We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home away from home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pounamu Apartments

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Pounamu Apartments
Ranked #14 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A home away from home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Our first family visit to Queenstown, and staying at the Pounamu Apartments made the trip a highly enjoyable one.

The facilities were extremely high quality - modern, so clean and every detail covered. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment - 2 bathrooms, fully equipped kitchen and laundry made life so much easier with 2 young kids. TV's in every room, including a large screen in the lounge, that included sound system, DVD player, SKY TV. Free internet worked like a charm, able to connect multiple devices, and the USB chargers built into the power points were an awesome touch.
There is also a small playground for kids which was great, and a bookable BBQ area (complete with BBQ and table - we didn't get around to doing this, but it looked good!).
Free parking undercover too!

The team at Pounamu could not do enough to please. Leo and Priscilla were very welcoming and they obviously worked very hard to maintain the facilities and keep their guests happy. Trevor the groundsman was a character and had a laugh with the kids.
The Marketing Manager, Rowena, in particular was a star (although she looked to be a jack of all trades - doing something of everything, including answering phones, running reception and attending to any and every guest rerquest). So bubbly and positive, nothing was a problem. Always on hand, very responsive, did everything she said she would do, and super efficient. She was very knowledgable on all the restaurants and attractions in Queenstown, and made several great recommendations - including lots of handy tips and tricks :-)
Rowena booked all of our activities for us - jetboating, gondola etc, as well as all of our restaurants for dinners (Pounamu do not charge for this, which is great, and in fact we received a complimentary bottle of wine after we had made a couple of activity bookings of a certain value - an unexpected treat!). We also saved even more money as she secured a number of deals for us due to her extensive knowledge and contacts.

Overall I could not fault this place. It was a great base for us to head out every day (only a 2 min drive from town), and a welcoming and familiar place to come back to every night. Thanks Pounamu!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Hi Mike P
Thank you for your overwhelming review. I’m rapt that you and your family enjoyed Queenstown and staying here at Pounamu. You certainly packed in alot of fun activities.

Taking care of our guests is what we love doing. We hope to see you again sometime soon.

Cheers, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    918
    282
    85
    29
    26
See reviews for
263
793
46
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We had a wonderful 8 night stay at Pounamu Apartments in Queenstown for our 30th wedding anniversary. The views from our apartment were sensational and the apartment was brilliant - clean, great facilites, lots of extras and the managing staff were so helpful an attentive.

The apartment itself was so comfortable with eveything you could wish for in a home from home fire-place, laundry, DVD, full kitchen, etc.

We will definitely be returning to stay at Pounamu when we next visit Queenstown and we heartily reccommend it to those who like to self cater and stay in a lovely luxurious and beautiful location.

Room Tip: Talk to the ladies in the office, they are fantastic and nothing is too much trouble.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Hi Allan J

We’re so pleased that you chose to celebrate your 30th Wedding Anniversary at Pounamu Apartments in Queenstown. Thank you for your rave review, the team was rapt to see your lovely feedback. We really appreciate you taking the time to write your review.

We look forward to the opportunity to help plan your next holiday. Check out our Special offer in May with Stay 4 nights and only pay for 3 nights.

Cheers Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

There were four of us travelling and we decided to upgrade from two studios to a two bedroom apartment overlooking the lake. One of the best decisions of the trip! The two bedroom apartment was finished to a very high standard with great laundry facilities and it came with the most incredible views of the lake. Free parking and great staff made Queenstown one of the highlights of the trip!
The Pounamu Apartments are about 1km from the town centre no more than a 15 minute walk. Really well positioned as parking can be limited in Queenstown itself.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank philipsmansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Hi Philipsmansfield

Thank you for your glowing review. I’m rapt to read that our great team and amenities at Pounamu were some of the highlights of your trip.

You made a excellent decision in upgrading from 2 Studio Rooms to a 2 BRM Apartment with all bells and whistles and incredible views.

We hope to see you again sometime soon.

Cheers, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

After reading such glowing reviews on Trip Advisor we booked into a one bedroom apartment at Pounamu Apartments for a week. Don't get me wrong, there were some wonderful positives to our stay but unfortunately there were also some significant negatives I can't overlook. These negatives would influence me to look elsewhere for accommodation rather than returning.
Pros: Very friendly and helpful staff with great recommendations for tours and local restaurants. Magnificent views over the lake to the mountains. Comfortable bed. Well supplied kitchen. Free wifi.
Cons: We could hear conversations from the adjoining studio room so we figured they would also be able to hear us, also the noise from the road kept us awake some nights. There are small, high windows to the bedroom with no coverings to stop the street light shining in at night. The bedroom felt airless, the only solution was to leave the louvres to the living area open to allow air flow from the cooler but this also let the light in. The hand basin in our bathroom didn't drain properly and even though this was reported it wasn't fixed. We slept in one morning wanting a lazy day but when we went to have a shower mid morning there was no hot water. When we contacted reception we were told the hot water had been turned off due to a cracked pipe. I understand that these things happen but when they do guests should be contacted with an apology and offered alternative arrangements. We had to request that alternative arrangements be made for us to have showers.
I am not saying I would never return to Pounamu Apartments but as the spectacular view was the main highlight and this could be found at numerous other establishments I would probably book elsewhere.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Aussiewithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Aussiewithkids

Thank you for your feedback. I was disappointed to read how we failed to meet your expectations and that some of the amenities didn't meet your needs. Rest assured this is not indicative of the service levels we strive to deliver.

We go all out to give our guests a truly exceptional stay and at times we get it wrong. I apologise that the experience was not as good as you would expect.

I have reviewed and shared your feedback with the team to ensure we adhere to the service levels and deliver a quality, consistent experience.

If you are visiting again please let us know and we will ensure we make up for the previous experience.

Kind regards, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

I was celebrating my 50th birthday and wanted to stay somewhere special.I booked into the Pounamu Apartments as I was advised by a colleague at work to try here. I was certainly not disappointed. From the moment I arrived I felt welcomed by the staff, who were very attentive and helpful.Maps and information regarding Queenstown were supplied, and also excursions were offered, but not forced upon me.The apartment was AMAZING!!!The views were spectacular, to say the least, and the ambience of the whole place, although its next to the busy Queenstown road, was one of calm and relaxation.The huge bed, with its crisp white linen, meant that it was first time in absolute ages that I've actually had a good nights sleep, without tossing and turning, trying to get comfy.Everything is catered for in the apartment, and nothing is too much trouble for the staff.I was really sad to leave here.Can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: Go for the apartments, not the studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Hi Patricia

We’re so pleased that you chose Pounamu Apartments to celebrate your 50th Birthday and found the amenities to be amazing. We pride ourselves on offering spectacular views and I have to agree with you, relaxing it is! I have passed on your feedback to the team.

We would love you to return and stay with us. As a return guest, when you email, let us know so that we can offer you our “Return Guest” offer.

Kind regards, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkenberg
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for four nights in a two bedroom apartment. Everything about this place is top notch. From waking up to spectacular views to their quality toiletries. When we had questions about the area they had all the answers. No detail is forgotten about and they are happy to hear your feedback for potential improvements. Just loved our stay. No other hotel on our trip has compared. Thank you!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank contactmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Hi contactmagic

Thank you for your marvellous review! We’re so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Pounamu and the amenities that we offer.

The team appreciate your positive feedback and thoroughly enjoy taking care of our guests.

We hope to see you again sometime soon.

Cheers, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the studio room. We knew from the booking that it was a small room but as we arrived in Queenstown for outdoor activities, this was fine with us. While the room was small, it was new and well-appointed and had all the amenities we needed. The bathroom was nice, the beds were very comfortable, the internet was free and unlimited, and the kitchenette had what we needed for a few days. It was close enough to the city center to walk to most places. We had a car, but did not use it much when just tackling activities in the city.

We were disappointed that the room was not serviced daily - they insisted that this was in the booking info but I did not see that. They offered that we could wash our own linens/towels but we also had a second set in the closet as well. We did not need more than that. And we actually used the washer to do some of our own laundry from a long trip, so that was nice to have.

The staff was all friendly to us, and even held our room for us when we did an overnight in Milford Sound so we could leave the majority of our things at the apartment and take with us to Milford only what we needed for one night.

I would recommend to friends traveling in the area, but would be very clear that this is an apartment, not a hotel, so to not expect the amenities of a hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siebe, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Hi Julie

Thank you for your review. I pleased to see that you enjoyed staying in the Studio Room. These are our entry level and are like a small hotel room (no views) with a small kitchenette. Next time you stay you may want to relax in our Apartments with the amazing lake and mountain views!

In regards to servicing rooms, one of the amenities that our Guests enjoy about Pounamu is that rooms are “self catering”, creating the home away from home environment with daily servicing an optional extra. We understand though, that this is not for everyone. I’m sorry that this was not picked up during the booking and confirmation process.

Great to hear that you enjoyed your trip to Milford and that you were happy that we held your room overnight (at no charge) whilst you were away. It’s a service we offer when possible, but not always available due to being booked up.

Once again thank you for your review and I do hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back and stay in an Apartment.

Kind regards, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.8 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
2.7 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,000 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pounamu Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pounamu Apartments

Property: Pounamu Apartments
Address: Pounamu Apartments 110 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pounamu Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers' Choice(R) 2015 Winner - Voted #3 in New Zealand. Relax in style and soak up the spectacular views of Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables in our 1 or 2 bedroom spacious, self-contained or serviced Apartments. Each Apartment has an open plan lounge, dining and full kitchen facilities, gas fire, under-floor heating, Sky TV, ensuite bathroom with shared laundry amenities. A separate office area with computer/printer/fax. Our Studio Rooms are similar to small hotel rooms with kitchenette and ensuite bathroom (NO Views). Facilities include FREE unlimited Wi-Fi Internet and FREE local calls. Complimentary secure under cover Car Park with Ski/Golf Locker, BBQ area and outside Spa Pool. We also have a "Pet Friendly" Apartment. Sleeping configuration King Beds. Single beds can be requested at the time of your booking. Just a 10 min walk to Queenstown town centre and approx 20 min drive to the ski fields makes these beautifully appointed Apartments a must for your stay.Enquire about special seasonal rates and tempting promotional offers, and at Pounamu Apartments, be assured of a warm, welcoming visit to this 'Remarkable' region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Pounamu Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pounamu Apartments Queenstown
Pounamu Apartments Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing