We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing apartments with stunning views...and conveniences of home.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
Ranked #11 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

We are SO glad that we stayed at the Pounamu Apartments! When we walked in to our 1 bed apt we were in awe at the gorgeous snow-capped mountain views surrounding Lake Wakatipu.

The family that runs the apartments is attentive and helpful. We ran out of ink in the printer, Glen came up with it that day. They even provided fresh milk for coffee upon arrival!

The 1beds and 2 beds Apartments all have lake and mt views I believe. Very modern and stylish, but really cozy! The stone fireplace adds such nice warmth. Kitchen is fully stocked so it's really like having your own place in Queenstown.

It is a good 10 min walk to town. But with mountain and lake views, was a nice stroll. Also, if you book rooms or tours directly with Pounamu, they give nice presents like perfume and wine respectively.

Highly recommend this place, and also more value for money than staying directly in the center of town. Being able to prepare some meals and drinks in the comforts of your own apt makes the Queenstown experience more enjoyable (plus saves $$ with the high price of eating out in Queenstown)!

We'll be back at Pounamou for sure!



  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katietravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,428)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

857 - 863 of 1,428 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

I use to live in this flat for about 3 months and it was really enjoyable. Great view over the Wakatipu lake. The lounge is huge with nice tv and hometheater. The fireplace is by gas witch can cost quite expencive at the end of the mounth. It is a two bedroom flat, with two bathrooms too. Nice to share with friends!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We have just spent a fantastic week staying at Pounamu in a two bedroom apartment.

Rowena, Priscilla and Leo were so helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
We can't wait to return, repeat and pursue new Queenstown adventures with Pounamu as our base.

During our time staying at Pounamu, we did the fly-cruise-fly to Milford Sound, took a helicopter flight and landed on a mountain with snow so our son could play and experience snow for the first time; sailed on the coal-fired steamship TSS-Earnslaw and had lunch at Walter Peak sheep station (great for children); enjoyed well-deserved massages with Daniel of The Mobile Massage Company Queenstown (recommended by Rowena)and dined at Pier 19 and Gantleys whilst our son was entertained/wrangled by Zoe of Babysitting Queenstown.

All booked and sorted thru Pounamu – even cabs for transport etc – nothing was too much trouble.

The Apartments are well appointed ( microwave, cooktop and dishwasher plus plenty of utensils ) so you can cook as well as a washing machine and dryer ( invaluable with an active four year old ! ).

The gas fireplace was terrific and really heated the apartment quickly; its good to set the timer so when you come back in from a days adventuring and the temperature outside has dropped you can come home to a warm and inviting apartment.

Last but not least, the views were amazing – nothing like waking up to a stunning lake view and releaxing at the end of a busy day with glass of wine watching the changing landscape ( and frequently changing mountain weather ... )

Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We fell in love with both Queenstown and our Pounamu Apartment.

From our first contact with Rowena we received first-class, friendly service. After our flight was diverted to Christchurch our arrival time ended up being almost 10pm - Rowena was there to greet us with a smile and had us checked in to our warm, toasty room before we knew it.

Pay for the apartments with the view, it is SO worth it. We literally spent hours looking outside. Our room was a Premium One Bedroom Apartment, the entry/hidden laundry is shared with the studio apartment but your space is completely private once you're through the interior door. The studio was only occupied for 2 nights of our 7 night stay but we didn't encounter the guest(s) at all.

The kitchen has everything you need but it's only a $9-11 cab ride or 10 minute walk (with a hill) into town should you want to eat out. Several restaurants deliver, too. If you get a craving for a sweet treat late at night there's a handy vending machine in the car park.

The spa is fantastic to defrost in after a day on the slopes so make sure to reserve your session (45 minutes) before you leave.

Yes, the Apartments look over a main road to the lakes, rivers and mountains but so do a million other accommodation venues in Queenstown and very few of them offer the views that Pounamu does. Traffic noise was not an issue for us at all but if you're a bit of a nudist you might want to keep the shades drawn as pedestrians are common on Frankton Road.

We will be back.

Room Tip: The Premium Apartments are worth the extra cost. It's all about the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ComplicatedOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Chose this place to stay as i was after a 'fancy' place to stay for an anniversary weekend and Pounamu was perfect!! Excellent view, close enough to town to grab food and walk back through the gardens. Had one small issue with the breakfast basket but was resolved so easily and the staff were lovely! Massive tv and gas fireplace for a romantic movie night so was absolutely ideal! would love to go back again next year

Room Tip: Premiere suite is worth the extra dollars! just lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Cannot fault our stay at Pounamu Apartments. Location! Spotless! Romantic! Relaxing! Everything you could want in an apartment. The bed was wonderfully comfortable. The kitchen was perfectly equipped. The fireplace was exactly what we needed after a day on the snow. We loved every minute of our stay here.

Room Tip: Grab an apartment with a lake view - it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NadiaC1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We will definitely come back. This was a spontaneous visit to Queenstown for our 40th wedding anniversary. We got a great deal 4 nights for the price of 3. Our one bedroom apartment overlooked the road and although it is busy we were not disturbed at all by this. Completely fabulous amenities & lovely to stay in. Great bed. Sky TV - multi channels. Rowena the apartment Manager, was so helpful & friendly. A bottle of wine was waiting for us when we arrived & complimentary chocolates.
Great location. 10 minute walk to town, except we chose to walk the long way around the lake shore. Handy for bus & shuttle pickups.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
2.7 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.8 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
3,231 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown

Address: 110 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Pounamu Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $166 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers' Choice(R) 2015 Winner - Voted #3 in New Zealand. Relax in style and soak up the spectacular views of Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables in our 1 or 2 bedroom spacious, self-contained or serviced Apartments. Each Apartment has an open plan lounge, dining and full kitchen facilities, gas fire, under-floor heating, Sky TV, ensuite bathroom with shared laundry amenities. A separate office area with computer/printer/fax. Our Studio Rooms are similar to small hotel rooms with kitchenette and ensuite bathroom (NO Views). Facilities include FREE unlimited Wi-Fi Internet and FREE local calls. Complimentary secure under cover Car Park with Ski/Golf Locker, BBQ area and outside Spa Pool. We also have a "Pet Friendly" Apartment. Sleeping configuration King Beds. Single beds can be requested at the time of your booking. Just a 10 min walk to Queenstown town centre and approx 20 min drive to the ski fields makes these beautifully appointed Apartments a must for your stay.Enquire about special seasonal rates and tempting promotional offers, and at Pounamu Apartments, be assured of a warm, welcoming visit to this 'Remarkable' region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pounamu Apartments Queenstown
Pounamu Apartments Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing