We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lodge in Queenstown” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amity Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amity Lodge Motel
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
“Great lodge in Queenstown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

We chose this because of the good reviews in Tripadvisor and weren't disappointed, the room was in pristine condition and the staff were just wonderful. Stay here if your coming to Queenstown.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    137
    23
    3
    0
See reviews for
101
237
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hue, Vietnam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

Amity Lodge is a short walk from Queenstown centre in a quiet residential street. The rooms are spotless and the facilities excellent. The hosts provide all the information and advice for a wonderful stay in this beautiful part of the world.

In fact, the hosts were kind enough to reacquaint me with something I'd left behind on leaving, by driving to an address outside town where I'd said I was heading. That meant alot.

Amity Lodge is to be highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gregotoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stumbled on Amity Lodge in Queenstown and were SO happy with it! Jo was an amazing host...so helpful with info on the area and very friendly and accommodating. She even finished up our laundry for us! Our unit had everything we could have wanted and more ... And very clean and quiet. We'd recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally-on-the-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed at Amity for three nights and found it very spacious, comfortable and well equipped. It is slightly out of the town which means it is in a quieter area, but still very accessible to everything, and the walk to town really isn't too bad. Doug & Jo couldn't be more welcomong and helpful and are great hosts. There is also a good view of the gondola and the paragliders which are great to watch whilst sitting on the balcony if you are on the first floor. A good base for all areas of Queenstown and its surrounds, would definately recommend.

Room Tip: Views good from upper floor but may not be suitable for small children because of the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizziel25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
138 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

We chose this motel from reading reviews on Tripadvisor and on arrival we could not match the reviews to the place.

Firstly, the car park is tiny with insufficient spaces for all units. We parked fine but it's tight for turning when full.

Secondly we were allocated a ground floor room (number 5). This is on the end of the car park turning area so although has an outside sitting space it's a goldfish bowl. There is no mountain view unless you stand up and look all the way up. All rooms look over the parking area and the next door apartments.

All this would have been ok, but for one real headache. On the ground floor you can literally hear every single toilet flush, every door bang and every step from the room above - when we were there our upstairs neighbours must have flushed the toilet every 20 mins. You really do hear it flushing and flooding water down a large pipe which must go through the wall of the bathroom.

The other major issue is that if you are showering when someone flushes a toilet you instantly are hit with scalding water and must stop the shower until the water stabilises. Equally if a hot water tap is ran you instantly get freezing cold water. You get no warning and we could not find a middle temperature.

Overall the rooms are ok but in our view overpriced at $165 a night

We cannot recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nomadion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

My wife and I, a couple in our 60s, booked a 4 night stay in February 2012. Our apartment was on the upper floor with a small balcony adorned by geraniums. The lounge area was spacious with a table and 4 dining chairs in addition to comfy seating for 4 people. This was ideal for us as we were meeting up with friends from Australia (who also stayed at the Lodge) and we could comfortably get together for a chat. The bedroom had both a double and a single bed; to fit them in resulted in one side of the double not having a bedside table, however, this was a very minor inconvenience. The bathroom was again spacious and very clean. Getting in and out of the bath/shower was not so easy but other units do have walk in showers to alleviate this problem. The owners, Jo and Doug are the Lodge's greatest asset as both are both friendly and very helpful. The accommodation has pretty good views of the mountains and is situated on a quiet road within easy walking distance of Queenstown centre. The only negative concerned the 'free' internet which is very limited and not what we had anticipated. Also, our free allocation was the same as that of our friends who stayed one night less. However, Amity Lodge was an excellent place to stay and we would happily go there again.

Room Tip: Make sure that you get an apartment with a bathroom that suits your needs.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Docja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

In most respects this is an excellent motel. It is conveniently situated for the town, although up a steep hill if you are walking back with great mountain views.
The one bedroom apartment we had was one of the best we have stayed in. Very comfortable and well equipped.
The downside is that the wifi and the laundry were charged for and expensive. This is the first time we have had to pay in several different motels, and Amity was one of the more expensive in the first place. There were almost no free toiletries - again unusual and a shame. It left the impression that they were looking for ways to cut costs.
This has not detracted from a really comfortable stay, and we would warmly recommend this motel, provided you are happy with the above caveats.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Newforestgeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,000 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#14 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
3.0 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amity Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amity Lodge Motel

Property: Amity Lodge Motel
Address: 7 Melbourne Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amity Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for quality, comfort and friendliness during your stay in Queenstown, Amity Lodge is the place to stay. Our lovely spacious One and Two Bedroom Apartments cater for your every need.Sky TV,Free unlimited Wifi, kitchenette, free off street parking and just a 5 minute walk to town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Amity Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing