We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but would not stay again”
Review of Amity Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amity Lodge Motel
Ranked #27 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2010

Fabulous location, and clean and comfortable motel. But do not stay here when they have full occupancy, because there is no hot water for showers or bath. We had a friendly and helpful welcome from the gentleman who greeted us, but a cold and insulting departure when we complained about the hot water. Little notes stuck all around motel warning of fee charged ($20) if you leave dishes not washed or cook fish, seafood or curry, for example, did not help. Also a note to say "Please restrict your shower time and do not use the spa bath". To be fair to them however, they did discount our nightly rate ($160 to $140) for the inconvenience of the hot water, after we complained. But the lady's attitude meant that we left feeling dejected and that we had just been insulted in a round-about way. Not good. Ruined the rest of our day!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ambermc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiggy10, Owner at Amity Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2010

We are pleased these guests found our units clean and comfortable.
The water problem occurred over the Easter Holiday break and was dealt with as soon as was possible.
As a precaution, a note was placed in all units to advise guests of this problem. Fortunately no other units were affected.
We are sorry our apologies, complimentary bottle of wine and discount had not been enough to compensate for the one night of inconvenience experienced by these guests.
We would like to assure everyone that this was a 'one off' occurrence, and that we strive to give good, friendly, quality service to all guests who stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
There are newer reviews for Amity Lodge Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

438 - 444 of 463 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2010

This motel is comfortable, very clean and managed by Doug and Jo who go out of their way to make you welcome and take care of your travel needs. We had a one bedroom appartment and stayed for three nights.
The beds were very comfortable and the linen of high quality. The bathroom was spacious and functional - bit of a step up/down into the bath/shower unit which might be a challenge to some less able. The kitchen had everything needed and the lounge was comfortable, the furniture was starting to date a bit but was still in good condition. A modern flat panel TV and the provision of separate soaps & shampoos for the bathroom rather than liquid soap would be my only recomendations. Overall a great place to stay and an easy walk to town.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pande67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

Stayed 5 nights in spacious,clean,comfortable,well-presented upstairs unit with superb views of mountains and gondola. It felt like "home from home" as soon as we entered the accommodation. Good location off main road - only 5 mins walk into town. Our hosts Doug and Jo were very friendly and most helpful in booking our activities.
As regular visitors to NZ, we will be visiting Queenstown again and will look no further than Amity Lodge Motel for our accommodation. We would certainly recommend it!
Thanks again Doug and Jo for a great stay.
Vaughan and Ruth Wellings.( UK).

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdoptedKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2010

We only stayed 2 nights at Amity Lodge Motel and wished we had more time to stay longer! Doug and Jo were so welcoming and friendly and were so helpful.. The studio, with seperate living room and kitchen area, was delightful, and spotlessly clean. Everything for a traveller had been thought of. Queenstown has a lot of accommodation but I think this is one of the best places that we have stayed, at a very reasonable price too.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glennsrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

The rooms were good value for money, quite spacey. A short uphill walk from town, but was a quiet location. The owner's were very accommodating to our needs. They let us leave our car at the motel while we went on a 3 day hike and did their best to accommodate us when we wanted to extend our stay with them. Z&J

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zgg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

Very friendly host, we arrived at 8.15pm, but he was still cheery. We had a 1 bedroom apartment, upstairs. Spacious lounge with good views, has a small balcony. The shower facilities could be a problem for the elderly, or not too tall. I'ts one large step up for man. Clean, quiet a short walk away from buzzing central Queenstown. If you're there on a Saturday there is a local craft market, not tacky.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zigzagMandurah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2010

The Amity is a very convenient, clean, and modern place to stay. Just a short walk to all the action on the waterfront. Our unit was roomy and tidy with comfortable beds, nice kitchen, bath, lounge, and deck. The managers were very friendly and helpful and laundry facilities were a nice touch for folks on a long trip. Free parking at your door, too. I will definitely stay ther again when in Queenstown.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USAProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 mi away
Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown
0.3 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
#7 of 58 in Queenstown
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hurley's of Queenstown
Hurley's of Queenstown
#31 of 58 in Queenstown
414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Motel
Four Seasons Motel
#43 of 58 in Queenstown
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexis Queenstown Motor Lodge and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amity Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amity Lodge Motel

Address: 7 Melbourne Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Price Range: $126 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amity Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for quality, comfort and friendliness during your stay in Queenstown, Amity Lodge is the place to stay. Our lovely spacious One and Two Bedroom Apartments cater for your every need.Sky TV,Free unlimited Wifi, kitchenette, free off street parking and just a 5 minute walk to town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Amity Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing