We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pounamu Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pounamu Apartments
Ranked #13 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Relaxing Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

August 20012 was our second stay at Pounamu apartments. The in floor heating provides a warm and cosy enviroment to come home to at the end of each day. The video selection and access to free cable TV makes it a simple enterainment selection. The kitchen has adequate utensils to prepare a meal when you are eating in. The bedding is large and comfortabe. The views accross the lake to the Remarkables tops off the relaxation factor of the room.
The ski buses stop outside the door. It is only a short bus ride to the airport or the Remarkables Park shopping centre. Central Queenstown is only a short walk along Frankton rd or the scenic route along the edge of the lake.
The staff were helpful and friendly.
We will be back for another ten days next year, or maybe sooner.

Kevin H

Room Tip: Unit 7b had great views accross the lake and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    932
    286
    85
    29
    27
See reviews for
271
801
46
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

This was our 4th stay in Queenstown and we have stayed at the Pounamu Apartments everytime. They are ideally situated just 10 minutes out of town...close enough to walk to but out of the hustle and bustle. The views from the apartments are amazing but as they are situated on the main road the traffic noise can be bad at times. Overall the apartments are very comfortable to stay in with a lovely kitchen. It is great having two bedrooms and two bathrooms as well!! The staff are fantastic and booked any trip we decided to do and even helped us pick the best day weather wise for our trips.
Thank you Pounamu for another lovely relaxing 2 weeks of queenstown bliss!!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our first wedding anniversary. It couldn't have been better. Very spacious and comfortable apartment! Full kitchen facilities and in-room washer/dryer were a plus. We ended up spending a lot of time simply relaxing by the gas fire, enjoying the amazing views. Easy walking distance to the town centre when we wanted to go out. The staff were also very helpful and friendly in organising any activities. Would definietly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

My wife and I and our son and his wife stayed in a two bedroom apartment for 5 days and its was the perfect accommodation for our needs. Close to the centre of town 10 min walk around the lake to get there, views over the lake and the snow capped mountains. The apartment has a complete kitchen, log fire and floor heating. The staff were helpful and informative

Room Tip: lounge rooms without a balcony are larger and you would sit out there in winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

My partner and I stayed at pounamu apartments queenstown in August of 2012 for 10 days. We were attracted to pounamu due to the boutique set up, quality fit out, amazing views, self contained kitchenette and the size of the apartment. Most of the hotels closer to town offer 48sqm of living with no kitchen, dryer, washing machine and basic view. This apartment had so much to offer and with only a short stroll into the town about ten minutes and down hill the location was superb, the taxi ride home was only $8 nz so very cheap.
The staff were amazing and offered us great advice, especially Priscilla who informed us of skippers canyon jet boat tours and Botswana butchery fine dining restaurant, which were much to our delight, overall a ten out of ten, thank you Pounamu! Simone and brad

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank PerthSimoneperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed at Pounamu apartments for a skiing trip in August 2012, was extremely happy with our stay and would certainly stay here again for future visits to Queenstown. Stayed in a 1 bed apartment, absolute must, would say don’t go for the studio as the one bed is just stunning and the view is worth the extra money. Great size apartment, super view out to the Remarkables, under floor heating is lovely, and the gas fire provides the perfect atmosphere for lazing on the couch with a wine after a day of skiing.
Short walk to town around 10-15 mins down the road, or longer if you take the path along the lake which is stunning. Staff were super friendly (even contacting me after I had left my phone in the apartment after check out whoops!) There is under cover parking for the car and a ski locker available for use. All you need in the kitchen is there, plus laundry facilities too, comfy bed and couch, really can’t fault the apartment at all. We did get a ground floor apartment which does not have a balcony, but this wasn’t an issue for us in winter, maybe for a summer stay though it would be worth requesting that for sunset drink or dinner or the balcony. You can hear the traffic as it is on the main road but there is pretty much no traffic at night so it didn’t bother us at all at night. Over all great stay would be back for sure and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tiztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yowie Bay, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

These apartments are amazing, the views are amazing and we didn't want to leave. Situated about 10 minute walk to downtown Queenstown. The staff were friendly, great and very obliging. The beds were very comfortable and with the heated floors it was always nice coming back from the snowfields to warm our feet. We definitely will book again but next time for a bit longer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.9 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
2.7 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,028 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pounamu Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pounamu Apartments

Property: Pounamu Apartments
Address: Pounamu Apartments 110 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#12 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pounamu Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers' Choice(R) 2015 Winner - Voted #3 in New Zealand. Relax in style and soak up the spectacular views of Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables in our 1 or 2 bedroom spacious, self-contained or serviced Apartments. Each Apartment has an open plan lounge, dining and full kitchen facilities, gas fire, under-floor heating, Sky TV, ensuite bathroom with shared laundry amenities. A separate office area with computer/printer/fax. Our Studio Rooms are similar to small hotel rooms with kitchenette and ensuite bathroom (NO Views). Facilities include FREE unlimited Wi-Fi Internet and FREE local calls. Complimentary secure under cover Car Park with Ski/Golf Locker, BBQ area and outside Spa Pool. We also have a "Pet Friendly" Apartment. Sleeping configuration King Beds. Single beds can be requested at the time of your booking. Just a 10 min walk to Queenstown town centre and approx 20 min drive to the ski fields makes these beautifully appointed Apartments a must for your stay.Enquire about special seasonal rates and tempting promotional offers, and at Pounamu Apartments, be assured of a warm, welcoming visit to this 'Remarkable' region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pounamu Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pounamu Apartments Queenstown
Pounamu Apartments Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing