We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fabulous experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pounamu Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pounamu Apartments
Ranked #13 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“fabulous experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We were greeted on our arrival with fabulous smiles and nothing was to much trouble. After our first night we requested a twin studio room with a view-our original on did not any view-, the staff especially Rowena 'Ro', could not do enough for us and managed to change our room. It was absolutely wonderful waking each morning looking out at the magnificent Remarkables mountain range. Would recommend this accommodation to anyone staying in Queenstown. Thank you Ro and staff for your enthusiasm and commitment to your guests.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaylene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    915
    281
    85
    29
    26
See reviews for
260
792
46
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Couldn't have been happier with our stay at Pounamu.

We had a 1 bed apartment with Lake views. And what a view. Well worth the extra $ when the first thing you see in the morning is the stunning Remarkables as a backdrop to the eerily peaceful Lake Wakatipu. For the cold rainy nights there is a fireplace and plenty of DVDs to choose from. Just add wine.

When something goes wrong it's what a hotel does next that defines it. Our boiler broke on a cold Sunday afternoon but the team had us in another room for hot showers the next morning and later that day it was all fixed. Top job.

The staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for us. We were super organised and had booked most of our trips but the team will book for you if you need help.

If you can afford it do a helicopter flight with a glacier landing. Mind. Blown.

We also went to Doubtfull Sounds which was magnificent.

Next time we head to Queenstown we'll be staying at Pounamu.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GregBanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

OK it was my fault for not reading the fine print when I booked. Saw the price of $120 AUD per night I thought it would be good value based on the travelers photos here. When we arrive we were told what we booked for a studio apartment that turned out to be pretty small (my rough estimate would say this room is 3.5m by 3.5m? We were offered an upgrade to the apartment (As shown in most travelers photos) for $150 extra per night, making the accommodation circa $$270 per night. I thought it was too expensive so I didn't accept the offer straight away. 5 minutes later the gap became $140. And then another 5 minutes it became $130. Last time I came across business conduct like this was when I travelled to China last year(My girlfriend was with me the whole time and she thought this was rare in a first world country). We're told by apartment staff it's a 7 minute walk to town centre. To be safe I drove to town the next morning to see if its really a 7 minute walk. But I figured I had to be Usain Bolt to get to town on foot in that time.

What I liked about the place
1: Clean room, modern building & decor
2. Washing machine and drier for our use

What I didn't like about the place :
1. Unserviced apartments, which means they will only have a clean room with the supplies once (coffee, tea, shampoo, shower gel). And they will not make your room during your stay.
2. Unreliable hot water system. On Sunday the 8th September we were told the hot water system decided to take a break. So we walk to the next building to have a shower that night. Remember this is Queenstown in September, wasn't exactly pleasant temperature outside at night.
3. No view of the lake.

P.S. The first morning after we arrived my tyre was punctured through the side wall(5 minutes after we drove out from the apartment the tyre leaked all of its air.) Bridgestone guys told me that there was absolutely no way we would have made it to Queenstown from Christchurch with that nail in our tyre. $150. So be careful driving in&out of the apartment car park.

So if we ever coming back to Queenstown I will be looking to try something else for accommodation.

Room Tip: Pay top dollar
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Fantastic property with an eye for the detail and wonderful spa.

Modern and very well maintained everything worked.

Had a great week and nothing was a problem and fantastic hosts.

Good location being close to town walkable or a cheap taxi fare.

If this property is on your radar run with it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan1161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed in the 1 Bedroom Premier Apartment. The view was amazing. The apartment is spacious, modern, clean and has everything you need. The staff were very helpful in booking our daily activities and proving recommendations. The apartments are an easy 10min walk to town centre. We will stay at Pounamu when we return to Queenstown.

Room Tip: Spend the money for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MirellaFis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at a few places around Queenstown and were happiest at the Pounamu Apartments. The studio rooms, while don't have a lake view, are great value, finished to a high quality and very clean. The apartments are an easy 5-10 min walk into town. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Odd numbered studios are on the upper floor and offer a little more privacy compared to the ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tez0003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just finished a week stay at Pounamu Apartments. Cannot speak highly enough of the staff, they are friendly and very helpful. The well maintained apartment is sleek and modern with a functional kitchen, computer and free wifi. Highly recommended and will revisit when back in Queenstown. Perfect for a couple.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chardies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.8 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
2.7 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,999 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
0.8 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pounamu Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pounamu Apartments

Property: Pounamu Apartments
Address: Pounamu Apartments 110 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#12 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pounamu Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers' Choice(R) 2015 Winner - Voted #3 in New Zealand. Relax in style and soak up the spectacular views of Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables in our 1 or 2 bedroom spacious, self-contained or serviced Apartments. Each Apartment has an open plan lounge, dining and full kitchen facilities, gas fire, under-floor heating, Sky TV, ensuite bathroom with shared laundry amenities. A separate office area with computer/printer/fax. Our Studio Rooms are similar to small hotel rooms with kitchenette and ensuite bathroom (NO Views). Facilities include FREE unlimited Wi-Fi Internet and FREE local calls. Complimentary secure under cover Car Park with Ski/Golf Locker, BBQ area and outside Spa Pool. We also have a "Pet Friendly" Apartment. Sleeping configuration King Beds. Single beds can be requested at the time of your booking. Just a 10 min walk to Queenstown town centre and approx 20 min drive to the ski fields makes these beautifully appointed Apartments a must for your stay.Enquire about special seasonal rates and tempting promotional offers, and at Pounamu Apartments, be assured of a warm, welcoming visit to this 'Remarkable' region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pounamu Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pounamu Apartments Queenstown
Pounamu Apartments Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing