We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amity Lodge - look no further”
Review of Amity Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amity Lodge Motel
Ranked #25 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2010

Myself and two girlfriends stayed at the Amity Lodge for 8 nights in November and had the TIME OF OUR LIVES - it was so hard to leave. I'm quite well travelled and always look for four things when I'm booking accommodation - safety, cleanliness, location & value for money. I found Amity Lodge after doing considerable research and it ticked all the boxes. I wanted a small apartment over a cramped hotel room (we were very grateful for the extra space in the end!), it's only a 5 to 10 minute walk into town, the apartment was immactulately clean and it was excellent value for money. What's more - Jo and Doug are the loveliest people you'll meet and SO well informed - if you're stuck for ideas about what activities you should do, where you should eat etc. - they will help you out and then some! On our arrival, Jo spent considerable time annotating the map for us pointing everything out and we kept going back during our stay to ask her op inion on certain tours we were thinking about doing - she was always helpful and handled the bookings for us too.

If you choose this place, you will not regret it. As I say, I did considerable research before settling on Amity & can tell you that it's the best value for money you will come across. Another bonus I forgot to mention - if you bring a laptop, there's in room access to high speed internet for just $30 / 7 days.

I will definately be returning to Queenstown and will look no further for accommodation.

Thanks Jo & Doug !

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank _83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

446 - 452 of 482 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2010

I stayed with 3 friends in a 2 bedroom apartment at the Amity Lodge Motel. We stayed in Queenstown twice during our trip and originally had only planned to only stay at the Amity Lodge during for our first stay. However we were so impressed with the rooms, we changed our reservation to stay at the Amity Lodge again when we returned to Queenstown the following week.

The rooms were clean and appeared to be recently remodeled. We made use of their laundry facilities which included free detergent...how convenient!

The Amity Lodge is just a short walk (~5 min) to central Queenstown where there are plenty of bars and restaurants to enjoy.

I would recommend Amity Lodge to friends and family.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AK_kayaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2010

This motel was very basic and quite expensive for what you get (although for Queenstown prices, reasonably priced!). The rooms were quite cold too. Its about 10 mins walk to centre of Queenstown, so not a bad location. Staff were friendly.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Mitchi78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Amity Lodge was exactly what we needed for our week long stay in Queenstown and surprisingly the rooms and entire lodge were exactly as depicted on their web site.
We stayed in a 1 bed unit with our 11 yr old and never felt cramped. The bedroom offered a queen and single bed, both with plenty of bedding for cool nights and electric blankets if needed.
The lounge / kitchen area offered comfortable seating for all with a small but adequate kitchen area and a large flat screen TV.
The laundry room is a bonus when you've been on the road and the discreet washing line and pegs were very handy on dry blustery days.
Lovely views of the mountains and above the town centre so protected from the noise of the bars and restaurants around the Mall. Yes, Amity Lodge is up a fairly steep hill from town but this is Queenstown after all. Some of the priciest accommodations in town are at the top of heartbreaking hills and a walk after dinner might even be a good thing.
The owners could not have been friendlier or more helpful and we'd love to stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goldiegirlGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

We stayed for 7 nights in August and were very happy.
Great location-10 min walk to town. Close to the buses which go up to the ski fields. Very clean and the hosts were very welcoming. Good Heating. The furniture was a little dated but still in great condition. Would definitely stay again :-)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kath_218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Our family of 4 stayed for 4 nughts in September 2010. We found it to be comfortable,and the hosts very welcoming and happy to help with all of our enquiries and bookings for various activities. The view from the back window of our ground floor apartment was wonderful. It was a 10 minute walk into town (and 15 minutes back - up the hill!), so very conveniently located, but still in a quiet location.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tandar66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We recently stayed at Amity Lodge for 6 nights to go snowboarding in QTown and our experience there was really good... the hosts were really helpful, the accom was comfortable and it is in a GREAT location for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lawli83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Motel
Four Seasons Motel
#46 of 59 in Queenstown
95 reviews
0.5 mi away
Whistler Holiday Apartments
Whistler Holiday Apartments
#29 of 59 in Queenstown
294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Coronet View Accommodation
Coronet View Accommodation
#45 of 59 in Queenstown
139 reviews
1.3 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#21 of 59 in Queenstown
1,646 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amity Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amity Lodge Motel

Address: 7 Melbourne Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Price Range: $129 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amity Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for quality, comfort and friendliness during your stay in Queenstown, Amity Lodge is the place to stay. Our lovely spacious One and Two Bedroom Apartments cater for your every need.Sky TV,Free unlimited Wifi, kitchenette, free off street parking and just a 5 minute walk to town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amity Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing