We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roomy Apartment”
Review of Amity Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amity Lodge Motel
Ranked #22 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Roomy Apartment”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Our one bedroom was very roomy. Nice bedroom, comfortable lounge. The kitchenette was handy for dinner after a full day to Milford Sound.

As mentioned by others, the Internet connection is flakey. Also the dryers didn't dry well despite dividing a washer load into both dryers. I think they are planning to replace them.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golformeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    140
    23
    5
    0
See reviews for
102
243
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights while we skied in the area. It was great being so close to town, restaurants and the ski bus. The suite was spacious and warm (if anything too warm). The kitchenette was handy. Good value for Queenstown. Thanks Doug and Jo.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank KandG-travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Amity is Ok if places are all booked up. but the place is a bit dated, the kitchen is very small, the internet is terrible - do not waste your money, go to internet cafe! - and it is not that close to town. for the same price you can stay at St. James apartments for example and be much closer and in a nicer apartment. but there is nothing wrong with this place. just better places for the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BuleGringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 9 nights and this place had everything we needed. It had a small kitchenette with hotplates and a microwave. A loungeroom with a good size TV and also dining table. The bedrooms were quite large and had plenty of cupboard space. It was only a few minutes walk to the centre of town. Doug the owner, was very helpful and friendly. Make sure to look out for their dog who's always keen to be thown her tennis ball.

The only thing i can say that wasn't great was the wireless internet, we couldn't get any signal from our room but a new service was being installed the week we were there, so it should improve. Also the hotel was advertised as "complementary wireless internet". This is not the case. It was free for the first 24hrs and there was a limit of 50mb for this time. After that, the intrent is charged per day.

I just bought a prepaid "2 degrees" sim with a 1gb/30days pack for $30 so it didn't affect my stay too much, everything else about Amity Lodge" was excellent, just dissapointed that the advertised internet was misleading.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickNewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We've stayed here twice now and we've enjoyed both stays. The management are helpful and friendly. The rooms a really clean and have great kitchen facilities. It is only 5 minutes walk to town but it is really quiet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I stayed here for four nights with my two daughters. The place is close to town - about 5 mins downhill there and 7 mins uphill back again. Very comfortable beds, good shower and bathroom and good cooking facilties. The owners know the tourist business well and were able to advise us on various activites, places to visit, and places to eat. They were able to book things for us too which made things easy. Carla the dog is a real character and great with a frizzbe and ball (she's got a wicked left foot). Reasonable priced and worth the satr rating.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Amity Lodge was fantastic. We were there for 5 days 16/8-21/8 and found it to be clean and ideally located to the centre of Queenstown (5 min walk). Doug & Jo are very friendly and they even put cardboard on our car windscreen to prevent the ice from accumulating on our windscreen. Being self contained allowed us to have meals in. The only negative i could find is that our room only had a bar fridge however for two people, this proved quite adequate. I would definately recommend Amity Lodge to anyone requiring well priced self contained accomodation close to the heart of Queenstown.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 58 in Queenstown
872 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
#8 of 58 in Queenstown
423 reviews
0.5 mi away
Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,380 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
1,424 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bella Vista Queenstown
Bella Vista Queenstown
#10 of 58 in Queenstown
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amity Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amity Lodge Motel

Property: Amity Lodge Motel
Address: 7 Melbourne Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amity Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for quality, comfort and friendliness during your stay in Queenstown, Amity Lodge is the place to stay. Our lovely spacious One and Two Bedroom Apartments cater for your every need.Sky TV,Free unlimited Wifi, kitchenette, free off street parking and just a 5 minute walk to town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Amity Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing