We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home”
Review of Amity Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amity Lodge Motel
Ranked #23 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Roseburg, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home away from Home”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Doug and Jo were very accommodating and made us feel welcome from the start. They held our luggage while we went on another excursion for 10 days. The hotel is very clean and quiet - and offers spectacular views from the deck!! We watched hang-gliders from the nearby mountain, and spectacular sunsets.
A large living room with kitchen and bedroom with ample room and two beds. It is a short walk to town and there is a hill (one block) which was actually nice for an after dinner walk!
We highly recommend this Motel - 5 star all the way!
Thanks to Doug and Jo for making our stay so comfortable!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in an upstairs room which afforded a great view - it was very clean and quiet and the kitc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rennie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    142
    23
    5
    0
See reviews for
103
243
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Good sized rooms, comfortable beds, kitchenette stocked with all the essentials, free wifi and sky television. Bit of a walk up a steep hill, but I like the exercise after consuming excess calories while on holidays. The owners are friendly and helpful. I would recommend this motel!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miss_spentyouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We had a very spacious apartment which was clean and well equipped. Doug the his wife, the owners, were very friendly and helpful, giving us tips of what to do and where to eat. We would definitely stay there again if we go back to Queenstown

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Janiandonley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

This is the second time we've reviewed this property, and it was just as good as last time. Doug and Jo are enthusiastic and welcoming hosts, and they gave us exactly the same apartment as we had requested. If you're a pet lover, you'll also get a warm welcome from Karla, their dog - but she may insist on you throwing her ball in return!

Room Tip: Two-bedroomed apartment particularly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Australophiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

A nice motel, in a good location. It was very clean, well equipped, and serviced each day. Washing machines and dryers were available at a small charge. We were a party of four, travelling with friends, and the two bedroomed apartment was ideal. The owner, Doug was very friendly and helpful. A short drive into the town, or a ten minute walk up a steep hill, which wasn't a problem to us.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Accommodation very clean and serviced daily. Well stocked with all crockery and linen and very useful laundry facilities. The owners were very friendly and always on hand to deal with any enquiries we had... . Location about a 10 minute walk out of the centre.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gavdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dittmer, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Just ended an extended stay in Queenstown, New Zealand! We stayed at Amity Lodge 10 years ago for a couple of nights and vowed we would return for a longer period. This time 40 days!Doug and Jo were outstanding hosts and our accomodation was outstanding. We had ample space in our apartment to rest and relax, do our own cooking. Very clean and very friendly staff made our stay a wonderful experience. Just a 10 minute walk to Town Center, eliminated the need for a rental car. In short, we loved it and will return someday for another visit to this wonderful area. Hint!! If you want a rental car, inquire with Doug about Phil's Car Rentals just down the street! We rented a car for 3 days, for $25/day to visit Arrowtown, Glenorchy, Wanaka and Kingston--beautiful places!

Room Tip: We opted for the second floor---a wonderful view of Gondola Hill!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 mi away
Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown
0.0 mi away
Hurley's of Queenstown
Hurley's of Queenstown
#31 of 58 in Queenstown
407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
#6 of 58 in Queenstown
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Motel
Four Seasons Motel
#43 of 58 in Queenstown
90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 58 in Queenstown
886 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexis Queenstown Motor Lodge and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amity Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amity Lodge Motel

Property: Amity Lodge Motel
Address: 7 Melbourne Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amity Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for quality, comfort and friendliness during your stay in Queenstown, Amity Lodge is the place to stay. Our lovely spacious One and Two Bedroom Apartments cater for your every need.Sky TV,Free unlimited Wifi, kitchenette, free off street parking and just a 5 minute walk to town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Amity Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing