We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to other reviews.”
Review of Amity Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amity Lodge Motel
Ranked #22 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Shellharbour, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lived up to other reviews.”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

My sister and I stayed in a one-bedroom upstairs unit for four nights with excellent views of the Skyline cablecar. Doug and Jo are excellent hosts and were really helpful and friendly. The unit was very clean and well-equipped. It is a bit of a walk from the town centre but not as far as I thought from reading other reviews. Try walking through the Queenstown gardens or along the lakeshore which makes the walk worthwhile. The location means that the motel is quiet, too. Overall, a great stay and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Choose the upstairs units for a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillynewzealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    140
    23
    5
    0
See reviews for
102
243
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mobile,AL
Level Contributor
210 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

I spent three nights at this property last month. I stayed in a one bedroom unit on the second(top) floor. The unit was well maintained, clean with everything in great working order.
The bedroom was quiet with a comfortable bed. The bathroom was spacious and had a bathtub with an excellent shower. My room was cleaned well daily.
I easily reserved my room via the property's web site.
All the people who worked at this property did everything they possibly could to make certain that I was well taken care of.
I had stayed in a boutique property on Isle Street when I visited Queenstown six years ago but I was looking for a more reasonably priced option on this trip and Amity Lodge fit this goal perfectly.
It took me no more than 15 minutes to make the uphill walk from the center of downtown to Amity Lodge. I agree with previous reviewers that if you are averse to walking uphill to get to your lodging after spending time downtown then you ought to opt for another property.
The main bus line between the airport and downtown has a stop on Frankton Road about 50 yards from this property so using public bus transportation to get to and from the airport and to visit Arrowtown or other destinations around Queenstown is very easy.
I think that Amity Lodge offers great value in a convenient location(if you are OK with some uphill walking) and served as a perfect base for me during my visit.

Room Tip: I'd opt for a second(top) floor unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MobileResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Martha, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit upstairs. It had a queensize bed in each room. It was a nice unit with a kitchenette and lounge that has a small balcony. We went in summer but I imagine the view of the mountains in winter would be lovely. It's not outstanding accomodation for the price, but queenstown is not exactly cheap. We have stayed in the same level of accomodation in nz that is cheaper. The bathroom only has a power point for a shaver which I find unusual-too bad if you wanted to use a blow dryer. I had to go into the other bedroom to use it by a mirror, which is ok if your travelling with family but not so good if your with another couple. We got 150mb wifi free. The walk to town is about 5mins down hill, but a bit of effort to come up again. Walking in queenstown is always better as parking is limited and they are apparently strict, so walking up hills can't be avoided. Its well placed to walk to most things. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazzamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2011

The owner was very friendly and always helpful throughout our stay. The apartment was large and the location quiet with wonderful views of Queenstown.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
209 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Stayed a couple of nights, rooms clean and well presented. good slightly better than budget accomodation.. Go fro room on 1st. floor as the mountain is in view.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank headgreenkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Clean, comfortable, close to town and really friendly, helpful staff! The photos don't really do the place much justice as the actual accommodation far exceeded my expectations. Great value, great facilities, great people!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikkii7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney (formerly Redditch, UK)
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Stopped here for 2 nights during the Rugby World Cup in September 2011. Very clean, decent size rooms, the motel is centrally located in Queenstown. The couple who own the motel were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. The only thing I would advise against doing is paying for the breakfast (you get a discount for stopping at the Amity!!) at the posh hotel over the road, this still worked out expensive and despite being an all you can eat buffet, the quality left alot to be desired (which we found rare for New Zealand!!)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whiteensign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 58 in Queenstown
872 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
#8 of 58 in Queenstown
423 reviews
0.5 mi away
Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,380 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
1,424 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bella Vista Queenstown
Bella Vista Queenstown
#10 of 58 in Queenstown
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amity Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amity Lodge Motel

Property: Amity Lodge Motel
Address: 7 Melbourne Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amity Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for quality, comfort and friendliness during your stay in Queenstown, Amity Lodge is the place to stay. Our lovely spacious One and Two Bedroom Apartments cater for your every need.Sky TV,Free unlimited Wifi, kitchenette, free off street parking and just a 5 minute walk to town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Amity Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing