We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Studio room was small but still a 5* experience”
Review of Pounamu Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pounamu Apartments
Ranked #11 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We opted for a studio because we knew we wouldn't have much time to stay at the hotel and enjoy the view. The plus side of not having a lake view meant that we weren't facing the main road, so we were able to enjoy quiet nights - very important for us, as we are light sleepers.

The room was small but big enough for the two of us. Everything was exceptionally clean and comfortable. It was also a quick 7-10 minute walk into downtown. The bus stops right outside for convenient and cheap airport transport.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emileeetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PounamuApartments, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear emileeetravels

Thank you for your review. Our Studio Rooms are our entry level room type and are ideal for guests passing through or are out and about all day and don’t spend much time in their room.

Our Housekeepers, take great pride in their work, thank you for the great feedback, which I will pass onto the team.

Kind regards
Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,403)
There are newer reviews for Pounamu Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

821 - 827 of 1,403 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

We loved staying at our 1 bedroom standard apartment at Pounamu - we'd definitely stay here again.

Pros: Huge space, includes a foyer area with washer, dryer, computer, and printer, bedroom with TV and attached bathroom, which overlooks the spacious living area with TV, fireplace, full kitchen, dishwasher, and beautiful views of Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkable Mountains.
Unlimited wifi for your laptop, as well as a computer attached to a printer in case you need it
Very clean space with modern furniture and decor
Friendly, concierge service - if you book activities through them over a certain amount, you'll get a free bottle of wine or box of chocolates. No fee to book these activities through them - we booked our Skippers Canyon Jet tour and Te Anau Glowworm Caves tour through them.

Cons: You do have to walk 10 minutes from Pounamu to get to Queenstown. This didn't bother us at all as it's not that far, and the walk itself is beautiful. Just FYI in case you're looking for something in close proximity to the main part of Queenstown.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emTel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PounamuApartments, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Dear emTel

Thank you for your wonderful review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed everything here at Pounamu. Creating special memories is what we are all about, including the spectacular views. I will share your feedback with the team as they are always rapt to hear how much guests have enjoyed their stay with us.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Unlimited internet access for no surcharge, a rarity in NZ! The bed was one of the most comfortable we had during our 3 weeks in NZ. We had originally booked 4 non-consecutive nights here over the course of a week, as we planned to be on Routeburn Track in the middle of the week. The hosts agreed to store our belongings at no extra charge the few days we were away. Everything was very clean, though it should be noted there is no “daily service” during your stay here. Free washer / dryer in common hallway shared with only one other unit was extremely beneficial, even the detergent was free. The hosts were also helpful in booking activities and offered a complimentary box of chocolates or champagne after booking some minimum amount through them – don’t recall the exact dollar amount, but it was easy to do as Queenstown is full of expensive adventures to enjoy. We had literally had nothing negative to say about Pounamu until after checkout. My wife added an extra day into the gap in the middle of the week after she decided she would not hike the entire Routeburn track. They were quite willing to accommodate as they were planning to have us in the same room before/after our Routeburn walk as no one had rented it in between. We were surprised to learn that the rate charged for that extra (Thurs)day was $175, significantly more than the rates for the surrounding days we’d originally booked – $118/night for the first three days and $135 for the following Friday. Since this was at least partially our fault for not confirming the rate, and the rest of our stay was so overwhelmingly positive, we will still rate as 5 stars.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctc10s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PounamuApartments, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear ctc 10s
Thank you for your feedback. I’m pleased to see that the duck toppers on your bed were comfortable and you enjoyed the amenities.

We do pride ourselves in accommodating our guest’s needs, in particular with guests taking short trips, where possible, we hold the room over and don’t charge for the room while you are away. However if guests change their plans and book an extra night/s we do need to charge for the room being used.

Our sincere apologies if we did not relay this information clearly to you. If you contact me directly I can review your account and check the details. If we have made an error we will certainly rectify this immediately. Please contact me at marketing@pounamuapartments.co.nz. I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,
Rowena Richards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one bedroom apartment here and the views are absolutely amazing! Very clean modern and open, And the balcony was our favorite part! Very convenient and close to town, it was a perfect place to wrap up our trip in New Zealand!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dconnaughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PounamuApartments, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dconnaughton

Thank you for your lovely comments about your recent stay at Pounamu Apartments. I’m so pleased you enjoyed the amazing views.

Once again, thank you for your wonderful feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

At the time of booking our room I had not read the reviews thoroughly and I now know that was a mistake.
Pounamu Apartments has many excellent reviews, and I'm sure that all of the rooms are clean and modern.... but please note, the studio rooms DO NOT have the views mentioned in reviews. After checking in at reception, a lady was quickly at our room to greet us and very quickly made the point of showing us the adjoining empty apartment with lovely views and informing us that we could upgrade for an extra $110 per night. We declined.

The studio room was very clean and the king size bed is comfortable with plenty of pillows to choose from for your desired firmness, very quiet airconditioner, and a small kitchenette. In the foyer to the apartment and studio is a cupboard containing a washing machine and drier. Our room faced out the back so road noise wasn't an issue, but it faced the afternoon sun and it would become very hot during the heat of summer without the airconditioner on. Pounamu is a short walk to the main shops, restaurants, and Lake Wakatipu but our elderly mothers struggled walking up the incline back.
The studio room was small and cramped, if you had two large suitcases and didn't want to unpack for a short stay before moving on, you would be struggling to place them within access without bumping/tripping over them.
I don't expect the bed to be made, floors washed/vacuumed, bin emptied and clean towels every day (daily servicing is an optional extra cost) but for the asking price of NZ$370 for 2 nights in a small cramped room without a view, I don't think it was to much asking for a couple of plain teabags for the second night, without the grumble from the manager that the place is self catering, as he grudgingly handed them over.

We have stayed in Queenstown before in hotel not as new, modern or close to town, it but $$ cheaper, with a much bigger room and lovely views of the lake and mountains.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, pay for the rooms overlooking the lake.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BriVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PounamuApartments, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Dear Bri Vic
Thank you for your feedback. We were pleased to read you enjoyed the comfort of our king size beds, however we are sorry to read that you did not enjoy the accommodation. You are correct in saying that the Studio Rooms DO NOT have lake and mountain views and are small (21sqm to be exact). We are very clear in our marketing of our property, stating that the Studio Rooms don’t have views and are like "small hotel rooms". Where availability allows we offer an opportunity to upgrade to a 1 BRM Apartment (74sqm), with spectacular views, especially if staying for longer stays. Our corporate guests find the Studio Rooms very comfortable.

We take your feedback seriously and strive to improve. I have shared your other comments with our team to ensure we continue to offer 5 Star service.

Once again thank you for your review and I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back and stay in a 1BRM apartment. Email me and I will organise a very good rate for you. marketing@pounamuapartments.co.nz

Kind regards, Ro
Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stayed at these apartments a couple of weeks ago. Although it was nice and clean, however, I had booked what is classed as a studio room. This room was very small, less than a size of a hotel room. I was there for 4 night and the room wasn't serviced. No where on the booking did it say un - serviced room. I was a little disappointed not have had clean towels, only to be told on check out there was some extra towels in the cupboard.
The gentleman showed me the full apartment which would have had a view over the lake. Now that was beautiful but expensive. The room at the front of the apartment was vacant at the time of our stay however, should somebody had booked that room, it would have meant we would have shared the same entrance to get to our room, and they would have had another door to go through to get to the front apartment. Strange set up.
To my mind the Studio room should be renamed, as its nothing like a studio at all, yes there is a sink and microwave, but a very, very small room. Would not recommend for 2 people

Room Tip: Full apartment if you can afford it
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PounamuApartments, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Dear Joyce T, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to read that you were not happy with your accommodation. As per our website, Studio Rooms are 21sqm and are like a small hotel room. At the time of receiving your booking, we send a confirmation email with information including a reminder that the rooms can be serviced upon request, however the On Line Agency you booked through does not send email addresses with bookings.

As rooms are self contained we offer 4 bath towels per room (2 in the wardrobe next to the robes) and full laundry facilities.

We take your feedback seriously. Be assured we strive to improve and I have shared your other comments with our team to ensure we continue to offer 5 Star service.

Once again thank you for your review and I do hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back and stay in a 1BRM Apartment. Email me at marketing@pounamuapartments.co.nz and I will organise a very good rate for you. Currently on our website we have a Special offer (to 12 December 2013) of “Stay 4 Nights & Pay for 3 Nights”, which makes it a very affordable holiday.


Kind regards, Ro

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Fantastic hotel with beautiful surroundings. Location is the only thing that isnt 5 stars about this place. But only a 10 minute walk to center of town (yes I timed it--and their is an annoyingly steep hill thrown in for good measure)

Rooms were spotless and tastefully decorated and cozy. The heated floors in the bathroom were a very nice touch. Wife and I were in a studio which was PLENTY of room for 2 people. Its the size of your basic hotel room anywhere in the world so not sure what the fuss is about the size or need for an upgrade.

Leo and his staff were wonderful. Brochures on every possible excursion can be found in the lobby. They can give you advice and help you book there so super convenient. You even get a box of chocolates if you book $250 worth of events. :)

Would highly recommend Hikari Sushi (takeaway) in the center of town--GOOD quality and very reasonable priced sushi. Ate there three times in 3 days! New Zealand is a place most people dont have time or desire to visit but it is well worth it. And this hotel is the perfect starting point for your adventure. Happy travels!

Room Tip: Studio is fine, no need to upgrade if just 2 people!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texastrojan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PounamuApartments, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Dear texastrojan

Thanks for a great review. I agree, we have the most beautiful surroundings. Located just a 10 minute walk into town, our guests love the location, but yes I agree, that hill on the way back is hard work.

I will pass your feedback onto our team. Once again thank you for your review on our Studio Rooms.

Kind regards, Ro
Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.9 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
1.0 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
2.7 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 58 in Queenstown
1,466 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pounamu Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pounamu Apartments

Address: Pounamu Apartments 110 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $166 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pounamu Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers' Choice(R) 2015 Winner - Voted #3 in New Zealand. Relax in style and soak up the spectacular views of Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables in our 1 or 2 bedroom spacious, self-contained or serviced Apartments. Each Apartment has an open plan lounge, dining and full kitchen facilities, gas fire, under-floor heating, Sky TV, ensuite bathroom with shared laundry amenities. A separate office area with computer/printer/fax. Our Studio Rooms are similar to small hotel rooms with kitchenette and ensuite bathroom (NO Views). Facilities include FREE unlimited Wi-Fi Internet and FREE local calls. Complimentary secure under cover Car Park with Ski/Golf Locker, BBQ area and outside Spa Pool. We also have a "Pet Friendly" Apartment. Sleeping configuration King Beds. Single beds can be requested at the time of your booking. Just a 10 min walk to Queenstown town centre and approx 20 min drive to the ski fields makes these beautifully appointed Apartments a must for your stay.Enquire about special seasonal rates and tempting promotional offers, and at Pounamu Apartments, be assured of a warm, welcoming visit to this 'Remarkable' region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pounamu Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pounamu Apartments Queenstown
Pounamu Apartments Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing