We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay and our chats with the manager.”
Review of Amity Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amity Lodge Motel
Ranked #22 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay and our chats with the manager.”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Great for couples or small families, the location is great- close enough to the town center, but far enough away to have a quieter, residential feel. Well- appointed kitchen gives options to dine in. On site parking a bonus. Recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jinmansw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    140
    23
    5
    0
See reviews for
102
243
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is the second time my family have stayed here and we would go back again. Doug and Jo are great hosts. The motel is located just a short walk to the town center (there are some hills though!). Being close to town was important to us as we didn't want the hassle of taking the car into Queenstown as traffic and parking can be an issue. The motels are moderately priced, clean, tidy and functional. Probably more suited to the slightly older family as limited offerings for younger kids. The dog will never get tired of you throwing tennis balls for him though! :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 498ScottM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulsan, South Korea
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Located in the quieter motel / upscale apartment area southeast of downtown, off Stanley Street. There is a view of the Skyline Gondola and peak. The units are larger sized with big living/dining room, which is good compared to the tiny hotel rooms right in noisy downtown. It is super clean with great beds and a tub. Jo is so helpful with restaurant advice, airport transfers, etc. and gladly stored my suitcase in a locked storeroom between hikes. Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Red_Betty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Jo was very friendly we got a lot of help from her. Had a great apartment with a nice balcony attached to the room. Great view from the room as well. Very close to the city center - 5 mins walk to anything, adequate parking space.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Good spot handy to all Queenstown has to offer. Clean and tidy, had a 2 bed unit plenty off room for the kids. Owners very helpful about what to do and they put up with our daughter constantly throwing the ball for their dog. Poor dog would have been glad for us to go! Great recommendations about must do's.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank DebPe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were delighted with our accommodation, it was lovely to have a separate bedroom. The standard of the room was high, very clean and modern. The hosts were very friendly and helpful on arrival. We only had two nights but they pointed out things to do of interest. It was great to have off street parking as parking in town is limited. We didn't have a problem with the small hill back from town and walked in/out every time. We thought it was better to be slightly up the hill as there wasn't any traffic noise which you would definitely get one road closer to the town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timbermil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Large room with separate bedroom, good sized kitchen area, balcony with lovely mountain view. Room was clean and comfortable. Amity lodge is located a couple of small streets away from the main road into town which is quite a steep hill so if you have mobility issues you may struggle to walk into town but otherwise it is just a few minutes walk and you are right in the centre of everything. We walked for the exercise! in fact, we parked our car and didn't have to use it until we visited Arrowtown. Considering its close location to town, Amity Lodge was in a very quiet area. Would stay here again - highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogueOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 58 in Queenstown
872 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
#8 of 58 in Queenstown
423 reviews
0.5 mi away
Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,380 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
1,424 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bella Vista Queenstown
Bella Vista Queenstown
#10 of 58 in Queenstown
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amity Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amity Lodge Motel

Property: Amity Lodge Motel
Address: 7 Melbourne Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amity Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for quality, comfort and friendliness during your stay in Queenstown, Amity Lodge is the place to stay. Our lovely spacious One and Two Bedroom Apartments cater for your every need.Sky TV,Free unlimited Wifi, kitchenette, free off street parking and just a 5 minute walk to town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Amity Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing