We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great appartment with spectacular views!”
Review of Pounamu Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pounamu Apartments
Ranked #11 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great appartment with spectacular views!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed at Pounamu for a week in one bedroom apartment, and we really enjoyed it. Apartment itself is beautiful with modern facilities, and very clever design. You can enjoy the scenery from both living room and the bedroom. It was great to have full kitchen on those nights when you just wanted to stay in, and sit in front of the fire. Apartment even had a PC with a printer which usually you wouldn't need on holidays but actually turned out to be very handy, as it allowed us to make bookings online to activities and instantly print tickets.
Staff were also very helpful and accommodating, helping us with restaurant recommendations and bookings.
The only frustrating thing was that wifi could only be used on one device at a time, and in our days when you travel with smart phones, ipads, etc it was just not enough...
Overall, highly recommend this beautiful apartments to anyone who is visiting Queenstown.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lil_ruski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PounamuApartments, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear lil_ruski
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I was so pleased to read that you were able to enjoy the facilities we have available. With regards to the internet, each bedroom receives FREE Unlimited Wi-Fi internet with 2 logins (a 2 Brm Apartment has 4 logins). Next time you stay with us, please let us know at the time of check-in so we can organise extra logins for you. We are currently investigating fibre optic internet supply to enhance the speed by 10 fold, which will allow us to automatically issue 4 logins per bedroom.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    956
    289
    85
    29
    27
See reviews for
279
814
46
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We chose Pounamu as our HQ during a ski trip to Queenstown. We were not dissapointed by booking a 5 star apartment. The views were just amazing and we really loved coming home to our own kitchen and able to do laundry and take a bath in the oversized bath. Great recommendations on the ski hire with Snopro who come to your apartment and fit boots and pick up your skis in the locker upon completion. I kind of thought it was overkill to have to book for a two bedroom though since we were only travelling with our 4 year old daughter, but we did enjoy the space nonetheless. My only suggestion would be for Pounamu to add on a children under 5 booking option for the one bedroom. I saw that another guest had mentioned the same thing.
Only other recommendation is not to order the breakfast basket - not worth the money and would have been nicer if they included real orange juice instead of kids juicy juice boxes and fruit in syrup instead of fresh fruit.
We will definintely return on our next trip to Queenstown.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PounamuApartments, Public Relations Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Hi TC, Thank you for taking the time to send through your feedback. It was great to read how much you enjoyed coming home to your apartment, and yes I have to agree with you the views are amazing.

Pounamu Apartments is regulated to only allow 2 people per bedroom, unless the third person is under the age of 12 months at which time we are permitted to have 3 in the bedroom.

We appreciate that our guests have individual requirements, which we are more than happy to accommodate upon request. The current Continental Breakfast basket ($11.00) of packaged fruit juice, cereal, milk, fruit pottles, toast bread, butter, condiments and fresh fruit is something that we do change on a regular basis.

Thank you once again for your feedback, we look forward to your return visit with Pounamu Apartments.

Kind regards
Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Amazing, my partner and i stayed in a two bedroom Alpine Apartment, we were staying for 7 nights so I emailed and asked if there were any specials. Priscilla replied within the hour with an amazing deal. When we arrived at the apartments, we were gobsmacked by the views it was like stepping into a picture. The staff treated us magnificently, always happy and wanted to help. The apartment itself was very modern with full kitchen, living area was great, bedroom was spacious, it had everything. If we wanted to do activities the staff were happy to book on our behalf. This place was one of the highlights on our trip, recommend this to anyone. We'll be back

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomash909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2013

we've stayed for two nights and we have three kids ,they are age 4,6,7. So we've book two bedroom apartment . Because our youngest kid only 4 ,so I think it will be ok if she can sleep with us in the same bed. But after we arrival and we've been told it's not ok and we need to pay $179 per night to add up one studio.

It's family holiday and we want to sleep together in the same apartment . And now my hunsband need to sleep by himself to not-so-close-to -our -apartment studio alone.

I'd understand if they wanna charge extra kid fee ,it's ok I can pay for it .But pay $179 for a studio for extra person?? But anyway we did paid nearly $400 to get a studio but honestly , we didn't sleep that studio for any sec!!!

Tonight we are stay in Mt cook Hermitage hotel and they never ask us to pay extra kid fee ....

Room Tip: just remenber don't choose BLOCK 2 1B~~it's upstair of reception . Many guestes come and go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank min m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PounamuApartments, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you “minm561” for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Pounamu Apartments in Queenstown. At the time you made the booking through booking.com, the booking was confirmed for 4 adults, however at check-in it was for actually 2 adults and 3 children.

We understand that when making bookings through the internet, the process is not always easy to follow. If at the time the booking was made for 5 people we would have offered you an alternative option being Alpine Apartments which accommodates up to 6 people. At the time of check-in there was no availability (peak season) due to the property close to being fully booked, hence the only alternative was to offer you a Studio Room to accommodate for the extra person.

Apartment P2-1 is situated upstairs, with our Reception located down stairs. It is one of the popular apartments that Guests often return to stay in as the second bedroom also has a beautiful view of the lake and mountains from the bed.

Pounamu Apartments Terms and Conditions include Queenstown regulatory requirements of 2 people per Bedroom. Alpine Apartments can accommodate up to 6 people, which is part of our group. We hope that in the future you would return and we would be more than happy to book you into an Apartment to accommodate your family.

Kind regards,
Rowena Richards
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We loved our stay at Pounamu Apartments. We stayed there for five nights during our ski holiday. We found the apartment to be amazing. We had a one bedroom apartment, which over looked the lake and mountains, a view which we could not get enough of. The apartment had everything we needed and much more, plus many heating options which made for a very comfortable time during this very cold winter. The staff we super friendly and so helpful, recommending some great options for activities and also for our ski hire. We would highly recommend the Pounamu Apartments to anyone travelling to Queenstown. We will be staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kendall D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Five star apartment, we stayed in a 2 bedroom apt, with lake views. Well worth getting a lake view. Apartments are very well equipped kitchen, gorgeous gas fire, heating, fluffy robes and slippers, hairdryer. About a 10 min walk into town. Very helpful staff. Free wi-fi was an added bonus.

Room Tip: We chose a 2 bedroom with lake view, well worth it. The second bedroom was actually a studio apt wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clackmannan, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Wonderful apartments, well worth their 5 stars! We stayed in a one bedroom apartment with an amazing view of the lake and mountains from the balcony, lounge and bedroom! The apartment had everything you could possibly need-and more. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. I had originally booked a studio apartment, then later discovered that it did not come with a view (we had visited Queenstown before). However, on arrival we we were given the opportunity to upgrade which we did without hesitation. Well worth the extra money. The town was only a pleasant 10 minute walk away. We loved our trip to NZ, especially to Queenstown and especially the Pounamu Apartments.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HClacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.9 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
2.7 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pounamu Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pounamu Apartments

Property: Pounamu Apartments
Address: Pounamu Apartments 110 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pounamu Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers' Choice(R) 2015 Winner - Voted #3 in New Zealand. Relax in style and soak up the spectacular views of Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables in our 1 or 2 bedroom spacious, self-contained or serviced Apartments. Each Apartment has an open plan lounge, dining and full kitchen facilities, gas fire, under-floor heating, Sky TV, ensuite bathroom with shared laundry amenities. A separate office area with computer/printer/fax. Our Studio Rooms are similar to small hotel rooms with kitchenette and ensuite bathroom (NO Views). Facilities include FREE unlimited Wi-Fi Internet and FREE local calls. Complimentary secure under cover Car Park with Ski/Golf Locker, BBQ area and outside Spa Pool. We also have a "Pet Friendly" Apartment. Sleeping configuration King Beds. Single beds can be requested at the time of your booking. Just a 10 min walk to Queenstown town centre and approx 20 min drive to the ski fields makes these beautifully appointed Apartments a must for your stay.Enquire about special seasonal rates and tempting promotional offers, and at Pounamu Apartments, be assured of a warm, welcoming visit to this 'Remarkable' region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Pounamu Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pounamu Apartments Queenstown
Pounamu Apartments Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing