We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”
Review of Pounamu Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pounamu Apartments
Ranked #11 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for a few nights.
Really nice beds. Amazing views even from the bedroom.
Nice tv and stereo. Everything you need is there.
Service was really really good. They had good tips for where to go for dinner etc.
A 5 min walk to Queenstown hill with really nice views of the town.
When I go back to Queenstown this is the place I would stay at.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank ANDYKLINTBOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PounamuApartments, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Hi Andyklintbom

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are well known for our comfy beds with duck toppers – hmmmm like sleeping on a cloud!

Some of our guests have commented that Pounamu is like “home away from home”, so thank you for your lovely feedback. And tip for trips and restaurants, we certainly know all the hot spots in Queenstown!

We would love you to return and stay with us. As a return guest, when you email us, let us know so that we can offer you our “Return Guest” offer.

Cheers, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,403)
There are newer reviews for Pounamu Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

787 - 793 of 1,403 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed in a two-bedroom apartment and were so impressed with everything. The uninterrupted view of the lake was stunning as was the apartment. Both bedrooms had well-stocked ensuites and comfortable beds. The office would have been beneficial if we had stayed longer. We particularly appreciated the help given by the staff in booking our activities. Free wifi was a nice bonus. If it fits your budget then it is absolutely worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PounamuApartments, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Hi Ann R

Thank you for your amazing review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and Trip Advisor reviewers. It’s great to hear that the Free Wi-fi was a nice bonus. I must admit we don’t know of many other establishments that offer free Wi-fi with 4 log-in/passwords per bedroom, not to mention free local calls and free car parking .. but now I’m bragging.

We look forward to seeing you, maybe in Winter? Check out our Website for Special Offers, and don’t forget as a returning guest, booking direct with us will also receive a “Loyalty Gift”.

Cheers, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We've stayed at Pounamu Apartments for 2 nights with another couple and very enjoyed our stay. 2 bedroom apartment was perfect for 2 couples travelling together. Both bedrooms had very comfy king beds and we even were asked if we prefer firm beds on arrival, so they changed them for us which was very awesome as we hate soft beds.

Full kitchen and washing machine were a great addition to our stay. We felt really like home (I wish we had the same view at home :) ).

Service was great, very welcoming and helpful. They've booked a jetboat for us and we've been given a bottle of wine as a compliment for booking through them. What a nice touch!

The only issue we had is our very loud Chinese neighbors that were smoking outside at night and all the smoke came through the slightly open window to our bedroom.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OlgaFranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PounamuApartments, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Hi Olga, thank you for your feedback. We’re so pleased that you and your friends enjoyed your stay at Pounamu.

We pride ourselves on actually not just knowing, but having been on most of the trips and activities we can actually say “we are the experts” when it comes to booking trips and helping you to choose the right activity. It’s important to us that your holiday is full of fond memories of Queenstown.

I’m very disappointed to read that guests were smoking outside the Apartment, when we are very particular in asking guests to be courteous and to smoke at only the designated areas. A reminder to all of our guests that a phone call to Reception, will allow us to quickly rectify any issues.

Once again, our sincere apologies and hope that if you return to Pounamu again that you will allow us to take care of you.

Kind regards, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Loved this place. Lots of space, amazing views from the living room and bedroom and the electric fireplace to warm and dry you after a winters day on the mountain is just perfect. Staff were lovely. It is a little bit of a walk to town but not too bad and there is a bus stop near by if need be.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PounamuApartments, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Hi C D

Thank you for your review C D. We’re so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

When I stay here, I put the fire on just for ambience - then relax back on the sofa with a Pinot and watch the sun set over the Remarkables and lake.

The 10 minute walk into town, down through the gardens can be off set with a $12 taxi ride after a lovely dinner at one of the fantastic restaurants in town.

Once again, thank you for staying with us at Pounamu.

Kind regards, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Make sure you pay for a view and you will not be disappointed. After staying in other apartments in Australia and New Zealand this is the best - everything is ultra clean, modern, comfortable, quiet. Staff were great - helped with anything and everything. If you read any bad reviews with picky comments ignore them. You will not find better accommodation and we are fussy. 10 minute walk to town on direct route or a leisurely and beautiful lakeside walk which takes longer but is peaceful and pretty. Yes there are stairs and upward climbs but hey you wanted a view right?

Room Tip: Ask for a view and you will get one!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janei63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PounamuApartments, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Hi Janei63

WOW thank you for your fantastic review!. The team appreciate your lovely feedback and thoroughly enjoy taking care of our guests!

That walk along the lakeside is spectacular, I agree - especially at sunset.

We look forward to your return sometime soon. And when you do, don’t forget to email the “returning guest” code to receive the loyalty guest special offer.

Kind regards,
Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

After booking elsewhere and discovering a place from hell we were so glad we found this place to stay in a two bed apartment
Ok, not the cheapest but very clean and modern.
Would we stay there again - yes

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macfod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PounamuApartments, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear Macfod

Thank you for the lovely review. As a 5 Star Qualmark rated property we pride ourselves on cleaniness, thank you.

I recall you having a rough start to your holiday. We are very pleased that we were able to turn things around to make your stay enjoyable.. we would love to see you again.

Check out the website for Special offers in May, 2014.

Cheers, Ro
Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I stayed with a friend in a 2 bedroom apartment for a week. The weather was not the best but the apartment was great. There is a fabulous view from the living room (and the front bedroom). All the comforts you could look for are in the apartment Large TV (and other TVs in each bedroom), DVD and amplifier with excellent surround sound. Fire for heating and air conditioners for cooling. It was very comfortable. The kitchen is not large but has what you need. The apartments are next to the main road but it was not too noisy and I slept well.

The staff are very welcoming and helpful. They sorted out our excursions and gave good advice about where to eat and where to go. It is a 10 minute walk into Queenstown, but it is a pretty walk overlooking the lake and the mountains beyond. The walk into town is downhill, so correspondingly…the walk back is uphill.

Queenstown is a friendly place and there is much to do - even when the weather closes in.

Room Tip: I expect all apartments have great views, but we were on the higher level and the views were superb.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PounamuApartments, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Hi MartinCanberra

Thank you for a great review. It is always nice to read guests enjoy being with us and that our team were welcoming and helpful.

As the “Adventure Capital of the World”, we pride ourselves on being “experts” on trips and restaurants and have certainly tried the majority and have are long list of favourites!

Why not check us out in Winter … it’s amazing!

Kind regards, Ro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.9 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
1.0 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
2.7 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#17 of 58 in Queenstown
1,466 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pounamu Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pounamu Apartments

Address: Pounamu Apartments 110 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Business Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $166 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pounamu Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers' Choice(R) 2015 Winner - Voted #3 in New Zealand. Relax in style and soak up the spectacular views of Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables in our 1 or 2 bedroom spacious, self-contained or serviced Apartments. Each Apartment has an open plan lounge, dining and full kitchen facilities, gas fire, under-floor heating, Sky TV, ensuite bathroom with shared laundry amenities. A separate office area with computer/printer/fax. Our Studio Rooms are similar to small hotel rooms with kitchenette and ensuite bathroom (NO Views). Facilities include FREE unlimited Wi-Fi Internet and FREE local calls. Complimentary secure under cover Car Park with Ski/Golf Locker, BBQ area and outside Spa Pool. We also have a "Pet Friendly" Apartment. Sleeping configuration King Beds. Single beds can be requested at the time of your booking. Just a 10 min walk to Queenstown town centre and approx 20 min drive to the ski fields makes these beautifully appointed Apartments a must for your stay.Enquire about special seasonal rates and tempting promotional offers, and at Pounamu Apartments, be assured of a warm, welcoming visit to this 'Remarkable' region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pounamu Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pounamu Apartments Queenstown
Pounamu Apartments Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing