We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
Ranked #13 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Pounamu apartments was by far the nicest place we have ever stayed at, anywhere in the world. Rowena "Ro" recommended a one-bedroom apartment overlooking Lake Wakatipu and snow-capped mountains. It had a fireplace in the living room, and the apartment had floor-to-ceiling glass windows that looked out to the most stunning views. The staff were so friendly, couldn't help enough and even sent perfume and chocolates to the room when they found out it was my birthday. I normally like trying out new places but will definitely return to Pounamu. Absolutely wonderful!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlemisshungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

894 - 900 of 1,450 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had the 2 bedroom pet friendly apartment which was right next to a small fenced outdoor dog exercise area even supplied with water and poo bags, and the dogs were allowed inside the unit - was perfect! Apartment was great but I agree with previous comment that the studio room alone is dark and without views so pay the extra for a 2 bedroom and you'll be very pleased you did - definitely worth it! Very clean and no signs of previous dogs being there so highly recommended for those who travel with their pets.

Room Tip: as others have already said - get a 2 bedroom apartment so you have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RazzMarlborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Spent three nights at Pounamu Apartments in a two bedroom apartment. It was spotless, comfortable and extremely well equipped. Only complaint is the second bedroom (also booked by Pounamu as a studio apartment) is very small but the bed was comfy. So my advice is pay the extra, forget the studio, book an apartment because the views make up for the extra cost. The property manager Ro was very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the chocolates and definitely would go back there again.

Room Tip: Don't book a studio, pay the extra for an apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We were greeted on our arrival with fabulous smiles and nothing was to much trouble. After our first night we requested a twin studio room with a view-our original on did not any view-, the staff especially Rowena 'Ro', could not do enough for us and managed to change our room. It was absolutely wonderful waking each morning looking out at the magnificent Remarkables mountain range. Would recommend this accommodation to anyone staying in Queenstown. Thank you Ro and staff for your enthusiasm and commitment to your guests.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaylene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Couldn't have been happier with our stay at Pounamu.

We had a 1 bed apartment with Lake views. And what a view. Well worth the extra $ when the first thing you see in the morning is the stunning Remarkables as a backdrop to the eerily peaceful Lake Wakatipu. For the cold rainy nights there is a fireplace and plenty of DVDs to choose from. Just add wine.

When something goes wrong it's what a hotel does next that defines it. Our boiler broke on a cold Sunday afternoon but the team had us in another room for hot showers the next morning and later that day it was all fixed. Top job.

The staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for us. We were super organised and had booked most of our trips but the team will book for you if you need help.

If you can afford it do a helicopter flight with a glacier landing. Mind. Blown.

We also went to Doubtfull Sounds which was magnificent.

Next time we head to Queenstown we'll be staying at Pounamu.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GregBanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

OK it was my fault for not reading the fine print when I booked. Saw the price of $120 AUD per night I thought it would be good value based on the travelers photos here. When we arrive we were told what we booked for a studio apartment that turned out to be pretty small (my rough estimate would say this room is 3.5m by 3.5m? We were offered an upgrade to the apartment (As shown in most travelers photos) for $150 extra per night, making the accommodation circa $$270 per night. I thought it was too expensive so I didn't accept the offer straight away. 5 minutes later the gap became $140. And then another 5 minutes it became $130. Last time I came across business conduct like this was when I travelled to China last year(My girlfriend was with me the whole time and she thought this was rare in a first world country). We're told by apartment staff it's a 7 minute walk to town centre. To be safe I drove to town the next morning to see if its really a 7 minute walk. But I figured I had to be Usain Bolt to get to town on foot in that time.

What I liked about the place
1: Clean room, modern building & decor
2. Washing machine and drier for our use

What I didn't like about the place :
1. Unserviced apartments, which means they will only have a clean room with the supplies once (coffee, tea, shampoo, shower gel). And they will not make your room during your stay.
2. Unreliable hot water system. On Sunday the 8th September we were told the hot water system decided to take a break. So we walk to the next building to have a shower that night. Remember this is Queenstown in September, wasn't exactly pleasant temperature outside at night.
3. No view of the lake.

P.S. The first morning after we arrived my tyre was punctured through the side wall(5 minutes after we drove out from the apartment the tyre leaked all of its air.) Bridgestone guys told me that there was absolutely no way we would have made it to Queenstown from Christchurch with that nail in our tyre. $150. So be careful driving in&out of the apartment car park.

So if we ever coming back to Queenstown I will be looking to try something else for accommodation.

Room Tip: Pay top dollar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Fantastic property with an eye for the detail and wonderful spa.

Modern and very well maintained everything worked.

Had a great week and nothing was a problem and fantastic hosts.

Good location being close to town walkable or a cheap taxi fare.

If this property is on your radar run with it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan1161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
2.7 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
1 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 59 in Queenstown
3,277 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown

Address: 110 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Pounamu Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#11 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $186 - $477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers' Choice(R) 2015 Winner - Voted #3 in New Zealand. Relax in style and soak up the spectacular views of Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables in our 1 or 2 bedroom spacious, self-contained or serviced Apartments. Each Apartment has an open plan lounge, dining and full kitchen facilities, gas fire, under-floor heating, Sky TV, ensuite bathroom with shared laundry amenities. A separate office area with computer/printer/fax. Our Studio Rooms are similar to small hotel rooms with kitchenette and ensuite bathroom (NO Views). Facilities include FREE unlimited Wi-Fi Internet and FREE local calls. Complimentary secure under cover Car Park with Ski/Golf Locker, BBQ area and outside Spa Pool. We also have a "Pet Friendly" Apartment. Sleeping configuration King Beds. Single beds can be requested at the time of your booking. Just a 10 min walk to Queenstown town centre and approx 20 min drive to the ski fields makes these beautifully appointed Apartments a must for your stay.Enquire about special seasonal rates and tempting promotional offers, and at Pounamu Apartments, be assured of a warm, welcoming visit to this 'Remarkable' region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pounamu Apartments Queenstown
Pounamu Apartments Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing