We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Generally very good, shame about the hidden charges”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Amity Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amity Lodge Motel
Ranked #20 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Generally very good, shame about the hidden charges”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

In most respects this is an excellent motel. It is conveniently situated for the town, although up a steep hill if you are walking back with great mountain views.
The one bedroom apartment we had was one of the best we have stayed in. Very comfortable and well equipped.
The downside is that the wifi and the laundry were charged for and expensive. This is the first time we have had to pay in several different motels, and Amity was one of the more expensive in the first place. There were almost no free toiletries - again unusual and a shame. It left the impression that they were looking for ways to cut costs.
This has not detracted from a really comfortable stay, and we would warmly recommend this motel, provided you are happy with the above caveats.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newforestgeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    139
    23
    5
    0
See reviews for
101
240
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

The owners of Amity Lodge were friend and helpful. The one bedroom studio(separate lounge/kitchen room) had everything you needed to cook your own meals if necessary. It was only a short walk down into the Town Centre, although it meant of course it was up on the way back, still not too steep.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterofware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otautau, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

We had a wonderful stay with Doug & Jo, really friendly great place to stay, lovely clean nice accomodation, highly recommend.

Room Tip: Room 16 great for 2 couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

The location of the property is the big plus. It is far away from the busy and smelly Stanley Road- where all of Queenstown traffic runs through- but still close enough to the town-centre. Units are clean, but furniture and equipment are a little outdated and on the cheap side.
Unfortunately you don't feel very welcome at the Amity Lodge! The owners are overprotective with their property having "do not notes" sticking everywhere and telling you rules of conduct ("this is where you suitcase has to go", etc.) giving you the impression you are a naughty, misbehaving child who will certainly ruin their place. The Amity is an ok choice , clean and ideal for walking and exploring Queenstown, but we did miss the fine hospitality we met at other accomodations in NZ?

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarinKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights and all the comforts of home. Very convenient for town and the road out of Queenstown. Lovely and quiet. We had a downstairs one bedded-apartment that was so easy for me to access on my wheelchair and the shower room was very disable friendly. Doug and Jo are very friendly and helpful. Would definately stay here again and recommend it to anyone looking to stay in Queenstown.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

Really spacious, with a nice livingroom (with a kitchen) and bedroom. I stayed in a downstairs room for 2 nights before hiking the Milford Track, and in an upstairs one for 3 nights following that. Good bathroom, and a nice place to sit outside. Very easy walk to and from town (hint: don't walk the steep hill on Stanley Street; instead use the pedestrian walk at the end of Camp st that leads to Coronation Drive). Doug and Jo are very nice and quite helpful about things to do (including teling me about the city bus out to Arrowtown and the Amistead winery/restaurant). Good place to do your laundry. I parked a rental car there the last night, and the parking is fine.

Room Tip: Upstairs has a nice view, but downstairs isn't bad either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeechParty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
162 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

This was the first place we stayed on our 2 week visit to the South Island. Very friendly, helpful hosts. One-bedroom apartment was very comfortable, with plenty of room for our luggage (there was an extra twin bed in the bedroom), large modern bathroom, kitchen with everything we needed. Coin operated washer/dryer available. Tight parking on motel property, but plenty of street parking - a very quiet, low traffic street. It is a downhill walk to town, so a bit up hill on the way back - if you like to walk and have come for the outdoors, it's a piece of cake.

Room Tip: We found the ground floor apartment convenient - didn't have to lug our stuff upstairs, but it l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dayhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,028 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#13 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amity Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amity Lodge Motel

Property: Amity Lodge Motel
Address: 7 Melbourne Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amity Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for quality, comfort and friendliness during your stay in Queenstown, Amity Lodge is the place to stay. Our lovely spacious One and Two Bedroom Apartments cater for your every need.Sky TV,Free unlimited Wifi, kitchenette, free off street parking and just a 5 minute walk to town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amity Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing