiday club scheme. We got a superb 2 bedroom apartment overlooking the lake and mountains. Wow what a stunning view.
We had 2 extras stay in a studio which was actually the back half if an apartment with a door locked in between. No views at all for studios but nicely lit through north windows. They enjoyed a little mini kitchen bathroom and 2 single beds with a little table . Small but fine for 2 blokes. They hung out in our big apartment during the day so only slept there.
There is some street noise in big apartments if it is very quiet in the lounge but minimal noise once you went into bedroom away from road.

Full kitchen was a plus with all extras such as tea coffee, a milk to start you off with. Also had tea towels, dishwasher and laundry wash powder, very convenient. It's a 15 min brisk walk into town. A beautiful lake walk with a hidden entrance just infront and across road of the main pounamu sign. Highly recommended . Usually holiday club apartments can be the worst apartment in a complex but this one is just as superior as the others. Well done Pounamu.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Robs014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Thank you for your review on Pounamu Apartments Robs014.

Your words sum up the spectacular views from Pounamu “WOW” .. and today we have snow on the mountains and The Remarkables – stunning!

Thank you Rob, for staying with us and for such a wonderful review.

Don’t forget that as a returning guest, you will want to check out our Special Offers on our Website before booking.

Cheers, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We were a group of four and rented a two bedroom apartment at Pounamu in April 2014. Our stay was incredibly pleasing. The apartments were immaculate; very modern; excellent location; extremely comfortable bedding, bathrooms, kitchen area and family area; and BEAUTIFUL VIEWS to the lake and mountains!! On top of this, the service was just impeccable, Ro the Marketing Manager went above and beyond to satisfy all our requests and needs, and what not! She had excellent recommendations for everything from tourism, food and adventures! She even delighted us with a parting gift, which was absolutely lovely from her! We actually stayed at another highly recommended hotel at Queenstown and preferred Pounamu over it without a doubt! If I return to Queenstown will definitely stay here again!!!
Thanks Ro!!
Canals & Medina Families!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with lake views! It's worth the upgrade!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ninette0937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Hi Canals & Medina Families
Thank you for your amazing 5***** review. I’m rapt that you and your family enjoyed Queenstown and staying here at Pounamu.

We love making Guests our number 1 priority. Creating the perfect holiday is our aim. I’m rapt to read you loved your stay here at Pounamu.

We hope to see you again sometime soon. Don’t forget our special offer for returning Guests.

Cheers Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.9 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
1.0 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
2.7 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 57 in Queenstown
1,466 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 57 in Queenstown
3,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pounamu Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pounamu Apartments

Address: Pounamu Apartments 110 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Business Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $167 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pounamu Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers' Choice(R) 2015 Winner - Voted #3 in New Zealand. Relax in style and soak up the spectacular views of Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables in our 1 or 2 bedroom spacious, self-contained or serviced Apartments. Each Apartment has an open plan lounge, dining and full kitchen facilities, gas fire, under-floor heating, Sky TV, ensuite bathroom with shared laundry amenities. A separate office area with computer/printer/fax. Our Studio Rooms are similar to small hotel rooms with kitchenette and ensuite bathroom (NO Views). Facilities include FREE unlimited Wi-Fi Internet and FREE local calls. Complimentary secure under cover Car Park with Ski/Golf Locker, BBQ area and outside Spa Pool. We also have a "Pet Friendly" Apartment. Sleeping configuration King Beds. Single beds can be requested at the time of your booking. Just a 10 min walk to Queenstown town centre and approx 20 min drive to the ski fields makes these beautifully appointed Apartments a must for your stay.Enquire about special seasonal rates and tempting promotional offers, and at Pounamu Apartments, be assured of a warm, welcoming visit to this 'Remarkable' region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pounamu Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pounamu Apartments Queenstown
Pounamu Apartments Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing