We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to base yourself”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
Ranked #14 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We rented a 1 bed upper floor apartment for 7 nights this March (2013). We wanted to have a rest from travelling, do washing etc as well as explore the area from a base.

We found the modern apartment very comfortable ( great bed!) and well equipped - towels, dressing gowns, computer, printer, dishwasher, washing machine,TV, video etc etc. Free wifi ( not always the case in NZ). Free parking under the apartments. We had a fantastic view over The Remarkables - we were in Block C ( there are three blocks) - relaxing with a drink on the balcony watching the sun go down was great. The staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. You can choose the level of servicing you want as well. And all a 10/15 minute walk from Queenstown centre.

Two downsides depending on your tolerance level - the apartments front the main road, so expect some road noise, but its not that bad! Our 1 bed apartment also had a studio apartment at its back facing into the site( once the second bedroom of the whole apartment I suspect) and so you share a joint front door/vestibule ( where the washing machine and tumbler drier are also located) , so depending who is next door may make for an interesting experience- i.e. if you have noisy neighbours you will notice. We didn't so we were OK.

However, overall I'd rate the apartments as a great place to stay and use as a base for exploring the area.

Room Tip: If you want a lake view avoid the studios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

939 - 945 of 1,450 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed at Pounamu in late March 2013 for about 5 days and it was the perfect place to call home while exploring Queenstown. From the time we made reservations via Skype, we knew that the staff was going to be friendly. It was amazing, though, how far they went out of their way to make our stay and our adventures memorable. We arrived late in the evening, but Leo and Renee were still very willing to figure out how they could help us get the most out of our short stay. They took it upon themselves to arrange a few excursions for us, which was a huge weight lifted off our shoulders.

The apartments are incredible. Very well done, extremely comfortable with all the amenities you could ask for on a vacation. The view off the balcony was stunning and served as a great backdrop to having a glass of wine (or two) in the evening while making dinner. We found that the walk into town was not bad at all, averaging about 10-12 minutes.

Looking back at our New Zealand trip, I wish we could've stayed at Pounamu and Queenstown the entire time. It was incredibly relaxing, memorable, and we felt at home. We would most definitely stay there again if/when we return to Queenstown.

Room Tip: The second story apartments have a balcony, while first floors have wall of windows. We stayed in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

These apartment are gorgeous. The view from them is absolutly stunning. Its one of the best that I have ever seen. Its only 5 mins from the main town. I would highly recommend them. They are so clean and tidy with lovely furnishings.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seychelles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We were here for two nights and wish it could have been more. We had a studio which (although lacking a lake view as we already knew) was clean, modern and very well appointed. The bathroom was especially nice and it ended up being the only bathroom on our tour to be photographed ! We had a parking space allocated in the basement car park. The staff were friendly and helpful and the walk into the centre of Queenstown is indeed only about 10 minutes.
We shall definitely return and I commend Pounamu to you unreservedly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Awesome accomodation in Queenstown - beautifully appointed and spacious rooms and incredible views. The staff were incredibly friendly, knowledgable and helpful. We stayed for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Queenstown and staying in this accommodation.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AkemiPhotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We chose the Pounamu Apartments from www.booking.com and could not have chosen better. The location is fantastic, in front of the lake and at a walking distance from the city centre. The accommodation is very comfortable and very well equipped. We have to recognise the service is excellent and our welcome was real warm and made us feel at home away from home. Bear in mind that we were on the other side of the world as we are Portuguese !!! New Zealand is such a nice country that we definitely would like to go back and one thing we are sure, if we go back to Queenstown we will choose the Pounamu Apartments again.

Room Tip: Location, comfort and service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lurdes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at Pounamu Apartments for 8 days over Easter. We had originally booked a studio, but were offered an upgrade to the self-contained 1 bedroom apartment. This was money well spent. The apartment was well appointed, with pretty much all you need to look after yourselves. The studio apartment would be way too small for more than a couple of nights. The staff and management were very helpful and gave advice on places to eat and handled bookings for us too. We would definitely stay here again. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Any of the one, or two bedroom apartments will give great views across Lake Wakatipu.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John_Carol_McGrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
2.7 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
1 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
3,280 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown

Address: 110 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Pounamu Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#12 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $186 - $478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers' Choice(R) 2015 Winner - Voted #3 in New Zealand. Relax in style and soak up the spectacular views of Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables in our 1 or 2 bedroom spacious, self-contained or serviced Apartments. Each Apartment has an open plan lounge, dining and full kitchen facilities, gas fire, under-floor heating, Sky TV, ensuite bathroom with shared laundry amenities. A separate office area with computer/printer/fax. Our Studio Rooms are similar to small hotel rooms with kitchenette and ensuite bathroom (NO Views). Facilities include FREE unlimited Wi-Fi Internet and FREE local calls. Complimentary secure under cover Car Park with Ski/Golf Locker, BBQ area and outside Spa Pool. We also have a "Pet Friendly" Apartment. Sleeping configuration King Beds. Single beds can be requested at the time of your booking. Just a 10 min walk to Queenstown town centre and approx 20 min drive to the ski fields makes these beautifully appointed Apartments a must for your stay.Enquire about special seasonal rates and tempting promotional offers, and at Pounamu Apartments, be assured of a warm, welcoming visit to this 'Remarkable' region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pounamu Apartments Queenstown
Pounamu Apartments Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing